We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness Untamed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranthambore National Park

Ranthambore National Park
Sawai Madhopur, India
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Group tours/safari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wildlife sanctuary is famous for its population of tigers, a 1000-year-old fort and a rich diversity of flora and fauna.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wilderness Untamed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you love to have a feel of jungle in its pristine and un-touched form then you shall surely love Ranthambore National Park. Although its famous for presence of tiger but that's not guaranteed but still the presence of 2 lakes plus numerous water bodies in driving tracks will definitely entice you. We took 3 safaris but didn't saw any tiger but saw beautiful birds, countless deer and antelopes.

But the most enjoyable and memorable experience for ones senses is definitely the wilderness, scattered trees, golden bushes and the divine feeling of being with the jungle in its raw nature. One cannot escape the thought of how marvelous the whole eco system is. Water flowing in stone littered streams, trees visible in mist, twines of age old trees covering ground, birds around you without the fear of sudden attack, deer roaming with their foals. Its a place where you forget about the urban concrete and life less cities and let yourself go lost in the magic of mother nature.

After from aesthetic aspect the whole park functions in systematic manner although the slight drawback of not being able to choose the zone (total 6) you wish to see. The guides/ naturalists seemed well informed and courteous.

Overall I will put it this way that Ranthambore national park or jungle as I call it is in itself is a place to discover and if you sight a tiger then consider it as bonus !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    368
    164
    92
    45
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We went on 2 safaris during our stay in Ranthambore & were told by numerous people at the hotel the evening before; that unless your safari takes you to Zones 2-4, then the likelihood of seeing tigers is slim. We went to zones 1 & 5 & were left very disappointed not to see tigers. We booked our safaris through the online system, however it’s totally pot luck as to what vehicle you get allocated & into which zones you will go. I would suggest if you have time to try & sort the safaris out when you get there. People we met had paid $100 & were taken straight to the areas populated with tigers………Obviously this is a higher price to pay but better to pay & guarantee seeing these wonderful animals, rather than leaving disappointed like we were.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good tiger sightings compared to most national parks in India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Things have become more systematic with an Online Booking System in place by Ranthambore Rajasthan wildlife in charge of arranging the safaris. The only drawback being that u may land up revisiting the same route a couple of times which could get monotonous, n dull, with similar inhabitants n the area. Wild animal sightings are in abundance, but the chance of seeing a Tiger are high, compared to other parks. We had a treat, spotting a 2.5 years old tiger, preying on a village cow, unafraid of humans, and entirely focused on keeping his prey away from prying eyes. Pick up n drop facilities are included in the canter n jeep safaris. Beware the cold wet seats of an open canter, for morning safaris..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More than Bengal Tigers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Tiger sighting is not guaranteed. Went on three drives, saw a tiger on only one of them. Enjoy the other animals and birds.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A must visit. Visit in early morning and evening. The serene and calm of the jungle is out of this world.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranthambore National Park also viewed

Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
 
Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Ranthambore National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranthambore National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.