We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to stay in Udaipur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chunda Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chunda Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Chunda Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Haridas Ji Ki,Magri Main Road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best Place to stay in Udaipur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Exceptional place to stay in Udaipur. From the moment we checked-in to our departure was just luxury! The hotel is well located and the staff go out of their way to make you comfortable. Mr. Arbind Kumar Prasad, Assistant Front Office Manager, checked us in and we were given a palatial room - the ambience is just mind-blowing! He was extremely efficient and polite and courteous and together with Mr. Vaibhav Ameta, Senior Front Office Associate, ensured that we were treated like royalty. We are checking out very early tomorrow morning but nothing is any trouble for the staff - we will have breakfast to carry at 4.30 in the morning! This hotel has absolutely stunning artwork and facilities. We are sad that we could not stay longer but will definitely like to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    85
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
88
94
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

superb place to stay in udaipur .it is a traditional palace with modern amenities and great works of art . rooms are palatial and each bathroom has an inbuit jacuzzi . the roof top swimming pool is great place to unwind . gret view from terrace of entire surrounding lakes . food is superb . the hotel is centrally located .

Room Tip: take a room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Chunda Palace left us with ambivalent feelings about the property. The hotel is located in a quiet area not too far from the city centre, has amazing views from the terrace esp. in the evenings & serves delicious food. We also got an upgrade to a huge suite which was terrific.

Some might find the decor nice but we found it a bit kitschy & over the top. The food in the restaurant is really pricey. Though delicious, this makes it difficult if you want to have most meals at the hotel during a longer stay. One of the waiters was really rude to us and ruined our mood for the day. The hotel definitely needs to better the service levels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed over here at chunda palace as I already had stayed with this property,this is just a marvelous hotel by location,by infrastructure, by management, by staff and above all its food, when i had the food at restaurant once i thought that I must met to chef( as I also run a small chain of restaurant)but I some how i could not met with the chef as he was busy in the preparation of food.when next day in the dinner I ordered for brownie, the server took the order and after a couple of minutes he refused that sorry sir we don't have brownie it was just irritating for me because my wife is very fond of brownie.after more a couple of minute he came to us and request only for 5 to 8 minutes and told me that our chef is making fresh brownie for you, I just surprised and asked him "if you are jocking with us" how is it possible to make brownie in 5 minutes, I know very well that how much time it takes to make.you can't believe what happened, exactly after 7 to 8 minutes I got the freshly made brownie on my dining table, I were just surprised to see it on the table it was so yummy to eat, it was the best brownie I ever had in my life, I could not stop myself to met with the chef I met the chef who made the brownie, I hope his name is chef tyagi, I wanted to carry him with me but, for a while I thought that its not good to steal someone's man, but I wish him all the best in his future...thank u chef....thank u chunda palace for make our stay most memorable ever.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A great treat fpor those who wish to experience the hospitality of Rajasthan ! Regal,royal surroundings,large rooms in the ancient style an excellent swimming pool and easy access to transport.The living room is wonderful and one can spend a lot of time admiring all the decorations.Gracious hospitality and food in the Rajput style.Good for those who want to experience Rajasthan on a reasonable budget !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We chose Chunda on not getting a booking at Trident. And thank god that this happened to us. Mind blowing interiors, we could spend hours only exploring the royal interior designs of Chunda Palace. Rooms was spacious, very comfortable, meticulously cleaned and with amazing royal rajasthani interiors. Bathroom was even better with jacuzzi and marble fittings. There were 2 swimming pools. Terrace restaurant threw an exquisite romantic setting at night. Breakfast was of good quality and had enough variety. Bar was relaxing and royal. Only negative was the view from room. In fact there was no view at all. Staff was very courteous. Perfect for those who wants to have a feel a rajasthan royalty without spending a fortune. Recommended completely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at Chunda Palace in September 2013 just for a night, with friends. The hotel has nice Rajasthani-style architecture. We stayed at the Palace Room and were quite pleased with it. The room was huge, clean, and decorated very colourfully. The bed was also really big and we had a nice spacious sitting area in a windowed alcove which doubled as an extra bed. The bathroom was again really big with twin basins, and had a "jacuzzi" that was unfortunately leaking. The hotel sent someone to fix this however, it was leaking again the next day.
The roof-top restaurant here serves good food and the morning buffet was really nice. There was a lot of choice, both, Indian and continental.
The staff is courteous and always ready to help.
My friends and I had a problem locating the hotel though. We had to pass through some really narrow and crowded streets, kept losing our way, and no one seemed to know of the hotel. So, if you're driving to Chunda Palace, I'd recommend you call them in advance and ask for directions.
One last important thing: this hotel is located away from Lake Pichola and the hustle and bustle of Udaipur. This can be a pro or a con depending on how you see it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki,Magri Main Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 120 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace belongs to one of the noble house from the Mewar kingdom. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace, Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region. Our mission is to provide authentic hospitality to our guests, interiors embroidered with hand painted walls & ceiling depicting the rich art work of the region, intricate painting made out of natural colours, bone inlay art work and beautifully crafted artifacts create an ambiance of regal splendor. Splendid architecture inspired by the palaces of Rajasthan present a picture of magnificence. The palace took 16 years to get the beautiful architecture and the royalty which fascinates all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chunda Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.