We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chunda Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chunda Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Chunda Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Haridas Ji Ki,Magri Main Road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from our son's wedding. We took a brave decesion in hosting the wedding in India as it was a first in the family but need not have worried! Abhinav Singh -COO and his team were simply stunning! They went out of their way to give us a wedding to remember. Nothing was impossible for them.

All the guests- we had some high clabire guests- had a fantastic time and truly memorable experience.

The hotel is truly unique. It was built sixteen years ago as a traditional Mewari Palace with mordern facilities. The traditional exteriors of the palace are complemented by the interior spaces which are hand painted in the Mewari style. Each room is unique and is furnished with local fabrics and traditional wooden, sliver and bone-inlay furniture. Some of the rooms are so hughe they could easily sleep ten people!

Suituated on a small hill on the western banks of the famous Lake Pichola and close to Udai Villas and Trident Hotels, Chunda provides spectular views of the lake. The rooftop terrace and the resturant on the fifth floor provides breathtaking sunsets views.

If you looking for a small boutique and an unusual hotel this is the one for you.!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Chunda Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We thank you for your kind words and appreciation. We are glad that the family and friends enjoyed the Wedding at Chunda Palace. It was pleasure having you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    96
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
104
110
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I do not want to comment on the quality of rooms, as I have not stayed there. I had an opportunity to enjoy a dinner at their roof top restaurant recently. The ambience is great and food quality is amazing. No doubt, it will offer you a scintillating view of the beautifully lit Palaces and lakes. But the saddest part is that once you order your food they will never serve you till you are really hungry and angry!! It took them nearly one and half-hours to serve us despite of repeated requests. We felt as if the chef dozed off soon after our order has been placed!! Another guest just started yelling at the poor waiter just for the bills, who in turn started running like a fox out of cage!! Use their restaurant only if you have plenty of time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Chunda Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you, unfortunately your visit to Chunda Palace was on the day when whole of city had the peak rush because of Diwali Holidays. The delay must have been because of houseful situation. In regular days, we are sure of the prompt services.

Do give us an opportunity to have you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchley, North London, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this very unusual hotel for just one night on October 28,2012 and wish we had spent longer during our week long golden triangle tour.
Although we arrived early in the morning our room was ready and we could have a shower and breakfast before beginning our tour of Udaipur.The staff were very helpful and there was free internet...the only hotel during our tour and subsequent week in goa which offered this.
Our room with its four poster bed was very unusual and it took a bit of getting used to closing the double doors to the room and locking with a padlock. Other reviewers have described the hotel and rooms accurately.
The rooftop was a fabulous location to sit out and also have dinner. The food was delicious in the restaurant and the location overlooking the lake was stunning.
I would recommend this hotel if you want unusual decor and great views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TME_Hotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Chunda Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for the appreciation, we love to see our Guests happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 26th-28th October with family in historic suit. The suit is exclusively designed like a king's bedroom. It had an open terrace also. The decor, ambience, roof-top pool and restaurant with a view of Lake Pichhola were fabulous. Stay here and feel like a king.

Room Tip: Historic and Heritage suits are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We ate every evening in our Hotel With food that we shall never forget. As we sat on the balcony awaiting dinner the Dragon flies were buzzing around like tiny helicopters lighting up the sky.
The evening meal accompanied by the stunning views made the whole experience unforgetable.
My wife Glenda wanted to take a cookery course in the city. Upon hearing of this the Executive Chef Arun Bhardwaj arrived at our table and invited Glenda to join him and his other Chef's in the kitchen at 9.30 am where glenda learnt all about cooking and making Indian sauces.
The hotel is without doubt the best and most freindly hotel we have ever stayed in.
The reason we think that it is called Chunda Palace is that the ambience and interior are the closest you will come to a real palace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at chunda palace for two nights,this place is a great example of rajasthani art and hospitality. People say that the art work that was done 200 years ago cannot be done in today's world this place is a contradicting example to all the people who have said this, if you want to experience the luxury of staying in a palace with grand rajasthani hospitality then chunda palace is the place to stay. The restaurant on the terrace has a grand view of the beautiful pichola lake and the food is just awesome, i tried continental as well as indian cuisine and both were just too good.
The rooms are grand and spacious the bathrooms are even bigger and equipped with jacuzzi tubs and huge rain showers. The housekeeping and room service was just perfect to match the standards of any grand 5 star or 7 star hotel, when i returned to the room in the evening i found some cookies wonderfully displayed in the room they were scrumptious, the beds were well made and very comfortable.
I will recommend chunda palace to anyone travelling to udaipur because this place is a grand palace with all the modern facilities and is very inexpensive compared to all the 5 star luxury hotels that are there in udaipur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

friends the most remarkable thing about this hotel is its plush interior with rich ambience, u feel like u r in a palace the rooms swanky,its got beautiful terrace top pool with a great restaurant and a top notch bar by the side u can have a very romantic dinner on the terrace out in the open.the whole hotel reminds u of the golden era gone by with its old and authentic furniture
paintings and colorful walls .friends this is a true heritage hotel right next to trident with a great location so don't miss it.i wish to thanks his highness(the owner) and all the staff for making my holiday memorable.regards khyaman

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chunda Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunda Palace Hotel

Address: 1 Haridas Ji Ki,Magri Main Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chunda Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chunda Palace being among one of the noble houses from the Mewar kingdom organizes the grand royal weddings to suit the requirements of guests from India and overseas. We have the best Destination Wedding venue in Udaipur overlooking Lake Pichola with scintillating view of the beautiful Palace of the King of Mewar and Jag Mandir. Conceived as a traditional Rajasthani palace with royal grandeur makes it an ideal wedding destination. Chunda Palace showcases the rich heritage of the Mewar region with a mission to provide authentic hospitality to our guests and create an ambiance of regal splendor. Enjoy the beautiful architecture, soft accents and decor; along with the royalty which fascinates all the guests throughout the wedding ceremonies and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Chunda Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chunda Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.