We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique way of getting to know India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandra Niwas Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chandra Niwas Homestay to your Saves list
Chandra Niwas Homestay
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 181 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unique way of getting to know India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chandra Niwas is a great place to have a unique experience in India. Samvit, his mother, father and guests (at the time) were all amazing people who were always up for hanging out and having great conversations together. You feel more part of a family at Chandra Niwas eating, sometimes cooking and travelling together.
Samvit was a great help for planning a surprise engagement while we were in Udaipur, and also surprised us with a chocolate engagement cake!
Samvit has a big heart and is passionate about his rural community work, an extra tour Samvit offers is a rural tour where you get to see some of the great work he and his volunteers are doing in India. Thanks again Samvit

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
30
109
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will forever be thankful to Sam and his family for taking care of me. Everything was perfect. I miss having chai at the terrace every morning. Everything was clean and I loved my room in the terrace! Thank you Sam for being a gracious host and enhancing my experience of Udaipur. It wouldn't have been possible without you! xx

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint john
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Chandra Niwas for 3 weeks as a part of their cultural exchange program. By partaking in this program, I was able to explore rural life in India and experience many different thjngs than the usual tourist check lists.

Staying at the chandra Niwas was great. It's always very clean and comfortable. I particpated in helping cook meal for myself and other guests, which was a fun change to always eating out.

As a part of the program, in took Hindi and cooking lessons from Papa and Muma, who are 2 of the sweetest people you can ever hope to meet. I also spent time in the community centers developed by Samvit's NGO. There you get to meet amazing kids and their teachers. I also spent time with locals and was invited as dinner guests a few times. Great experience.

Samvit is awesome. We connected rather quickly and became great friends. We had and still maintain an open and honest dialogue regarding many subjects. He truly has a warm heart for all those around him. He is a mentor for his staff instead of a stereotypical boss. He is passionate about his organization and the work he is doing and from everything I can see he is very honest.

I highly recommend you stay at the chandra Niwas when in Udaipur, but if you are able to do the cultural exchange program, you should not hesitate. It's truly an eye opening experience.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is Samvit’s place, he is legit. If you’re in Udaipur you need to stay here and meet this guy. He runs an awesome homestay to help fund after school programs for village kids. That’s all you should need to know about it to want to stay there…but here’s more anyway. The room was a good size, safe, consistent hot water, wifi, and AC as well. Sam has his good cab guys around town and he’ll help you arrange to get anywhere for the best price. You stay with Sam, you have now worries- that’s the bottom line. After just 4 days in his home, I consider him a friend. I’m sure that’s what pretty much everyone else that stays there says. This is the place. You can trust Sam.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Samvit is an incredible host. The ethos of Chandra Niwas is one of shared values and the interactions between guests and volunteers is a fluid one. People are welcomed in to a home and a relaxed experience. On a practical front: my room was beautifully decorated with local handicrafts, clean and exactly what I was looking for. As Samvit's home is slightly away from the Old City, he has a stream of reliable auto guys for you to contact. If I had been in town for longer I would have definitely visited a youth centre - next time!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Polten, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Chandra Niwas Homestay was a completely new kind of staying for my good friend, David, and me. We travelled through India for one month and never stayed in an accommodation like this. It was great and a very nice new experience! Because it is not only a room what you rent. When we arrived we were welcomed with open arms and the family of Chandra Niwas Homestay shared their house with us. Samvit (the responsible owner of the homestay) showed us a lot of great places in Udaipur which we would never have seen if we had stayed in another accommodation. He drove us often from place to place and cared about us a lot. We had even the chance to visit his NGO in the rural area of Udaipur one time, which was extremely interesting for us. The rooms are beautiful and clean and the staff very nice. I think that the Homestay get its charming atmosphere through the little beautiful details and through its antiques which Samvit love to collect. The accommodation is more on the outskirts of the town but it really don't mind because Samvit take care to get you from A to B in some way, so no problem ;). When you are in Chandra Niwas you get the chance to see Udaipur and their population through an authentic individual non-touristic way of view. These are the reasons why I highly recommend using the chance to stay in the individual Chandra Niwas Homestay!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I stayed at Chandra Niwas earlier this month and truly enjoyed my time. It is definitely very different than the other spots I stayed in Udaipur in that it is far from the old city and in a much more residential neighborhood. It was nice to get away from the usual tourist area and enjoy an experience that felt a little more authentic. There is nothing fancy here, but just nice, clean rooms and good WiFi. Best of all is the family, who were very welcoming and really make you feel at home. A good choice!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandra Niwas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas Homestay

Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandra Niwas Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality. Chandra Niwas is a simple homestay accommodation with basic rooms and bathroom fittings. It is our house which has been converted into a homestay for those who are interested in staying in the non touristy area. Most of all it is a place for socially responsible travelers and for those who are interested in getting to know our rural education initiatives. Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. In addition, all of our staff are employed from local villages and trained for future employment in the hospitality industry. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chandra Niwas Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandra Niwas Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.