We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic horse riding safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krishna Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Krishna Ranch to your Saves list
Krishna Ranch
Village Hawala, Badi-Hawala Road, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 181 Udaipur B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic horse riding safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We did a 4 day horse riding trek with Dinesh and his team from Udaipur to Kumbhalgargh, which was truly stunning. The horses were supremely well trained, the villages and countryside that we rode through were stunning and the food/camp organisation was faultless. Dinesh was a charming host, who was great to talk to by the campfire and went out of his way to take us to remote and unique places. This was a truly special experience - the highlight of India for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here overnight and had a wonderful 28 hours. Our trip was organised by Francine from Kumbha Palace hotel. We do not ride but enjoyed the walks round the local villages it is so peaceful. The cottages are spacious and the food really good. We would have stayed longer but not we did not have enough time. Although it is only a few miles from Udaipur you feel far away

Room Tip: All good and have their own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at Krishna Ranch twice. I came back to the ranch at the end of my traveling in India, just to relax and be away from the life on the road. The ranch is very well kept and very peacful.
I love to just relax and read books while I am there. A few times I walked to Tiger-lake, an easy 2 kilometer stroll in lovely country-side. The cottages are comfortable and very clean.
I can highly recommend Krishna Ranch to everyone who wants to explore India outside the big cities. The ranch is run by people who love and respect animals and nature. Dinesh(the owner) is a true horse-lover and takes care of his horses with love and passion.
I have to mention lovely Narani who is looking after the guests at the ranch. An excellent cook and she was serving my meals always with a happy smile. Nice to see women working in a guesthouse. Didn’t see that a lot in India.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I really wanted to experience horse riding whilst in Udaipur so when Krishna ranch was recommended I thought we would give it a go.
We received a lovely warm welcome by Dinesh on our arrival and immediately there was a sense of calm at the ranch. The horses were in immaculate condition and the ranch itself was beautiful and well maintained.
We went out on a two hour ride and what a fantastic way to experience local life. We stopped for a break at one point and Dinesh walked us around the village giving us information about the way the locals lived.
My only regret is that i did not stay longer!!! I am already planning my return and this time will take the opportunity of staying at the ranch.
Thank you Dinesh for one of my happiest memories of my travels in India. Mel xxx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is really a great place to stay far away from the noise of the city. The horses are beautiful and the countryside is well suited to nice trekking. Special mention for breakfast, healthy and very tasty ...simply perfect. We really enjoyed our stay in Krishna Ranch and the owner and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I spent Christmas 2011 at Krishna Ranch, staying for four days and doing two rides. It's so unusual to find anywhere peaceful in India, and the Ranch was a welcome change from the normal hustle and bustle. The horse riding was good and the accommodation and food at the Ranch excellent. Thank you Dinesh and Francine for helping us have a peaceful end to 2011, and particularly thanks to the staff at the Ranch, and of course to Manza, Paris and Bisli (the horses we rode), without whom the trip wouldn't have been complete.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Dinesh Jain's Krishna Ranch for two nights, at the beginning and the conclusion of a four day horse riding safari. The Ranch itself is beautifully kept and a breath of fresh air compared to the noise which is a part of Indian city life. My husband and I chose to incorporate the horse ride as a part of our honeymoon in Rajasthan, and it became the absolute favourite part of our trip.

Dinesh's horses are very well cared for and extremely fit. His rides take you through beautiful scenery, from farmland to desert-scapes. Accommodation on the ride is very comfortable, sturdy tents, with comfy camp beds and snug quilts and blankets.

The Marwari horses are a treat for any horse lover or new rider to experience, however, if you are used to the riding protocols of the 'West' be prepared that not quite so much instruction is provided throughout the ride (although Dinesh is very attentive to safety). I rode a stallion throughout the trip, which greatly surprised me, but as it turned out, this horse was sweet, sensible, responsive, and very tolerant of traffic, noises etc.

On the whole, the ride felt like a rejuvenating adventure. The vegetarian food is absolutely delicious and you will never go hungry. You really get a sense that you are seeing India off the beaten track, and I think Dinesh takes great pride in showing visitors the aspects of rural life which he loves and the beautiful landscape with which he is so familiar.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krishna Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krishna Ranch

Address: Village Hawala, Badi-Hawala Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DISCOVER RURAL INDIA! The Krishna Ranch is an excellent place for everyone who wants to get away from India's busy cities and discover rural India. The ranch is located at a very peaceful spot in the Arravali mountains, just 7 kilometers out of Udaipur city. The Krishna Ranch is not a typical resort, but a living farm with 14 beautiful Marwari horses, many other animals and lush fields with a variety of crops. The cottages at the ranch are clean and spacious, nicely decorated with regional handicrafts. We serve excellent vegetarian meals, mostly prepared from vegetables grown at our ecological farm. The ranch is a great starting point for short walks and bicycle rides to the surrounding villages which you can visit on your own. We will provide a simple map of the area and packed lunches for a pick-nick on the way are available. Guided treks to the remote parts of the Arravali-mountains are also possible.The beautiful and peaceful ranch is of course also a place to just sit back and relax. There is a small library with books and games.Roomrates include breakfast and pick up from Udaipu-city at the start of your stay and drop off at the end of your stay. The main activity organized by Krishna Ranch are professionally guided horse-safaris through the beautiful Arravali mountain-range. There are possibilities for everyone: from beginners to experienced riders, from 2,5 hours to 10 days! Of course all our horses and other animals are very well looked after by us and our dedicated staff. Rides can also be booked if you don't stay at the ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Krishna Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krishna Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.