We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Lake Palace Udaipur to your Saves list
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Royal Retreat Offer
Ranked #1 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I love this place! I don't think u can get better!
Right in the middle of the lake, right next to the beautifully lit castles and palaces of the Kings.. This is a super Surreal place. The staff is super nice.. Anything and everything you want is served to you. This was my second time and I can imagine myself going back again soon. Udaipur is a very special place

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    111
    23
    11
    11
See reviews for
297
809
54
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Okay, this may be the absolute best hotel in the world! I know I have said this before but this time I truly mean it! Located in the middle of a lake with unbelievable views of Udaipur. The service is above 5 star. We arrived to Udaipur after an overnight train (which was delayed by 5 hours and left at 4:00am) from Jaipur. We were unbelievably tired and the staff took great care of us. I quickly had a cappuccino in my hand and a glass of sparkling wine (on the house). We took an afternoon boat cruise, had the best massage, watched dancing and ate in an alcove looking out onto Udaipur!

The hotel organized an afternoon tuk tuk ride around Udaipur where we wondered through markets and took plenty of photographs.

Our entire experience was fantastic! Thank you!!!

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was a dream come true.You have to come here to experience what Lake Palace is all about,no words can desribe them.We came (me and my friends family) here from Jodhpur with kids.Starting from the Boat ride which takes you to palace standing in the centre of the lake ,to welcome by showering of rose petals is a experience which will go down your memory lane.Front office staff are very hospitable.Palace is very beuatiful ,nice garden with lots of Birds and the breeze makes you feel in heaven.Food is very nice ,specialy the Four course Thali . At Neelkamal Mr Hariram ji and his team made us eat so much that i cannot tell you.Our Palace rooms were very nicely done ,truly luxurious ,housekeeping staff takes good care of you..Children enjoyed each and every moment boating,swiming .In morning and evening you will hear the beuatiful sound of Flute being played which changed the total feel of the palace.Every day they had folk dances in the evening which were very entertaining
Food was very good ,so was the serving staff starting from a lovely breakfast at Jharokha at the lake side resturant was awesome. One suggestion they can have more choices in oriental , thai and Italian food .
Overall Awesome

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was a birthday gift from my husband and worth every paisa!! Amazing stay! Courteous staff and service. The location was awesome and we got a lake-facing room. The view of the City palace in the evening was stunning! Most memorable holiday!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Formerly a residence for the king of Jaipur, in the 70's, it became a hotel for the common man like us to live like a king for the duration of our stay. The service was impeccable from the time Guarov met us at the airport to when he dropped us off. All of the staff new our names upon our arrival. The guard met us at the boat and walked us under his umbrella to the entrance, where they showered us with rose petals and placed a mark of blessing on our foreheads. Priya made certain every need was taken care of and she always had a beautiful smile for us. They offer a dance program to watch every evening and a flautist awakens you in the morning from his perch beneath a dome on the second floor. They have two different restaurants to choose from and the food is delicious. As well, in the early evenings one has the option of taking a historic tour of the hotel as well as a sunset cruise to the pleasure palace across the lake. I would highly recommend both. The rooms are lush with every possible accommodation you might need. They even deliver two newspapers to your door each morning. The pool looked wonderful as well, though we didn't have to time to enjoy it. They also have a cigar lounge, and at times, someone is available to do your astrological chart and horoscope if you are in to that sort of thing. Finally there are some wonderful stores on site if you're looking for that particular gift or keepsake to take home with you. We had a wonderful talk with one of the shop keepers who sold Pashmina scarves and was actually from Cashmere. What a delight all the way around.

Room Tip: splurge for a lakeside room with a view of the palace. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

As usual the trident and Oberoi hotels never disappoint. Udaipur trident is very well appointed and is absolute value for money. The service is excellent, the staff extremely courteous and friendly, the food superb, and the ambience and location of the hotel perfect. These guys maintain very high standards and don't compromise. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We went to have lunch...and were rudely greeted by the security guard who told us that only hotel guests were allowed into the private road. He did not even ask if we were guests...how did he know?? Anyhow, we were surprised and disappointed with the inhospitable way we were handled...after that...who would stay? We ended up eating at renovated royal palace, also lake side, in town at a fraction of the price and as nice of a view and good food. We were grateful the drive into town gave us a sense of the beauty and atmosphere of this little Indian "Venice".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.