We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really India” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karni Fort Bambora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karni Fort Bambora to your Saves list
Karni Fort Bambora
Bambora, Udaipur 342006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

It looks like a fairy tale castle from the outside, and surprise, surprise from within as well.
The rooms are "kitschy" to perfection, each one is different in color and furniture, and they vary in room sizes. We were travelling as a group, so we had the whole hotel to ourselves. Two nights, with a day of relaxing on our trip through Radjasthan in between. Great view from the roof-deck.
No telephones, TV sets or clocks in the rooms. And no elevator.
The food is, as we learned, in homecooking style - hence bones with bits of meat on them, and all dishes more spicy than the non-Indian traveller is used to. Breakfast selection is moderate at best, but the staff is helpful and does their best to fulfill extras.
The nearby village is more clean than most other similar sized ones, and we only met friendly people there, no beggars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel from 13th to 15th. I had already read reviews and shortlisted this hotel from the reviews at trip advisor so had an idea that there was no T.V. which is good if you are on a holiday. When we checked in the hotel room i found that there was no phone so i asked the person accompanying us (Pappusingh) who is the person who looks after all the guests needs after Chandarveer singh(general manager) how to contact for room service on which he gave us his mobile no. saying that we just miss call him for service. To keep the serenity of the fort T.V. , landline is not there though the rooms are really good with A.C. The best part is the hospitality of the whole staff under the guidance of Pappusingh you feel like a king. We were travelling with two small kids aged 4.5 and 1.5 years but never had any problem because of Pappusingh and staff. We had taken kids swimming rings with us for use in swimming pool. I had to tell Mr. Pappusingh only once and he sent someone to the village to inflate the rings. The service was really prompt. There was never a second reminder to any staff for anything. The best part is that Pappusingh says that he is available 24hrs and he actually is available. Milk for our kids was provided at whatever time we asked 'n' no. of times without any extra charges. Even though there is no lift(as its a fort) the staff is never tired. Always ready to serve you.
Some pointers:
As it is far from Udaipur, dont keep travelling everyday. Stay here 2 nights, enjoy the fort, swimming pool, surrounding, the hospitality, and thereafter you can stay in Udaipur for travelling around in Udaipur. Or check out early on the last day and visit Udaipur that whole day before returning home. But if you are going to Udaipur take 2 days out and do visit this place.
TAKE PACKAGE WITH FOOD depending on your travelling. They have anytime check in check out facility as communicated by you before hand as well as flexibility in food packages.
TOP FIVE THINGS MY 4.5YR OLD DAUGHTER LIKED AS TOLD TO ME BY HER:
1) Swimming pool
2) Hotel
3) Room
4) Climbing up and going down to reach fort and room
5) Hills and Mountains around the hotel

Young kids who like travelling will love this hotel.
Though we went to Udaipur while coming back and did boating, horse riding etc. none of the things featured in my daughter's top 5 list of what she liked in our trip. THAT SPEAKS VOLUMES ABOUT THIS WONDERFUL PLACE.

You can e-mail me on to_anand@yahoo.com
for any specific query regarding this hotel.

Room Tip: Take room on the 1st floor if you are with kids as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Went with 2 other couples for a weekend during the monsoons and found the place to be very quiet and peaceful.
Food was excellent and was cooked after asking us the menu. They did not mind customizing it for us and even prepared off-menu items for us. Of course, we all over-ate :)
Rooms are nice and good views from the cute windows of the real and rural rajasthan.
With almost no activities to do in and around the fort (for kids), it is perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or for elders who are looking for silence and solitude.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

A wonderful oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of Rajasthan; this really is worth a detour for anyone partaking a tour of Rajasthan. Breathtaking views, impeccable service and every conceivable comfort; it certainly stirs the imagination with a sense of ancient history skilfully blended with a sensitive restoration programme. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to re-visit one day.

Highly recommended. XXXXX

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This beautifully and sensitively restored hill top fort was the most heavenly place to stay amidst a very rural unspoilt landscape humming with life from the village below to the multitude of birds soaring above, with the sounds of jackals in the hills at night beneath a waxing moon. Blissful tranquility, thankfully no television, infinite views through fascinating Moghul architectural spaces, and abundant wild flowers covering the slopes leading to the magnificent pool guarded by ponderous marble elephants.
The staff were all charming, relaxed and exceptionally helpful. Our bedroom and bathroom were delightful, beautifully and unpretentiosly decorated.
All was in perfect harmony.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We spent three nights in this marvellous fort hotel situated in wonderful unspoilt countryside to the south of Udaipur. What makes Bambora so special is that you really feel that you are off the beaten track - well away from the hordes of tourists in Udaipur.
The place is real Rajasthan, beautifully restored and decorated in traditional style. Life can go on here at a leisurely pace with very friendly and attentive staff. The swimming pool is really beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

My entire family comprising of 6 adults and two children were off to Udaipur for a 2 night stay by road. One of our friends had mentioned that just out of Udaipur was this heavenly place called Hotel Karni Fort which was one of the best experiences of their life. We decided to break journey by spending the night at this hotel. We arrived at 4.00 PM and were welcomed with the warmest service and a heavenly cup of tea. After resting for an hour we walked around and were treated to a tour of the museum and the history of the palace after which we walked through the beautiful surroundings before making our way to the pool. In the evening we had drinks around the fireplace and were treated to some wondeful folk dance and singing which epitomises the very spirit of Rajasthan, followed by a wonderful meal in the restaraunt.
The next morning we woke up to a breathless sunrise and were treated to a wonderful breakfast before departing for udaipiur.
The rooms and the services were second to none and I highly recommend this wonderful hotel which will make you fell nothing short of a king or queen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karni Fort Bambora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karni Fort Bambora

Address: Bambora, Udaipur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karni Fort Bambora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karni Fort Bambora Udaipur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karni Fort Bambora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.