We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garh ki murgi, Dal baro bar - Not for INDIAN's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Pichola Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Outside Chand Pole | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 112 hotels in Udaipur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Garh ki murgi, Dal baro bar - Not for INDIAN's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location with a view of lake & is centrally located to access city palace, the temple & the market. The reach to this place by vehicle can be a little tedious but its worth it. We occupied 2 different rooms one facing the lake and other bigger room with out the river balcony.

Its people and service who bring in the smile and energy and not the just the location alone, Sad to say there is a difference in the approach and attitude towards tourist who travel from & away from India.

I wouldn't recommend this place for Indian's, if they are looking for service without partiality, & Yes rates are definitely expensive for the service though worth it for the location.

This place is yet to evolve ......if not on tourist sense at least on for business perspective,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    125
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
65
109
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first time to Udaipur. And we were very impressed with the location of this Hotel. It sits right on the banks of Lake Pichola from where you can see Old Udaipur city. The rooms were nice and clean. Ours was a deluxe room which had A/C, but when we visited Udaipur (end September), you could do without A/C too. The food at this place was very nice. I am someone who needs my morning tea; this place served one of the best masala chai along with Aloo chees paratha (Thanks to Mr. Vijay). The roof top restaurant at this Hotel is also one of the best of its kinds. It was perfect weather during the night to sit back in the open sky, drink/eat and dazzle the city of Udaipur in the night.

Mr. Raj & his crew has truly been helpful right from the beginning from when we made the call to inquire about the Hotel, to making proper reservations, to recommending us every day on which all places to visit, and also on request arranging Horse riding where they came and picked/dropped us. This was one of the highlights of our trip. This was not your around the garden horse ride, they took us to a ranch, where we got to choose our horses, and took us on a 2 hr. trail through the local villages, and then through small hills that got us to a picture perfect lake which gave us a true horse riding experience.
I would surly recommend to stay at this place and would stay here again if I come back to Udaipur. The staff at this Hotel were very hospitable, humble and willing to help and accommodate to your personal requests.

Thanks to Mr. Raj and his Team for making our stay in Udaipur enjoyable and a memorable one.

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Lake facing or the Suite which are located on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location is great, with a view over a northern neck of the lake to the ghat in the old quarter; also a short walk, via the Daiji footbridge, to the old quarter and the city palace. Lake-side rooms have spectacular views. The room was basic and okay; bathroom a wee on the decrepit side. Service good.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is located on lake pichola with an awesome view from almost all its rooms.
the service is excellent, the staff is very friendly and the terrace resturant is also very good. Overall the place is value for money and i recommend everyon eto stay at this hotel !!

Room Tip: Take Lake facing rooms, and book directly from the hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After a dry and dusty 6 hour drive from Jodphur, this hotel was a stunning relief at the end of the day. We opened our curtains to discover the quaint little balcony fringed with Indian architecture over looking the ghat. We were even more delighted when we ventured to the roof top to discover day beds and lounges. The food was good. The beer was cold and the service reasonably prompt. No cocktails available due to the holiday.

Each room has its own solar hot water which takes a while to come through but is heavenly when it does. My only complaint was the showerhead needs a some maintenance. breakfast is very basic.
the staff are attentive and helpful.

Excellent value for it's star rating & price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After staying in the bigger cities, filled with the craziness of India, this was a much needed break and retreat from the madness. The hotel was clean and the staff was lovely. I had a great room on the lakeside and would have sat on the balcony all day long! The restaurant was good and had a great view. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Udaipur was my BEST India destination, the setting of Lake Pichola Hotel ideal. It looks across the water to the Jagat Niwas Haveli, featured in The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, at that time not yet released. It's timelessly elegant and certainly not the TOP hotel in Udaipur but i'll bet the most interesting and convenient. Your entire day could be spent on the Terrace or from your Balcony or the pretty rooftop Pool area observing life passing on the opposite bank. The rooms aren't huge but very pretty, and en suite with access by stairs or the central lift. The dining room has lofty ceilings and gorgeous antiques.

The Hotel is off a quiet lane with interesting shopping, the Internet, and a short stroll to a super restaurant with fabulous views.

We were to eat and cook a Taste of North India and the Lake Pichola Hotel had everything, without the hassle and noise of the City, though it was only a short stroll away, across the pedestrian bridge.

Room Tip: Must have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Address: Outside Chand Pole | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LPH is a beautiful hotel on the banks of Pichola Lake. 85% of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Chandni. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian Chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Pichola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.