We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the lap of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Udaivilas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Udaivilas to your Saves list
The Oberoi Udaivilas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hardasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 119 Hotels in Udaipur
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“In the lap of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent, modern hotel. It's like a maze, you can get lost with all the swimming pools, but that's just more places to relax. The restaurant on the terrace is amazing, I'd like to have some of the food flown home! One hiccup when we arrived was that our first home has recently been painted and had a strong smell, but they were prompt in getting a new room and setting things right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We strive everyday to deliver the best attention and services to our guests. I am proud and delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    95
    21
    13
    7
See reviews for
277
516
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

So here I a resident of udaipur wanted to take my clients for a nice dinner....so we booked Leela....what a shocker(read my review about leela). So pissed we landed in Oberoi Udaivilas as my past experiences have always been uber cool at Udaivilas. I have stayed in few Vilas property myself and Udaivilas just add the oomph factor to it.
The girl 'Priya' (the manager from Himachal Pradesh) was not only courteous but super efficient. Not only she remembered all our names (we were 9 of us) she arranged the tables within 5 minutes. Gave us a sweet spot overlooking lake. The drinks menu was exhaustive as per udaipur standard and the selection of scotch was just perrrfect.
My clients loved and my son as always was happy to back. He was the one who kept saying dad lets go to Udaivilas, I don't like leela. Came out Leela also never liked him.
Anyways super food, super ambience and the service is what sets it apart and above all.
Keep the good work flowing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us.

It gives me enormous happiness to share your feedback with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are elated to fathom that they were able to serve your with best hospitality.

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you back sometime soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived at the Oberoi Udaivilas with high expectations, which were met and exceeded in every way. The service from the moment you step onto the premises is extremely attentive without being stuffy or overbearing. The grounds and the buildings that comprise the hotel are stunning and the view from our room across Lake Pichola and City Palace was simply breathtaking. We really enjoyed the morning yoga class next to the pool taught by an amusing but informative instructor. All our meals were of a very high standard. The Rajasthani thali at the al fresco restaurant was a particular highlight. There are few superlatives unused to describe this hotel. It is that good.

Room Tip: Semi-private pool rooms have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review!!!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we all are glad that we were able to serve you with warm hospitality and perfectly. Your such words of appreciation encourage us to thrive the best.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a superb resort in the middle of he lake....heaven in the desert.....I had a truly amazing experience with my family....the service is top of the class. The view of the hotel is so romantic that you don't want to leave this beautiful place...will definitely come back to stay...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

I am glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation are extremely valuable for us as they inspires us to continue achieving even higher standards of service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went in 2004 for our honeymoon. What a wonderful experience. We were greeted at the gate. They knew our names and we were checked in right away. The staff was helpful, friendly and surpassed an kind of hospitality that I have experienced. Our room was lovely. overlooking the lake, with a beautiful bathroom and lovely furnishings. To be sure, this is a very expensive hotel, but you will get much for your money here that in many other parts of the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful review with us.

It gives me enormous happiness to share your feedback with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are elated to fathom that they were able to serve your with best hospitality.

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you once again and on your anniversary hopefully!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strengelbach, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Oberoi Udaivilas is a superb resort, located at Lake Pichola with smashing views of Udaipur's City Palace and the Lake Palace. The resort is an architectural marvel with spectacular floor designs in marble and granite. It is ca. 10 years old with top-notch facilities.

The friendliness and hospitality of the staff is outstanding, you immediately feel the warmth and genuine affection of the people, be it giving you directions if you get lost in the huge hotel complex, arranging sightseeing trips to the many intersting sites in the area, preparing exquisite menues either Indian or continental-Italian cuisine, providing a delicious in-room breakfast when we had a very early departure flight out of Udaipur, etc., etc.

Room Tip: don't bother, just go and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time for sharing your experience with us . We are delighted to know that you liked our property so much and you appreciation of the architecture which indeed makes The Oberoi Udaivilas so special.

Your wonderful feedback has been shared with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are extremely happy to discover that they were successful in making your stay enjoyable & memorable.

Your positive and valuable appreciation of our performance inspires us to continue achieving even higher standards of service excellence, serving you and your family with lifetime experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The royal treatment begins as soon as you enter the property with rose petals literally falling from the sky. The Udaivilas property is a magnificent sprawling property with reflecting pools everywhere. It is the height of calmness and relaxation.

The rooms are beautiful. My room had a private but connected pool that was luxurious. The downside is there weren’t many people at the two large pools. The hotel has two additional pools, one for families and the pool by the spa where children are not permitted. This property is perfect for a romantic and secluded get-away.

The service at the pool was extraordinary. The gentleman brought an amenity tray with sun tan lotion, water, fruit kabobs and a wet rolled towel that was infused with jasmine. When I finished my book, he immediately, offered me a copy of Tatler. The hotel service is excellent.

The spa is beautiful and my massage was amazing.

I mentioned to the restaurant hostess that I was hoping for contemporary Indian food like I experienced at in Delhi. (A contemporary Indian restaurant is opening at the hotel.) The next thing I know, the Executive Chef comes into the dining room to meet me. When he realizes that I am looking for a molecular, Michelin star dining experience, he offers to prepare a special lunch on the day I leave.

I was blown away by the experience. It was exactly what I wanted and the fact that it was specifically prepared for and only me is beyond comprehension. Every single dish was FABULOUS. There are no words to begin to describe the meal and the effort that went into preparing this endeavor. I was floored. This was one of the best meals that I have ever had. I cannot begin to thank the chef for this special treat.

This is the type of service that Oberoi is known for. No other hotel provides anything close to this level of service. The Oberoi team work truly as a team to make your holiday amazing. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The property is sprawling so if you need to be near the pool, spa or front desk then mention that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

I am glad to know that you had a memorable experience at the Oberoi Udaivilas. Thank you for appreciating our team. They really work hard to deliver very high levels of services consistently.

It has given me immense pleasure to pass on your compliments to the entire team. They are thrilled with your remarkable praises and delighted to know that their hard work has been recognized..

We look forward to welcome you back. Please do let me know if you need any assistance in planning your holidays with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: Hardasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Udaivilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.