We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Lake Palace Udaipur to your Saves list
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 119 Hotels in Udaipur
Mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Taj Lake Palace is a must stay. We had gone there for our wedding anniversary and the concierge was so helpful and completely went out of their way to provide us with whatever we wanted. We arrived very early in the morning and they put us up in a temporary room to rest for a while while they set-up the suite they were upgrading us to. The suite was amazing with a large balcony. It seemed like you were in a house boat. All in all the property was beautiful and their hospitality even more so!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,525
    118
    27
    11
    11
See reviews for
340
902
60
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Everything about this hotel is first class. Setting, welcome (you dont get showered in rose petals at most hotels), room, food, service is 10star. Fantastic pool, great restuarants - didnt want to leave

Room Tip: we had room 235 which had its own sun deck and was great for the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Travelling in India and stayed two nights at the Taj Lake Palace, everything was amazing, petals were scattered on us on arrival and they even gave me a gift when I left, nothing to complain about, expensive but what do you expect for this type of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Like a glowing pearl that rises out of the water, just the mere sight of Lake Palace takes your breathe away. Immaculately kept, impeccably service, impressive surrounding, the hotel is an exemplary representation of a perfect vacation. From the moment we arrived till the day we departed, every moment was executed with the highest standard. The staff were friendly and discreet. They were also knowledgeable and helpful in provide us great tips and guide on exploring Udaipur. Whenever we return from our day trip, they would greet and welcome us with the sincerest smile. These are memories that will last a life time. Will certainly return away one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of my most memorable experiences ever. Starting from the way we were received at the reception deck with warm smiles on the Lake shore to the luxurious boat ride with comfortable cushions to enjoy swaying through the Beautiful and historic lake Pichola. A Royal Welcome led us into the lobby with rose petals showering over us. Check in was effortless and we were briefed about the programs later such as heritage walk and the Culturals shows. crossing the beautiful reading room - all blue intricate inlay work, guests just relaxing and floating all over, everyone is close to each other yet its extremely peaceful and positive. We were led to the very lovely lily pool which was full of seasonal flowers at patches. Our room was cozy, perfect view of the City palace, which was breathtaking in the evening lights accross the shmmering lake. The bathrooms were very well done with blue pottery lical tiles and classic fixtures, lovely ornate ceiling and woodwork. After a quick snack meal at the multicuisine restaurant we went back in the era of the kings and queens through the heritage walk with interesting stories about the Maharanas of Udaipur, which continued all through the rajasthani music and dances with lovely martinis all around the central courtyard, just like the olden times, we were totally transported through time. Thats the magic of this place which you cannot imagine unless you enter this floating piece of heaven on earth. Not to forget the authentic Rajasthani 4 course meal which was served to us with lot of care and perfection.I dont think there can be Luxury at this level atleast in India in terms of location, design, service and overall experience. A must visit atleast once in a lifetime!

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the City Palace. and february would be a good time to visit since we got perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Amazing hotel, white marble beautiful setting in the middle of a lake wonderful staff. Have stayed twice, the first time we were tracking around India so not dressed in best of clothes ! We were treated like royalty everyone exceptionally pleasent and friendly, the second time for our fifth wedding anniversary which we told them they put us lots of ' extras ' at no cost in our room. Yes it is expensive but well worth the cost and less than some London hotels. We had a meal on floating platform on the lake, it was decorated with flowers etc just the two of us with our own staff waiting on us AMAZING

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Taj Lake Palace is an amazing place. We had a butler, Moulton Brown toiletries, jacuzzi, dining room, complimentary homemade chocolates and brandy, wall sized plasma screen, white marble staircase. A variety of dressing gowns, including silk, and slippers. Food was wonderful and the entertainment - shadow dancers and Indian dancing. The whole experience was well worth £650.00 per night for three people with two meals. You can get cheaper rooms though. The views are worth the money!

Room Tip: Take plenty of money or go for a cheaper room rather than an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: P.O. Box 5 | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Lake Palace Udaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.