We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great horses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Trails Farm

Princess Trails Farm
Boheda Haveli, Near Lake Palace Road, Udaipur, India
91-9829042012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 Activities in Udaipur
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Princess Trails is an Indo-European family business, which aims to provide our guests with the best quality and most unique equestrian experience possible. We combine Indian hospitality with European standard of horse keeping. Our main concern and highest priority is the safety of horse and rider.Virendra & Ute organize horseback safaris, horse riding, riding lessons and related services. On our farm we have comfortable Swiss Tents for our guests wishing to stay overnight.Our Horseback Safaris usually go along off-the-beaten tracks through the hilly landscape of the Aravalli Mountains, the endless plains of Malwa or into the fringes of the Thar Desert and the Rajasthani Bagar. The riders can experience unspoiled nature and the unique culture of the hill tribes of Rajasthan. Our destinations are places of historical or cultural significance such as the medieval town of Chittor or the hill fort of Kumbhalgarh.Some of our Safaris are connecting major festivals in Rajasthan such as the Pushkar Camel Fair and are bound to certain dates. Many of our safaris are also going through a number of wildlife sanctuaries such as the Kumbhalgarh Wildlife Sanctuary or the Sita-Mata Wildlife Sanctuary so our riders can enjoy the spectacular Indian flora and fauna. We believe in the principle of natural horsemanship. That means we keep our horses as naturally as possible and care for them with love and affection. Our horses are properly fed, shoed and have fitting, comfortable high-class saddle tack. We do not make use of underfed and untrained village horses! In fact we take pride in the point that by now we own a stable of finest Marwari horses, some of them bred and trained by us.Most of our horses are Marwari horses, indigenous to this region, perfectly adapted to the geographic and climatic conditions of Rajasthan and very comfortable to ride. Their ears are distinctively curved inwards in a lyre-shape, which makes them unique and easily recognizable. Like many other ancient breeds some of them have a forth gait, the so-called Revaal, a type of rack, very relaxing for the rider.We have horses for both beginners and advanced riders and also provide riding lessons if necessary. All our horses are forward going, well trained and a pleasure to ride. Some are ridden bitless with a hackamore or just a halter.All our safaris are organized as close to nature as possible and are eco-friendly. We use local supplies and groceries and prevent unnecessary waste. Cooking and lighting is done with gas as not to cut done forest wood.Our safaris provide rural employment as we occupy local people as helpers, guides or artists. We strongly emphasize local culture and try to help preserve it in giving the people a sense of value and pride. Our main aim is to show the unique culture and ecology of Rajasthan to our guests and connect this with an unforgettable equestrian experience.
Monrovia, Liberia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great horses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

A really fun ride on healthy happy forward-going horses through beautiful countryside. The horses were as careful and sure-footed on steep rocky ground as they were keen to let off steam with a good gallop when the terrain allowed - really fun to ride.
I was well looked after throughout - from my hotel pick-up and drop off to water on the trail and tea and food on my return at the end of the day.
The only thing I would say is that I paid for a full day's ride and didn't really get one - not counting break times I was only in the saddle for about four hours. I didn't complain as this was actually enough for me as I hadn't ridden in a while and was feeling it!
This place is more expensive than others but totally worth it - paying for well looked after horses and a quality experience always is.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ute P, Manager at Princess Trails Farm, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Respected Madam,

Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate the time you took to give us a fair and honest evaluation.
We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and are really sorry that you had less riding time on that day. Due to a forecast of heavy rainfall in the late afternoon, the guide was in a bit of hurry to bring you back to our farm timely before the rain started. The rain eventually was late and did not arrive till nightfall, but in any case he wanted to make sure that you would not get wet.

Best regards and hope to welcome you again with us,

The Princess Trails Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The highlight of our trip to Udaipur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This farm is easily the best place to go for horse treks around the beautiful surrounding countryside of Udaipur. The farm itself is in a stunning location right by a lake. We stayed in one of the 'tent' rooms, which was not only comfortable and clean, but very tastefully decorated. We were so well looked after and was such a haven from the busy city centre. The cook made us fabulous food, and our every need was met. the couple who ran it went out of their way to ensure we had a relaxed, comfortable time. They are so friendly and helpful - we will definitely be coming back here, and met many people who regularly do keep coming back. The riding itself is the best around, and they cater for all riding experiences. We trekked also through the local villages which was a great experience. I would highly recommend princess trails for anyone wishing to see more of Udaipur than simply the old city.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A trip I'll never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have been on a lot of riding holidays to many countries but this trip was by far the best for so many reasons. India itself of course was amazing with its colours, smells, sights and people; Viru, family and staff were friendly and helpful and the trip itself through mountains and on to the desert and camel fair was incredible. The best though were the horses. Although spirited, I have never felt so comfortable and safe on a horse before and completly fell in love with her by the time I left. I would recommend the camel fair trip to anyone who loves horses and adventure and I only hope I can go back again someday! Nameste xx

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best experience in Rajasthan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beatiful, well-trained horses that take you through incrediblly picturesque scenery. This was by far the best thing we did in Rajasthan. Whilst the forts are impressive, this gives you a taste of the 'real' Rajasthan. Passing through little villages, school children waving, bright sari-clad women working in the fields, stark landscapes and the occasional oasis. An added bonus, is the fact this is well-run and reliable, making the whole experience even better.

We were a mixed group (age and experience) with youngest only 8 and with no riding experience, but we were all well-catered for. The price was reasonable and we were provided with tea and coffee on arrival, as well as water during the ride.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the most awesome experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The safari on the back of a marwari horse is one of the must-do things in Udaipur. Its a great experience for skilled riders and for beginners too. Horses at the farm are trained very well - all credit to very friendly host Ute. The track is so beautiful - you climb the hills, cross little springs and go through rural areas. It is the place where you just cant resist coming again! Im looking forward to mounting marwari horse at Princess Trails farm again

Polina

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princess Trails Farm also viewed

 

Been to Princess Trails Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Trails Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.