We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur to your Saves list
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Fateh Sagar Lake, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

East or west lalit is the best food quality and service is the best when we come for holidays we feel that lalit should be there everywhere view is like we are on top and udaipur city is down staff is very friendly and we feel to proud Indian when they welcome with mamaskar which in today's world has forgotten to say namaskar

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    134
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
145
106
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My first son Niral, his wife Bella & sweet Daughter Evanka have settelled in Canada. A week before my b'day they told me that Pappa, you will be going to Udaipur & Nathadwara on your birthday and we have reserved two rooms in Lalit Laxmivilas Palace Hotel through internet booking. My second son Aditya, his wife Mili and cute daughter Aarya and us decided to go to Udaipur by car.
All of us were extremely happy as soon as we entered the gate of the hotel which was gaurded by a security personal with a gun. He welcomed us with a broad smile & two hands folded he said Namaste.
At the reception counter, people were very courtious offering us cool drinks. The rooms alloted to us were extremely good with all the modern ammenities, & the room service was also good. We all had a wonderful time would love to be back at the same hotel soon !!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Fatehsagar Lake have excellent view from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varun S, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Namaskar!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us. Your words of appreciation keep the team highly motivated.

Once again we thank you for your kind consideration and look forward to welcoming you at palace again.

Thanks & Regards,

Bhaskaran. T
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Opt for the lake view rooms or suites. Awesome property well maintained. Its a standalone palace with grndiose iews of lake fatehsagar and monsoon palace on he far end. During the night, its superb to sit on the lawns and gaze at the lake with the illuminated islands and the lights a the far end. However we had only breakfast and its very mundane and not upto the expectations. The same options were repeated with minimal variation and very very insipid taste. Please improve upon the food .


Rooms and house keeping excellent with very good staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varun S, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for showing interest and staying with us during your recent visit to Udaipur “City of Lakes”. We are delighted to know that you have found The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace suitable and very relaxing during your stay.

Definitely our unique selling point is the view of famous Fateh Sagar Lake which you get from the property. Hence it provides the ultimate comfort of enjoying the lake view and sunset.

We are also concerned about the facility where we could not met with your expectation. Your feedback about the breakfast has been taken up with the Food & Beverage team for immediate remedial and corrective action.

We all at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace eagerly waiting to look forward for your next visit to our palace.

Thanks & Regards

Bhaskaran. T
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

First of all, Udaipur is one of the most beautiful cities in India. You must go see it. This hotel is a good stay. The view is great (on top of a hill overlooking a lake). The reception, halls and restaurants are great. However the rooms I found average, they lack the 5 star feeling. Although the site says they have a pool. During our stay the pool was closed, in stead they arranged to drive you to a pool of a 3 star hotel. This was really disappointing; I dont get why a 5 star hotel is sending you to a very poor bad service 3 star hotel pool. The staff was honest in warning us in advance. Clearly management made a poor choice here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varun S, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Your feedback about the swimming pool has been duly noted and rest assured we are working towards solution. We also thank you for your kind words of appreciation. Your words of appreciation keeps the team highly motivated.

We remain committed to deliver an exceptional service. Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Thanks & Regards,

Bhaskaran. T
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visiting Udaipur was almost like a childhood dream and since I knew exactly how I wanted this vacation to be,I did a lot of research and compared a lot of hotels online. I finally zeroed in on The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace as I was looking at a nice & luxurious hotel with a good lake view and with an ethinic Rajasthani touch to it and this was the perfect choice!
I was greeted very warmly by the hotel staff on my arrival and even though I had not requested for an early check in, the staff was very cooperative and helped us check in much before the actual check in time.
The service here is EXCEPTIONAL - the best I have seen till date. The staff was always smiling and ready to help with whatever we needed. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel is outstanding. The view of the Fateh Sagar lake from the front lawns of the hotel is very beautiful.
The hotel offers many performances for the guests. There is a Bagpiper band, a puppet show and rajasthani folk dances. We also tried the food at the restaurant - Aangan. The food was very simple and light and we enjoyed the meal more because of the folk dance performance.
I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to go to Udaipur to enjoy and relax and have a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varun S, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you so much for giving such a beautiful comment regarding your stay with us at our palace. We are glad to know that your stay was memorable one and as per your expectation.

We all are at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace, Udaipur definitely look forward to welcome you once again for your stay.

Thanks & Regards,

Bhaskaran. T
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

recently visited two cities in rajasthan one of them being udaipur and stayed in this beautifully located hotel the Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace. First thing that strikes you as soon as you enter is the beautiful view of Fateh Sagar lake from the hotel, as we had reached around 5pm we got to see the sun setting against a very scenic background. The hotel staff is extrememly courteous getting through the checkin very swiftly. Lake view room that we stayed in was nice, spacious and had a great view of the lake. Everybody in the hotel staff is very helpful from the guard at the entrance to the people at reception and everybody else. We had dinner at 'Padmini' which had a decent variety and a good meal was served, again a very good experience with the staff. Our buffet breakfast again had a decent menu but we thought a few more additions could have been great like parathas with curd, or jalebis, or some such indian dishes. We had a great stay at this hotel with just a few issues which i would like to highlight
1) despite a complaint at the reception the flush at our room was not working properly
2) the guy who took us to the room should have briefed us about the room as to how to use the safe, where is the minibar, how to use the extension, how to use our room key. not that anybody would be ignorant about all this but just a few inputs from the hotel people would familiarise the guest with there room
3) garden needs a bit upkeep
4) i dont know whether this falls under the hotel policy or not but i just thought that the driver who took us for a two hour visit of the city could have been just a bit more helpful had he been able to guide us regarding places to see, things to buy and similar sort of things.
These are some very small issues that we thought the hotel management should take care of, otherwise its a beautiful hotel and we would definitely want to visit again.

Room Tip: stayed in 601 had a beautiful view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varun S, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Gaurav,

Namaskar!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us. Your words of appreciation keep the team highly motivated.

Definitely our unique selling point is the view of famous Fateh Sagar Lake which you get from the property. Hence it provides the ultimate comfort of enjoying the lake view and sunset.

We are also concerned about the facility where we could not meet with your expectation. Your feedback been taken up with the concern team for immediate remedial and corrective action.
We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance we look forward to working towards regaining your faith and confidence in our brand and I hope you will grant us an opportunity to serve you with renewed focus and enthusiasm.

Once again we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace in near future.

Thanks & Regards

Varun Sahani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very High quality of Guest services, with great experience.
Very Good rooms, opens up to the view of Lake,
When it rains, Lalit hotel really mesmarises you, with green lawns,view
Absolutely Unique view
Great food as well !!

Room Tip: Sorry , there is no swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varun S, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Pawan,

Namaskar!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Our first priority are our guests and we are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you stay with us. Your words of appreciation keep the team highly motivated.

Once again we thank you for your kind consideration and look forward to welcoming you at palace again.

Thanks & Regards,

Varun Sahani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur

Address: Opposite Fateh Sagar Lake, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#13 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.