We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FULFILLING A DREAM IN UDAIPUR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Taj Lake Palace Udaipur to your Saves list
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Udaipur
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FULFILLING A DREAM IN UDAIPUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ever since I was a teenager I dreamed of staying at the Lake Palace Hotel after seeing and keeping an article in a magazine - and finally my dream came true. The hotel is paradise on earth!

We spent four nights at this superb Heritage hotel to celebrate my birthday and were made to feel extra special by being upgraded into an amazingly luxurious suite. The hotel, appearing like a great white liner in the middle of Lake Pichola seduces the eye, the process of seduction is taken further with a welcome fit for a Maharani! The external appearance carries through the hotel's marble wings & sitting areas and includes a beautiful garden for guests to enjoy. We loved the heritage tour, the sunset boat cruise around the lake, the colourful and talented traditional dance performance in the internal courtyard, the delicious meals at the restaurants and the sheer luxury of the hotel and the pool. We found the city charming and easy to explore, thanks particularly to our friend and guide Akshay Sing Rao, a grandson of the Maharajas' court poet.

Everyone is looked after like family and nothing is too much trouble with every request greeted with a smile. Our special thanks to Maanas who was there always to help and Pramod the restaurant manager.

We will return as soon as we can. It must rate as one of the top hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Select a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    109
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
280
785
51
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was the best hotel I have stayed so far. The dinner wasn't as marvelous as I read and quite a bit pricey, I think there are many restaurants on land that are better and cheaper or may be I was disappointed how the naan seemed undone. Other wise, the ambience, the dance performance in the evening, the boat ride around the lake, the breakfast, and everything else that entailed my trip was magical. I had my own butler, had a lady dress me up in a saree, and a sitar player serenading under the moon light right outside my room. I swung on a swing listening to the music, watching the moon reflect on the lake. I truly felt like a maharani throughout my stay. The best part was working out in the gym. The treadmill faces the palace across the lake, so you can watch the city palace! There also was an attendant offering me cold beverages, it was awesome!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After travelling for 8 months, we arrived in Udaipur for our 1 night of pure luxury. After building it up in our head, I was worried that we were going to be left disappointed. I couldn't have been more wrong!

I don't want to write too much about the arrival & stay as it will spoil all of the little surprises for future guests. However, I will say you leave the palace feeling like royalty! The level of service is simply extraordinary (we've stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world, I work in hospitality and I have never seen this level in my life!). The staff second guess your every whim and you are constantly surprised and moved throughout your stay.

The facilities are top notch and the food outstanding.

Sadly, I was quite unwell but it was honestly the best place in the world to be a patient. I was given flowers, special food, a doctor, medicine, and a get well card - all this amongst other treats.

I will endeavor to return to the Lake Palace again in my lifetime, this time hopefully well (!) and for a longer stay.

Simply divine - everything about it is special, discreet, unpretentious and beautiful.

I wish I was still there!

Room Tip: Just ask! We didn't even have to and they gave us an upgrade :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Skane Lan, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Fantastic place with an extraordinary service level. Sometime close to to much... Wonderful view over the old city palace. The pool area is magnificent!
We booked a garden view room and got sea view.
They have thought about every small detail from entrance to good bye.
We left late night. Checked out at 14.00 ( two hours extra) and were offered to take shower before leaving in the evening, without extra charge.

Room Tip: Make sure to get seaview.! Cab ypu make it before 15 october, you get a reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When we got in, our three year old was quite sick, having vomited and coughed on the train to Udaipur all night. The hotel was very helpful. They really took very good care of us. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. It is a luxurious experience. Well worth doing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is really like the Taj of the Lake city...amazing hotel.The welcome with shower of rose petals - the aarti and the tikka is really traditional -unique location ,The view from our room was very beautiful,The food was also very good, dined at neelkamal,Evening entertainment with the sunset boat ride along with Rajasthani dance performance was really amazing.We really enjoyed there with our family and will never forget that lovely moment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here in April 2012. We were spellbound. Expensive but you definitely get what you are looking for. The complete feel right from when you board your Jetti and enter the hotel is just excellent. A very unique heritage property and must say extremely well maintained. Each room is special and the suites are just stunning. You can ask for your preference whether you like a room with a view of the sunrise or the sunset. Great location and all the top attractions of the city are also very close-by. You certainly will get the ROYAL feel. Lovely food specially the breakfast ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.