We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready to be treated like a King and Queen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Save Saved
You added Taj Lake Palace Udaipur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 5, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 112 hotels in Udaipur
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get ready to be treated like a King and Queen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Away from the hustle and bustle of a small but busy city of Udaipur is Taj Lake Palace, which stays afloat on the lake Pichola. It looks as beautiful and magnificent under glowing moonlight as it looks when the first ray of the sun hits the pristine, cool blue lake water. Its Majestic structure mesmerizes you every time you look at it.

A pick up from the airport in a vintage coupe, transferred to the grandeur in an exquisite boat, escorted by a warm hostess and finally a welcome with a shower of rose petals makes one feel like newly appointed Prince and Princess of the palace.

Even after a long and tiring journey, one would wait to explore every nook and corner of the Palace. On arrival one is escorted by their own personal royal butler to one of the beautiful rooms within the palace. Royal butlers, also known as mind-readers as they would anticipate your wants and present them even before you can think about it.

Relaxing massage in the exclusive spa boat will surely put you to sleep and the drive around the city in a 70 year old Cadillac vintage will surely give you a royal experience.

It seems like the word 'No' doesnt exist in the dictionary for the staff of Taj. Your wish is their command and they will ensure that the wish is fulfilled with utmost class.

Its one of its kind feeling which we have experienced after staying at Taj! - Will never forget it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,209
    96
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
256
738
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Its amazing when you see how it stands stil in the middle of water even after almost more than 50 yrs.It was built as a holiday home for the king.....completely man made even the lake.comparitively a small hotel .....service is excellent as all other Taj properties. there are traditonal dance events as entertainment.its a beautiful feeling to be sitting out and gazing at the endless water.they have spa services on a seperate boat which too cool ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ok i'm going to make the call...one of the best hotels in the world!
We stayed for 5 nights on the honeymoon package. The service was just amazing, so attentive, professional, caring and personal.
A vintage car collected us at the airport. We had a wonderful breakfast everyday, always greeted by name. We had a heritage tour of the building with the optional professional photographer which I highly recommend to get the best shots of the palace with you in them. Also have a boat tour of the lake early on in your stay to orientate yourself. We had two private dinners in various stunning locations around the property with exceptional personal service by our waiters. A session with the palace astrologer is a must and make sure you have your exact birth time with you. Definitely get out on the spa boat, have a massage and follow it with a rose petal bath on the deck and a facial if you have the time at the palace. The Jiva Spa people are so skilled. If you have a guided tour of the city be clear of exactly what your interests are to get the most out of it. Finally, put your feet up by the pool and enjoy the wonderful personal service.
You can't go wrong at any of the restaurants or bars so try them all out. I recommend room 101 or if you're in the market for a suite the Udai Mahal suite is amazing. Wifi isn't free and costs 600 INR per day. Definitely have the palace transfer you too and from the
airport. I don't think its the best palace for active children as there aren't any large open spaces. If you have been "umm ing and ahhh ing about going" just do it....right now!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I visited this place for a single day with my friend in 2011 June (couldn't choose that in drop down so chose July 2012)and I was amzaed by their hospitality right from the start.
The great points about the place: amazing staff and their helpful nature.We were upgraded to the Jal Mahal suite from Garden view room which really surprised me. Even the dinner was awesome as chef made us eat his special dishes. Though we had a brief stay but they made it an amzing one right from the start. Even when I wrote a feedback asking them to provide a lake palace souvenir they were more than glad to send a marble photo of palace. After such amazing stay I have even sent one of my other friends for stay there and they were also more than happy by their hospitality.. Amzing place just enjoy out there..you would feel the world is beautiful

Anyways it would be great if any parking facility can be provided for taxis and drivers arriving there...Rest all great.!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idf
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This palace transformed in a hotel in the middle of Pichola Lake in Udaipur is amazing.
The size of the palace is smaller than one would think but it makes its charm even bigger.
We had a big room (although we were abundantly told it was a suite it was in fact just a big room, with a small bathroom and a terrace). with magnificently painted ceiling , and marble sculptures making you feel in a maharaja s palace.
With nice sunny weather we could enjoy a very pleasant pool and beautiful garden ( all on the small side but only saw a couple of other guests , so no crowds).
Experienced dining at the roof top restaurant (very cold at night) with great views of the surrounding palaces all lit up at night.
Hotel provides a so called "butler" service which however fails to meet its purpose ( no dedicated butler , more like room service with orders or request never quite understood or fulfilled)
Exceptionnal location which makes it a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Best hotel I've ever stayed in! The service, the food, the palace, the gardens, the heated pool, the room.. from the arrival to the depart everything was just perfect.. just wish I had stayed longer.
Would've liked to try the spa on the boat and the yoga sessions in the morning.. it will be for next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A perfect hotel and stay. My expectations were sky high after reading all the reviews, and yet the hotel managed to surpass it all. From pick up at the airport to the level of care when my partner got 'delhi belly', the hotel service and execution was flawless. The Lake Palace holds a special place in my heart because it is where I proposed to my fiancee (and she thankfully said yes, but it would have been hard for her to say no given the setting!).

The only downside of staying at this hotel is that the bar for all my future hotel stays at any luxury hotel is so high, that I am likely to only be disappointed. I dont know what any other property could do to top the service and experience at the Lake Palace.

Tips for your stay:
1. Get a room facing the Lake. Work out whether your room has sunrise or sunset views to be sure to enjoy the view and colors at that time.
2. Walk through the main inner courtyard at dusk, after all the tealights have been light, and walk up the rooftop restaurant and look down at the courtyard. Incredible sight.
3. Have breakfast at the hotel - it is a magnificent buffet spread. Go down to breakfast really early and request the corner pagoda overlooking the city palace.
4. The shops in the city are much better priced and have a larger selection of touristy items/paintings than the shops in the hotel - not unlike most hotel shops.

Final words: While the hotel can be expensive in peak season (US$1000+), you'll never ever have buyers remorse. Just do it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: P.O. Box 5, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India’s bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharaja’s guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride into the city, a spa boat, royal butlers, royal Marwari cuisine and more turn this former pleasure palace into a luxury hotel that gives guests the chance to live like a Maharaja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.