We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Trip and Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Udaivilas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Udaivilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Udaivilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hardasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EXTENDED STAY OFFER
Ranked #2 of 121 Hotels in Udaipur
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Trip and Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

These guys make you feel as if you are the King. The best of the rooms, service and food. They proactively made our stay memorable by decorating our room with balloons on my kids birthday. They have about 4 dinning hotels and fantastic pool as well. They have their own small wildlife sanctuary where we can see deers, wild boar and peacocks. If you are a couple who loves to walk this is a huuuuuge resort with a breath taking view at every step.

Room Tip: Go for 102 room it has semi private pool with view to Pichola lake and City Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the beautiful review.

The Oberoi Udaivilās has been conceived as a splendid palace, wonderfully creating the romance of the past, embellished by beautiful works of art and craft from in and around the region. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the property, product and services thoroughly.

The Oberoi Udaivilas is built on the banks of lake Pichola, it covers around 50 acres of land, wild life century in 30 acres, surrounding with beautiful lush green gardens, immensely spacious and the perfect venue for a special celebration, a family holiday, meetings and conferences or as a weekend retreat. The building has a stunning reflection of rich heritage of mewar and mugal culture.

Thank you for appreciating our services, room, food and staff. Your words are exceptional, it makes us proud to be the part of this beautiful hotel and team.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at some stage for longer days in our properties worldwide.

Regards:
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    101
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
298
530
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The service is top notch. The rooms feel more like your own townhouse. The sheer beauty of relaxing at your own patio and private pool whilst overlooking the lake and palace is a marvellous experience. If you can afford it- spoil yourself!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

It is always our earnest hope that every guest of The Oberoi family has an outstanding experience each time they stay with us. It is our first priority to deliver best of our service to all the guests and to give them an unforgettable memory of life with a touch of a homely environmnet. Your feedback boost up our confidence and encourage us to deliver the best service and attention always.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality

Regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My friends had gotten in for an impromptu lunch which was one of our best decisions on the trip. We went to the SuryaMahal restaurant inside the hotel. The food and service was extremely good and so was the ambience. We also took a small tour of the hotel once we were done with our lunch. This was a great experience.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your appreciation.

Your compliments have been shared with the team members and they are extremely pleased to know that their good job is so well recognized. Our Chef aims to satisfy every palate with the very best of International and Indian Cuisine.

we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our properties worldwide, in the near future.

Should I be of any help to facilitate any of your reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards
Vincent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

What a place, huge, very huge. 30 acers beautiful landscapes and the spa poll is just incredible. The lake view rooms has just no competition in the world. These rooms have a attached very long pool with a view to the lake and beautiful wildlife.

Rupsingh ji the best accet to the property.


I must tell you the concierges can get what ever you just wish. Akhil and Kokab who looked after us very well and was throughout on top of every service one can think of.
These boys are best in service.

Thank you Udaivilas.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us.
Our resort is the reflection of the rich heritage of Mewar, designed with Mugal and Mewari architecture. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed these moments and had the cherished memories.
It is the encouraging feedback from patrons like you which keeps us motivated to strive for excellence in all aspects and we value it a lot. Thank you once again. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are being recognized. Thank you for recognising our concierge team your compliments have been shared with Akhil and Kokab and with all the team members. They are extremely delighted to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

We are looking forward to welcome you on your next trip to Udaipur.
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our final leg of the trip.
We stayed here for three days. We received a complimentary upgrade to pool side room. These rooms are amazing with its own semi private swimming pool. It has about 15 feet wide long pool area connecting about 8-9 rooms and extending probably to over 200 feet in length. This gave an area of about 15 x 20 for your own personal use. Of course the adjoining areas were also accessible. We spent hours in pool even at night, the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast menu was good although none of the places had as much lay out as New Delhi for obvious reasons. The chef was ever so willing to cook what one wanted to eat. The dinner menu was excellent as we tried the local cooking.
The first day we went to the city palace and a local temple. Then did some shopping. Spend time in our private swimming pool and then went for a traditional Rajasthani thaali.
The second day we left early for kumbalgarh a historic fort. We had packed breakfast it was a scenic drive and a spectacular fort built over 600 yrs ago. On our return we went for some jewellery shopping and looking at marble and granite furniture. The afternoon was spent in the pool having soups and noodles!!

Room Tip: For best experience upgrade to rooms with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful and descriptive review.

Our resort is the reflection of the rich heritage of Mewar, designed with Mugal and Mewari architecture. It is build on the hunting grounds of Maharajas and “ Bada Mahal” is the wild life conservatory where our guests can feed the wild animals and birds. I am glad to know that you had enjoyed these moments had the cherished memories.

It is a delight to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay, accommodation, services and food and it is always good to know that we were able to make the journey of our guest comfortable and unforgettable.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is not for penny pinchers but for people who want to enjoy luxurious life .It lived up to its grandeur .Staff should be commended for its perfect maintenance .Guests are treated royally and staff go out of their way to help them .One of their staff helped me in hairstyling and when i offered to pay her she politely declined saying its against hotel rules and if i still want to pay i can do so at the reception so that all staff will be benefited equally.In this greedy world ,its a pleasant surprise to see a loyal employee like this.Food is quite pricey and we have two babies in our group .chef prepared baby foods specially for us but sadly our babies don't like the preparations.Thats the only dark spot in our overall pleasant stay here

Room Tip: wifi is free only for half hour daily.Joy rides on elpehant and camel at the hotel are very pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time for sharing your experience with us . Its beyond doubt and honestly the marvelous words of appreciation have been extended by you.

Your compliments about the team and product are the mark of respect and they made all of us to feel proud of being a part of Oberoi and they encourages us to always present our finest services.

I am saddened to know that we were not successful enough to please the babies in regards to the food. My sincerest apologies for not meeting upto ur expectations in regards with wifi and th

I was glad to know that you otherwise had a wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed the Udaivilas hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at the Oberoi Udaivilas in April 2014. Right away, we were greeted by a friendly boatman who took us to the resort where we immediately were greeted by many staff who took our bags and drove us to the hotel. At the resort, we experienced an amazing welcoming treatment with rose petals, towels, drinks and spectacular architecture. The only downside was that one of our chandeliers broke in the room and right away we offered a better room just for their small mistake. When my kids got sick during the night, the staff as always was attentive and fast to their jobs! The restaurants were very good and there was food from India and the rest of the world which were fantastic! One night, we ate the Jagmandir and my family all got very sick so wouldn't recommend unless you are a seasoned India traveler. Lastly, the drive from the airport is quite long but is definitely worth going the distance. All in all, this the best stay at any resort I have ever had!! Thank you so much for such a great stay!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice and have the more than necessary amenities. Our room had direct access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your magnificent experience with us on trip advisor .

I am happy to tread that you enjoyed the Oberoi hospitality and services. Thank you for recognising our team for the initiative taken in helping you to resolve your challenges.

We are extremely pleased to receive such comments as it helps us to in turn recognising them and ensure that they keep taking initiatives in delighting our guest. So once again many thanks for doing so.

I sincerely hope you have thoroughly enjoyed your India trip and that we will have the chance of welcoming you back with Oberoi Hotels and Resorts worldwide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 121 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
The Leela Palace Udaipur
#3 of 121 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 121 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#7 of 121 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 121 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: Hardasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Udaivilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.