We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay that offers an incredible experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandra Niwas

Save Saved
You added Chandra Niwas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandra Niwas
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 170 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Aix-en-Provence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay that offers an incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks in July after the owner, Samvit, took me in on very short notice from Delhi. Everything is extremely clean and the family is very nice, helpful, and welcoming. Above all, I would insist anyone who is traveling to Udaipur should stop here, relax, and take a chance to accompany the owner to some of the local schools and community centers he works at. You'll have the opportunity to help teach children or just play games with them for an afternoon and relax. It's a great way to see India away from just the tourist destinations and meet the real people who are kind and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
24
98
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This hotel will welcome you warmly by very friendly hosts. It's a clean place in one of India's most beautiful cities: Udaipur! If you enjoy a peaceful place with lots of charm, go there as soon as it's massivly overcrowded by lonely-planet-travellers! :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Wonderful volunteer opportunity for cultural exchange.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

It's an amazing homestay. For everyone who wants to feel like in a real family. Also with an opportunity to volunteer in a close by education and awarness center.
Highly recommended.
and smile ;)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

It is a place where you find peace, very needed during your travelling in India. It is located very close to the city, 5 minutes ride..in a quiet neigborhood.
The house is very big and the rooms are very nice furnished and well equiped.
The home made food is delicious and Im sure you will like it, also the use of washing machine is very usefull. I really enjoyed talks with the owner Dr. Samvit Audichya, he can explain you everything regarding India, customs and can take you to nice places or can reccomend you some.
Also i have spend some time in his centre called DAAN and played with kids. If you stay longer, there is the opportunity to help more in different fields.

Anyway, if you come here, bring a book to the kids in the centre, they would LOVE THAT!
:)

Enjoy your stay to the fullest :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Everyone was so nice and helpful! I loved it. india can be an annoying place if you're left by yourself and to your luck. I felt safe and comfortable in this place, because they understand foreigners,speak good english and are willing to help you on how to get around.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

If I had knew before where I would stay so I had planned better my stay in with this nice family. It is a very nice family runned homestay in which you also have the oportunity to go volunteering in the villages where the have youthcenters in which they they teach the children their personality and make them aware of their lifegols as well as giving them education.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chandra Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas

Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandra Niwas 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality.Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Chandra Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandra Niwas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.