We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millets of Mewar Restaurant

Millets of Mewar Restaurant
Pichhola Lake, Near Hanuman Ghat Hotel | Nayi Puliya, Outside Chand Pole, Udaipur 313001, India
8769348440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 307 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Organic, Fusion, Family Fare, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This restaurant started one year ago and the owners spent years studying the relationship between food, taste, health & the environment. They re-created vegetarian recipes by using alternative grains/millets such as Amaranth, Ragi, etc that are gluten-free & highly nutritious, and made tasty cookies, shakes & desserts that are also vegan. Their delicious salads are washed with filtered water and Indian tacos / chapatti pizzas are quick, tasty snacks. They also offer a full Indian food menu that is organic & tastes incredible. Their juices are made with really fresh vegetables & fruits. The restaurant is situated near the lake with awesome views of the lake, old temple with monkeys & parrots, and of city palace from the 2nd floor. The first floor has mattresses & low-height tables to sit & eat in traditional Indian style.The food is cooked from fresh raw materials so it takes 10-20 min more than usual, and the serving staff communicates which menu item will take long time.
Jaipur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me and my group came here 3 times in just a few days!. The owners are nice and genuinly interested and passionate about local healthy foods! They use ingredients which are local to the area and are very knowledgeable.

The menu is inviting and has something for everyone! Indian and international cusine with an indian twist!

Love it and will come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    135
    61
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durban
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Jewel of Udaipur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We rarely give a perfect score. Millets earnt it, easily! Every time we went there our experience and satisfaction was a perfect 10!
With 'hands on' owners and great value meals this place is the jewel of Udaipur.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but way overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here twice based on the good reviews but were not too impressed. We felt most of the menu items were only average and the lassi they raved about was bland. I ordered a carrot salad and couldn't eat more than four bites of it because there was too much coconut oil in it (gross).

However, it's worth eating there for two reasons: the bean sprout-tamarind salad, which is so mouthwateringly delicious I could eat it all day long, and the homemade cookies, which you can buy in bulk. I dare you to buy a tin of them and make it through the day without eating all of them!

The restaurant has comfortable floor and table seating and a decent view of the lake. The staff are friendly and you can just chill out there for a few hours if you want.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The restaurant serves Gluten free, low fat vegan food.
Manoj, the guy who owns the restaurant, puts you at ease once you step in. The 1st floor is indian style seating with matresses and low tables. Here they have a small library for you to browse. The second floor has tables and chairs.
Do try the pasta and salads.The mushroom and cheese pasta was super. The sprouts and peanuts salad with tamarind sauce was mind blowing. If you are confused, ask Manoj, he will talk to you and suggest something based on your palate.
Onother thing recommended are the multigrain cookies that he makes. At Rs. 130 for the tin, its a little steep, but you will get quality. One bite is a guarantee you will not be able to stop.
Manoj, I'll surely be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food; And got hardcore scope toward Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The 1st thing about any restaurant is "taste", which stands quite well with my expectation. The taste was adorable, and you can feel hygine and health part in food, as food was mild and i also found taste authentic. Presentation part was also quite good, and things which are set for dining part was lil unusual and different, more like "traditional Indian".
And most amazing thing that i found about this restaurant was all this stuff you can enjoy with very cheap price.
so, getting towards bad part of restaurant , i found myself unsatisfied with services offered or in a way it is. there was no one for our orders. which make us wait too long, it was annoying, and i found services with snail speed. otherwise good experience with great food and bearable service!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Millets of Mewar Restaurant also viewed

 
Udaipur, Rajasthan
Udaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Millets of Mewar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millets of Mewar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.