We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devi Vilas Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Devi Vilas Guest House to your Saves list
Devi Vilas Guest House
30 Gangour Ghat | Rajasthan, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 181 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed in this Guest House during my visit to Udaipur over the Christmas period. Located in Gangaur Ghat and it walking distance to the lake, temple and palace it is superbly situated. My room was beautiful to say the least, spacious and elegantly decorated.
The view of the lake palace from the rooftop was exquisite. I enjoyed many evenings on this rooftop relaxing and taking in the view.
The owner Arvind is lovely. He was always friendly and was eager to ensure I was enjoying my stay. His helper Manue was equally as kind. He is also a fantastic cook and I tried many of his dishes, each so tasty!
I cannot recommend this guest house more. During m stay in Udaipur it really felt like my home, somewhere to chill, relax and take a break from the busy streets. Plus with rooms from 400 rupees it is value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
12
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Is a nice place to stay, it is clean and the people are so nice, really nice view from the rooftop of the lake, it is located in a small and quiet path just few meter from the lake ..................................................................

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stay here two nights, the view from Roof-Top not the best but is still amazing. The host is very friendly he want to learn the word "friend" by all langue. Manu (the staff) is a nice guy and make a excellent chicken fried rice.

HIGH recommend if you visit Udaipur

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our room was 300 rupees, but he brought the price down to 250 which was nice of him. Manu is the guys name. Really nice fellow, he helps out his friend with the guesthouse. No one is ever downstairs manning the desk though, so if you want to speak to anyone, you have to climb to the rooftop where they will be.
Our room was perfect for what we wanted, a bit small, but we paid next to nothing! Beds are comfortable, ther was a toilet and shower in the room. The rooftop is amazing to hang out on during the day. Stunning view. And they serve food up there.

Downsides are the rooms need a proper clean. The hot water wasn't usually hot water, and our shower head was broken, so it was just a thick stream of water. All of this didn't really bother us, as the staff, views on the rooftop and location make up for it!
It's located in the centre of old Udaipur, very cool area. Great restaurants around, street food...
Worth more than you pay anyway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phimai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The guest house is situated close to the lake, the palace and main tourist street. It has a nico view over the lake from the restaurant at the top. I stayed 6 days there. Arvind and Mano are really friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this guest house for budget travelers and would go there again !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

brilliant location very close to the lake, fantastic views of the lake and palace from the rooftop restaurant. the staff were very friendly and helpful to us. the room was clean and tidy and contained everything we needed. we ate at a restaurant owned by the same people who own the hotel ans was led there by one of the guys from reception, lovely food but can't remember the name. a nice cheap well positioned place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

So I arrived in Udaipur at the end of my India trip with only 400 rs and a train ticket to Delhi in my pocket. I said to the staff (Manu, I think his name was) that I need a room for the night, but I could only pay you 150 rs. I couldn't afford to pay any more. The rest of my money had to go to bread and water and transport to Delhi Airport where I slept for the last night of my trip.

Manu was kind enough to give me a bed in the staff dorm room where he slept for my asking price of 150 rs. A double room in the guesthouse is 300rs. The room was adequate with a hot shower and western style toilet. It even had a view of the lake and palace. Manu slept in another bed in the same room as me. Despite my unvoiced concerns about having my property disappear, nothing went missing.

To top everything off, Manu prepared me roti in the evening and a cup of tea in the morning all for free. They understood the stupid situation that I was in and still allowed me to stay with them. I cannot be more thankful for the kindness and empathy displayed by Manu and the staff at Devi Vilas towards me. If you are looking for a cheap, clean room with super nice staff, then take a taxi straight to Devi Vilas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devi Vilas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Vilas Guest House

Address: 30 Gangour Ghat | Rajasthan, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DEVI VILAS GUEST HOUSE is situated near lake pichola and, bagore ki haveli museum .The hotel have one of the best rooftop restaurant in the city with the amzing lake view . The hotel have free wi-fi in all the rooms and amazing view of lake from two rooms . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Devi Vilas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devi Vilas Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.