We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay & Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chunda Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chunda Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Chunda Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Haridas Ji Ki,Magri Main Road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay & Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Of my 3 weeks of touring India, the Chunda Palace is my most favorite!! This is a fairy tale hotel. The rooms are fit for a king and each floor had wonderful reception areas to meet if you were with a group. Everything is fresh & clean. The artwork is spectacular. There's free WiFi in the room.

The rooftop dining is breathtaking and the food is excellent... made to order even if you request NOT spicy like I did. The included breakfasts are great.

The staff in all areas were so friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    96
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
104
110
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was great wonder to stay at chunda palace udaipur
The location is excellient , true ambience of rajasthani culture
Excellent food , we enjoyed here 2 swiming pools , one indor and one is at roof top
With restaurant , having dinner at roof top is pleasure, cooprating sraff
front office manager mr arvind welcomed us and was behaving just like a family member
Rest all staff is very nice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was my second visit to Udaipur, and the stay at Chunda was suggested by a colleague.Top of the mind, its a great place to be at and relax. Specially the terrace during night.The open air dining area just next to the swimming pool gives one a lovely view of the city palace and lake.The hospitality of the staff is outstanding. Rooms are big enough and comfortable too depicting old architecture. And to top it all the food served is awesome. Though the place is a little outside of main city and a taxi/cab is must, the overall experience was quite nice and warm.
Cheers!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

For me this was a first time in India and also a first time in a palace hotel. After Jaipur and Agra Udaipur felt more pleasant and calm city. Actually Chunda Place is not a real old palace but some kind of new building with old Indian style. I found it little bit kitschy way to do things. Perhaps not all people think that way. It tries to be some kind of upscale place but it really is not. However the room was spacious and decorated with very Indian style. Everything worked well but the view from the room was dull (empty plot full of trash). The breakfast offered quite wide variety of Indian food and the restaurant located on the top of the building. If I ever visit Udaipur second time (which is not likely) will stay in Oberoi or Trident which are next the Chunda Palace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Pulling up to Chunda Palace, I felt a bit like a movie star. It was an oasis in the desert of backpacking I'd been doing for the past two weeks. As Udaipur was the last stop on my Rajasthan tour, we thought we'd splurge on a bit of luxury. We were not disappointed.

We were welcomed in reception with leis, a cold cloth for face and hands and a beautiful glass of fruit juice. After a quick check in, we were shown through the opulent and beautifully hand painted hotel to our complimentary upgraded suite. Every little girl's princess dream came true when I walked in. Fit for a princess!

The next two days was filled with wonderful hospitality, great food, amazing service and the constant feeling that I was an appreciated member of the family. The pool facilities are amazing complimented by vast and inspiring views of the entire area. I am leaving feeling refreshed, and a little bit like royalty!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After a few weeks traveling on a budget in Rajasthan we decided to spurge a little in the beautiful city of Udaipur. What a hotel!

Right when we arrived we were welcomed in style with wreaths, a cold towel, orange juice, cookies, and a free upgrade to their Palace suite!

The hotel is based on old Mewari architechture and is designed like a maharajas palace of old. The fixtures and fittings are beautifully arranged and feel like they are in tone with the style of the palace.

The staff are curtious, friendly, and very attentive. You feel like you are the only guest in the palace.

The palace isn't cheap by Indian standards but if you want to feel like a movie star for a respectable budget then this is the place in Rajasthan.

I could not reccomend them highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is an amazing hotel. Excellent rooms, great service, and a perfect location. The rooftop views are jaw-dropping as is the setting for the open-air dining. A true palace. We recommend it most highly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki,Magri Main Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chunda Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.