We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow... 5* plus 50 more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandra Niwas Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chandra Niwas Homestay to your Saves list
Chandra Niwas Homestay
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 179 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow... 5* plus 50 more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is by far the best place I have stayed whilst travelling. Samvit really does take care of his guests like a friend he has known for years. Chandra Niwas offer some excellent tours which i would recommend booking. Also ask him to take you for ice cream at Happinezz, I'm sure that he wont be able to resist. Sam also recommended the best restaurants to visit and joined us on a number of occasions. During our stay we visited the centre for local school children in a village close to Udaipur and shared in the DAAN foundations work. This was a brilliant experience and I would recommend anybody to volunteer here. I cannot recommend this home stay highly enough. If you come here you will not regret it. Not only will you stay at the best place in India, you will also be contributing to an excellent organisation who aim to put education on the agenda of local villagers as all profits go towards the DAAN Foundation. We hope that our paths will cross again some day... :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
30
109
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at Chandra Niwas after traveling India for some time and I can with certainty say that it was the best stay on my trip! It is definitely a place that I would like to return to at some point and I would recommend everybody who goes to Udaipur to do the same.

The host is a very warm hearted and kind man who very much cares for his guests. Samvit has an extremely nice energy and is pleasant to be around. He knows his city like his back pocket and is capable of helping you arrange trips around the city. The homestay also provides great trips – like Panther Safari, to a good price. Definitely worth having a look at!
During my stay at Chandra Niwas I ate in their cafeteria which was a nice experience. The food was cheap and delicious!

Chandra Niwas is such a lovely place with a very special calm energy and atmosphere. Not at least does the dog Donna add on to this wonderful atmosphere. The rooms are clean and very nice decorated. The common area is a very nice place to sit and just chill with one of the books from the bookshelf or watch a movie on the TV.

I wish I could give Chandra Niwas more than five stars because it definitely deserves that. I’m already looking very much forward to go back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

That was the best place in all my traveling experience. And I have traveled a lot. Do not hesitate! The feeling of complete warmth and hospitality comes in a split second when you step into this beautiful place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chandra niwas and charm us all. Sam is great thanks to the experience we know another and works of the foundation with families, womens and children.chandra niwas is undoubtedly the best option in udaipur

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aichtal, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recently returned from a 5-weeks journey through India and I have to say that staying at Chandra Niwas guesthouse was definitely the highlight of my trip. In no other guesthouse I stayed I felt so much at home and at peace. CN is marvelously located away from the noise of the city in a quiet neighbourhood. Being surrounded by families and living in this family house you really don't feel like a tourist anymore. Samvit, who runs CN, and his family are extremely polite and welcoming and it was a pleasure sitting down and chatting with them over a cup of chai or good coffee (the kola coffee is truly delicious by the way).
What I loved the most is that you actually do good by staying at CN: Samvit runs his own NGO, the DAAN foundation, which supports local communities for example via after school youth centres. The profits from CN directly support the NGO. I love engaging in volunteer work and thus I appreciated the opportunity very much to be able to visit one of the centers, attend the after school program and play with the kids. Having seen the kids there and the teachers and how they learn in a safe and respectful environment really filled my heart with joy.
Furthermore, I enjoyed it very much visiting rural areas around Udaipur. Samvit took me to an amazingly picturesque temple hidden in a small valley. Meeting the local people and being welcomed by them was a very special experience. So was the way to the temple - a true off-road Jeep safari ;)
Samvit is full of energy, and his dedication to his work, the NGO and Chandra Niwas, is truly inspiring. Moreover he is very insightful and it was great talking to him about Indian culture and society.
Thus I can only wholeheartedly recommend staying at Chandra Niwas guesthouse. It is an enriching experience in every sense and not just mere accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

With the moment that I entered Chandra Niwas I felt at home. The warm, cozy, familiar atmosphere makes you feel comfortable right from the beginning. The people you meet are amazing, including the owner Sam who runs the homestay to fund his non-profit-oorganization DAAN. By staying at CN you support 'Development Action Awareness Nationwide - who are developing a program that works on issues related to awareness and education'
I highly recommend CN to everyone who's coming to Udaipur!!!

Room Tip: There's rooms with AC and rooms without - up to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Before I came to India, I was so freaked out by all the news and stories people told me about this country and I even tried to prepare some pepper powder spray in my pocket. But after being picked up by the lovely host Samvit who has a very pirate-style mustache, my fear for this country has totally disappeared. Sam was so nice to introduce me this city on the way to his homestay even though I could see that he was actually a little bit tired. And also he made jokes from time to time which made me feel that I was not in a new country meeting strangers but visiting an old friend instead. Besides, during my stay in this hostel, Sam's family also treated me very nice. His father Mr. Sudir took me to have a traditional India breakfast on the day when I unexpectedly woke up very early and his lovely wife shared me some information about how girls live in this country. All these conversations are very interesting and I can still remember most of them.
Another thing which is good about this homestay is that part of the profits they make is used to run a charitable organization called Development Action Awarenss Nationwaide (DAAN), which was founded by Sam four years ago I think. It aims to provide free education for local kids and inspire them to explore the fields they are interested in. At the same time, Sam also wants to help them to be aware of the importance of healthy eating habits and what they can do to avoid certain diseases. Volunteers are needed all year long if any of you is interested.
Sam is quite busy every day, running the homestay as well as the organization, but he is always ready to take me and other guests to have a beautiful drive by the lakes and take us to have delicious food in different places. I really appreciate it!!!! The way he drives his Jeep is fantastic !!!
Anyway, I had really good time when I was here and hope his organization could be beneficial to more kids in the future. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandra Niwas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas Homestay

Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandra Niwas Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality. Chandra Niwas is a simple homestay accommodation with basic rooms and bathroom fittings. It is our house which has been converted into a homestay for those who are interested in staying in the non touristy area. Most of all it is a place for socially responsible travelers and for those who are interested in getting to know our rural education initiatives. Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. In addition, all of our staff are employed from local villages and trained for future employment in the hospitality industry. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chandra Niwas Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandra Niwas Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.