We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with really romantic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Pichola Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Pichola Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Outside Chand Pole | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 119 Hotels in Udaipur
Marlborough
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel with really romantic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This family owned hotel, right on the lake, has one of the most romantic views in the world. Our room looked across to the City and Lake Palaces, and had a small balcony where we could sit and watch the sunset. Kingfishers perched on the edge of the balcony, and cormorants also fished in the lake.
Room was comfortable, and the bathroom had a BATH - brilliant, after grotty showers elsewhere.
The rooftop restaurant was excellent, with a proper bar, very good views and top rate service.
This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your very valuable comments about our property. You have mentioned that you found this view as one of the most romantic view in the world. Well this credit goes to Udaipur for it's natural beauty and the selection of Maharana Udai Singhji who discovered this place and decided to make his capital here way back in 1559 A.D.

Our hotel is east facing thus one can see the rising sun as well as moon on a full moon light making it more romantic. Even at the time of sunset you can see the fading sunlight on various palaces on the opposite end of Pichola lake which are just breathtaking

We are glad to learn that you were also satisfied with our rooms, roof top ,bar and service. In fact it is our staff who are all the time making their best efforts to make your stay more comfortable.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    163
    53
    18
    10
See reviews for
87
144
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Awesome view from our room, was just superb and beautiful at nights with the lake in front and all around you, very romantic and superb. Value for money. Food was good, breakfast was good too and staff very polite and helpful. Must visit Lake Pichola.

Room Tip: Must visit - value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Our sincere apologies for responding late to your kind review about our hotel. Like they say Location Location Location for our hotel industry.We are glad to know you were so satisfied with the view from your room. The magic of this lake just cannot be described by words it has a different charm all the time.

It is kind of you to appreciate our food.We shall make sure to compliment our staff for your appreciation for them as well.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

İ stayed 2 nights in this hotel... You can fell that the hotel is very well managed.. Very friendly staff, excellent view the roof top restaurant, delicious food, hot and fresh tea and coffee, wifi, hot water.. Thanks Lake Pichola Hotel....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your valuable feed back about our hotel. It is very important in our trade to firstly train ourself through proper institutes who groom us for the hotel industry. We in turn share that knowledge with the staff who are at your kind service.

It is very kind of you to appreciate our view,food,friendly staff and above all the warmth which plays
a very important part. We feel that the minute you walk into a hotel one should feel that "Yes "this is the place I want to be.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Pichola Resort was hands down the best part of our 2 weeks in rajasthan. Our room was lush and comfortable (with a 10/10 VIEW), the food was spectacular and the service was phenomenal. The staff worked diligently to assure our comfort (asking if they could do anything) and meet our requests (holiday supplies). Moreover, the hotel's location is very close to downtown, and the main market area. Pichola is a way better option than a few of the $150/night places we splurged (and were hugely disappointed with)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your valuable comments which we shall always cherish . Most of our guests are highly impressed by the location of our hotel but all this credit goes to our ancestors who left this wonderful Haveli which we turned into a Heritage hotel.

We shall surely compliment our staff who played a prime part in making your holiday memorable one.Indeed the pricing too plays a very important part in our industry as one should get the value for his hard earned money.We are grateful to you for appreciating the finance part as well.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved this hotel from the minute we walked into the lobby area with its british raj theme and decor and beautiful views from the terrace. The reception staff were very friendly and allowed us to switch our breakfast entitlement to the day we arrived as we were leaving very early on the day we checked out. They made a great effort to let us check in early which was very much appreciated after a 5am flight from Delhi. As for the room, it was truly beautiful - we stayed in the Padam Rani suite which had amazing views over the lake and the city palace - the room was huge and had a swing and a mattress seating area both with windows overlooking the lake as well as a separate seating area and a huge bathroom with a shower which had an integrated radio and a steam room! We felt like royalty staying here. The roof terrace is also lovely with great views especially at night although the service in the restaurant probably needs a bit more work. Location is fantastic- an easy walk over to the city palace and the main part of the town. One member of staff, unfortunately i did not get his name, was so helpful and friendly and went out of his way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible - a big thank you for that. A couple of very minor negative points were that we were not told that we had to leave our room keys at reception so when we returned in the evening, the room had not been cleaned. However once we told the staff about this, they very quickly made up for it and had the room cleaned at 9pm when we went out for dinner. The other thing is that there does seem to be a slight bit of preferential treatment for the big groups booking in who were welcomed with garlands and drinks however this was only a minor point and did not affect our enjoyment of the hotel. Whilst we did not have the opportunity to visit the Taj Lake Palace, we believe that this hotel provided an excellent service and experience with gorgeous views for a great value. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family and if we returned to Udaipur, we would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing and very good value with views of the lake and the city palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are overwhelmed by your such appreciation about our property. I have dedicated this Rani Padam Suite to my mother and your total satisfaction gives me immense pleasure and a feeling that my mother must be blessing me.

We have briefed our staff to be at the kind disposal of all our guests to do whatever we can do to make their stay more comfortable. We shall surely try and see into the service part at the restaurant so in times to come other guests do not face any such difficulty.We appreciate your suggestion.

As far as garlanding and welcome drinks is concerned we do that for all our guests who are booked with us but your arrival was early in the morning and our garlands are not supplied to us that early.Now we have started ordering these garlands at night only. We look forward to receive you again to make your next visit more comfortable.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Fantastic room view with lake all around you. Makes you feel like being on a boat bedroom. Foot is excellent quality and tasty. The owners are heirs to the king. They are very friendly, especially would like to mention the Mataji (owners wife) is down to earth hospitable. Her queens traditinal attire is simply fabulous. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review. We are glad to know you liked our rooms and you felt as if it is in a boat. It it very kind of you to appreciate our food which is very important as you are away from your home trying different cuisines.

We are not the heirs to the king but in our history Maharana Udai Singhji had three wives of which the second wife's children are our predecessors.Our present king is the direct successor from the first wife.

We do feel that our traditional dresses are our cultural heritage and we are proud to wear them.It is nice to learn that you appreciate our traditions.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Visited Udaipur during the off peak season of Aug 2012 as a couple, and stayed at Lake Pichola. One word. Awesome!

The best part of the hotel is its location. Just walking distance from the city center, and across a bridge. Pick up the rooms facing the lake, and you can see the City Palace on the other banks of the lake, right opposite your room. Rooms are clean and tidy and so are the bathrooms - most importantly.

There's an open air restaurant on the top and you can have dinner with the view of the palace and the rest of the city under lights. Restaurant food is quite good, breakfast menu is limited but tasty. Staff helped arrange local transport to travel to the slightly farther places, while we walked down to the city center for the nearby attractions.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: View of the rooms on ground floor are better than the ones on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are obliged to you for writing a review about our property. Your visit during August gives a very different look to our city as it is monsoon time and the city is close to mother nature.One can see waterfalls and cascades around Udaipur as it is surrounded by hills which are lush green at this time of the year.

We have always been a winner with our location which plays a prime part for any hotel to be well placed.The monuments close by also save you the time of travel as you can just walk down rather take a taxi or tuk tuk.

We are glad to learn that you liked our ground floor rooms where you can literally feel that you are practically adjacent to water.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Address: Outside Chand Pole | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LPH is a beautiful hotel on the banks of Pichola Lake. 85% of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Chandni. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian Chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Pichola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.