We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranthambore National Park

Ranthambore National Park
Sawai Madhopur, India
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Group tours/safari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wildlife sanctuary is famous for its population of tigers, a 1000-year-old fort and a rich diversity of flora and fauna.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I think the only activity to do while you are in Ranthambhore is to go on a jungle safari. There will always be people around you who would suggest which zone to go for. Do not give a ear to them. Each zone is unique in its own way and wildlife sighting happens in each zone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    368
    164
    92
    45
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“to see or not to see a tiger ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited in December and had booked 5 jeep safaris. We wanted to "make sure" to see those tigers but things are quite unpredictable (and deep down we knew it, too).

We were assigned to zones 1, 5, 2 and 3 and with the exception of zone 1 all were nice and interesting enough, just not for that many game drives. It was a total of some 15 hours after all. We were with the same guide on all the tours and he was very experienced and anxious to spot "the tiger" for us. Then again there are said to be 40 tigers in the park (maybe 5 more just outside) but with only 20% of the park being open for visitors only some 10 tigers will be "visible" at all. That is, if you are lucky enough.

On the 1st trip we were in a jeep with a French couple who hat spotted a tiger on the road during a trip on one of those terrible and noisy canter trucks driving around the park. Quite lucky. On the 2nd trip we saw the shades of a leopard crossing the way ahead of us. The next day a tiger was spotted in exactly the zone we were in, however not from our vehicle. We returned to the same zone for the afternoon drive but all we got to see was deer and peacock and monkeys. We saw tiger footprints twice on the tours but this is about as close as we got.

Main difference to the game reserves I had seen in Southern Africa is that you almost always get to see some exciting animal there, be it an elephant, a lion, a cheetah or a giraffe. In Ranthambore the guides do not communicate over radio - they say it's not "natural" - but anyone who'd been on a safari in Africa knows it's both natural and helpful. Ranthambore Park is nice and calm and beautifully clean, all of which is exceptional in India. For its wildlife, however, it isn't interesting enough to justify a long trip from Europe and go on more than 2 or 3 safaris. Unless, of course, you are keen on seeing "the same old deer" over and over.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No tigers, but amazing experience nevertheless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Didn't see any tigers, but still loved every second of it. Make sure you have a warm jacket with you as it can get quite cold, even better if you have some wool blankets. Had the chance to see so many animals really close to us, but just the flora itself would do it. My hotel booked everything for me, so I had no problems in getting the tickets for the park. Oh, and they charge an extra 400 INR in case you wanna take a video camera with you.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Natures Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Reached Sawai madhopur at noon, had lunch and were all set for safari at 2. reached national park at 3:00 pm. Once we entered the park, excitement started building but were not sure of sighting a ticket since there were other 4 couples who were going for there 2nd or 3rd safari hoping to see one. Never the less the journey is beautiful and picturesque.
Went on zone 3 and to our luck we did sight the ticket. rather a tigress as informed by our guide.
Cars (canter / gupsy). This tigress was so fearless and proud of herself as if she knew that its her show and she's the queen who every body want to see.

She walked for few seconds and sat for around 2 minutes as if she wanted hew admirers to praise her. slowly stood up and walked past between the cars to other side. and vanished in to the bushes.
Thrilled and felt accomplished but not content as wanted see more of her.

Its worth every penny spent.

Tip:
1. A good camera a must
2. Head gear to protect from Cold and hot weather.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Rugged and picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had three safaris and saw a tiger on every one. Brilliant. There is plenty of other wildlife too. The park is split into 5 zones and on each safari your tour is allocated a zone to go searching for tigers and wildlife.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranthambore National Park also viewed

Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
 
Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Ranthambore National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranthambore National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.