We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Udaipur Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandra Niwas Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chandra Niwas Homestay to your Saves list
Chandra Niwas Homestay
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 179 Udaipur B&B and Inns
jaipur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Udaipur Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What i can say about this place is homely atmosphere ,neat/clean rooms,excellent food(i.e breakfast) ,proper guidance by Mr. Samvith.

Strongly recommended for family.

Love to stay again in this place whenever i will visit udaipur.

This is what is expectations of traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
30
109
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Chandra Niwas is a great place to stay. The warm welcome you get and the lovely company of Sam, his parents and Donna (the dog) made me feel like a Chandra Niwas is home I always want to go back to. The rooms are very clean and have beautiful decorations, and the organic garden also provides a nice view. Also, Sam knows the best places to eat and get coffee so I completely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

About Chandra Niwas can say only good things and a lot. Make it so the people in the first place. Generally it is not a hotel or a guest house, and the house in which they live are lovely people and beautiful dog Donna )) Thanks to these people, despite the small amount of time we were able to appreciate and love the beautiful city of Udaipur. On some domestic issues have nothing to say, they are simply not there. Hot water, internet, delicious breakfast, great room - no problem. And importantly Sam and his family is very important to volunteer work with children. I believe they will succeed ! And we will come back ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After one year I returned to Chandra Niwas and was enjoying it as much as before!
The family is very open-minded and helpful and even I only stayed very short I directly felt home again. A very relaxing stay with a cup of real coffee!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Chandra Niwas is a beautiful place filled with everything a human being needs: amazing company, clean and lively decorated rooms, and a sense of homeyness that one truly needs from time to time while traveling through the insane labyrinth of India. Our host Samvit and his parents were more than accommodating, and showed me what true hospitality is all about. We came during the off season and as a result got the true star treatment from our host Samvit, a lively character with an infectious laugh, and a personality that will inspire you to live better. By the end of our first day there, I felt as if I had known him for my entire life, and we just had not seen one another in many years. I left feeling more in the moment than I have ever felt, and that is something that is truly priceless. Thank you so much for such a magnificent stay in Udaipur. Dont miss this truly unique, personalized bed and breakfast. It will be the best decision you have made in years. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The Chandra Niwas B&B is truly a unique place! Samvit and his lovely and humble parents made us feel so very welcomed from the moment we arrived, and the warm open invitation is now extended for a lifetime. The room that I shared with my girlfriend was clean and tidy, with perks such as warm water and a nice space heater, which was crucial for the cool winter nights. Our experience was highlighted by the fact that it was not peak season, so the owner Samvit actually took the time to show us around the town a bit and took us to some delicious hot spots to eat and enjoy hot chocolate. From the start we felt as if Samvit was an old friend, and his kindness, generosity, beautiful smile and addictive laugh will forever be in my memories of Udaipur. I received much more of an experience than I could ever have asked for, and I will never be able to think about this wonderful city of lakes without immediately thinking of Chandra Niwas. I cannot recommend any higher this once in a lifetime experience! If you come to Udaipur and do not stay with these wonderful people, you will be missing out!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migjorn Gran, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I participated in the three week long cultural exchange with Chandra Niwas and it was one of the best decisions I have made in a long time. I can easily say that it was a culturally enlighten experience of a life time. I had been traveling through India for a few weeks and was frustrated that I was only scratching the surface of Indian culture. I luckily met a woman that had just completed this cultural exchange program and she highly recommended it. The family at Chandra Niwas welcomed me completely into their lives. They made me feel like part of the family. My room was wonderful, the food was amazing, the excursions were fascinating and the people were so kind, generous and patient. I feel privileged to have been involved in this program.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandra Niwas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandra Niwas Homestay

Address: 43 / 44 Shanti Niketan Colony | Bedla-Badgaon link road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandra Niwas Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ehi-Passika "come and experience" Buddha used to use this phrase when explorers used to ask about the beauty of his teaching. We are using this to welcome you all to come and experience our humble hospitality. Chandra Niwas is a simple homestay accommodation with basic rooms and bathroom fittings. It is our house which has been converted into a homestay for those who are interested in staying in the non touristy area. Most of all it is a place for socially responsible travelers and for those who are interested in getting to know our rural education initiatives. Located in a peaceful non-touristy neighborhood, Chandra Niwas provides guests with a unique opportunity to experience real Indian life and culture. This is not your average impersonal, commercial hotel in the middle of the touristy area. This is a Homestay into which you will be warmly welcomed and given personal attention to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome those guests with an interest in exploring the local community and a desire to escape the hassles and touts that plague touristy areas. Part of the revenue generated from the Homestay is invested in a grassroots non-profit organization, providing education to rural youth. In all our rooms you will find wall-hangings and bed covers made by local village artists. We have many other local arts and crafts on display in the communal area, which guests may purchase if they wish. In addition, all of our staff are employed from local villages and trained for future employment in the hospitality industry. Most rooms have WiFi, and all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with 24 hours hot water. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area where free internet access and WiFi is available. You may also eat on the roof-top, overlooking the organic vegetable garden, and home-cooked lunches and dinners are available upon request. We also have a small library created by past travelers, including travel books, novels, and DVDs. Your hosts, Dr. Samvit Audichya and his hospitable family will personally assist you in planning your days in Udaipur, depending on your interests and length of stay. The hosts will also gladly take care of your transport needs and help you with onward travel arrangements (all at no extra cost). We genuinely enjoy helping our guests! We are a ten minute drive from the city center (4 kms) and walking distance to many stores, restaurants and a pharmacy.During your stay at Chandra Niwas you will have the opportunity to see Udaipur not just through the eyes of a tourist, but through the eyes of a local. Chandra Niwas Homestay is best suited for mid budget travelers who wish to stay away from the touristy old town and wishes to experience the true Indian Home experience. Dr. Audichya has been connected with travel, hospitality, business and social work for the last six years and is now connecting them both. Chandra Niwas welcomes the guests to visit our village development projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chandra Niwas Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandra Niwas Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.