We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - nothing short of spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Save Saved
You added Taj Lake Palace Udaipur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Udaipur
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow - nothing short of spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

One of the closest things to paradise in the world, no doubt. The setting can't be beat: a historic palace sitting in the middle of a lake. The hotel has been refurbished and basks in grandeur.

The roooms are excellent - beautiful, really. The restaurants serve delicious fare. The staff are out of this world.

If I could choose one hotel in the world, this would be it. Without doubt, an experience unlike any other.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    105
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
270
768
51
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

The Taj Lake Palace is the best run hotel in Rajasthan. No one could run it better. The 250 years old palace is indeed beautully maintained by the Taj Group . The efforts of the team out here is outstanding. One can see the palace been constantly cleaned up though one can see constant phtography and video shooting teams out here. A REAL EYE SORE
The restaurants are just apt for the discerning travellers . The Jharokha is a great venue overlooking the Lake . Neel Kamal is their fine dining restaurant serving woodfire cuisine. Amrit sagar is a cool watering hole.
The staff in the restaurants are absolutely customer oriented.
The only thing not right about the place is the Pricing of the rooms. The room sizes and the decor do not justify the price they charge. Rest is a great feeling to be there.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

We stayed at the Lake Palace in Jan 2006. It was an outsatanding stay. The hotel is magical, it transports you to another world, it is a destination by itself. WE were there to celebrate our 20th anniversary and it was the most magical holiday that we ever had. We wanted to stay there for longer. The staff were unobtrusive, the service was par excellence. The pontoon dinner was so so so romantic, I had never had a more fabulous evening in my life. The staff really know how to pamper you and make you feel like Royalty. the hotel is beautiful, has an old world charm, is truly a Place which ahs been well maintained and run by the Taj. Lake Palace is a must stay hotel in ones lifetime.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

Highlight of our trip. There were 360 degree views from the roof. We had a magnificent view of the City Palace and Udaipur from our room complete with a couch in front of the windows! We just sat there enthralled. The romantic dinner for two on a pontoon anchored in the lake was one of our best experiences in India.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central America
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2006

My companion and I staggered out of ten days in the Rajastahn desert, exhausted and dehydrated from covering 2200 km. in a relatively short period of time and the Taj Lake was like something out of a dream [have I mentioned that I'm not a "desert person", but a "water person"?] - the shimmering lake, the beautiful sunset, the lovely rooms, the fabrics, the decor - and the Spa services - definitely get the coconut milk wrap and massage - brought me back from the edge of total meltdown from too much touring in too few days... The pool is lovely, the butler service very attentive - and EXCELLENT fast dry cleaning for emergencies! - the Spa was wonderful! The food was very varied and very attractively served -- true, not outdoors, but with pretty lake views in almost all directions - the birds, the soft music, the quiet - like a fairy tale. I actually cried quietly at the end of the two days when I had to leave. It's my personal idea of Heaven.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.