We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmatchable Hospitality & Grandeur of Rajputs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sardargarh Heritage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sardargarh Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sardargarh Heritage Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   | Sardargarh, Rajsamand 313330, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rajsamand
new york
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unmatchable Hospitality & Grandeur of Rajputs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The sleepy town was around 60 odd kms from Udaipur and was an interesting little place. The Sardargarh Heritage Hotel was booked as our stay for 2 nights and 3 days. We arrived via the nearest railway station of Kankroli in the morning and the car picked us up from there.. Antilog Vacations booked our trip to Udaipur/Rajasthan via a detour through Rajsamand.Booking through an Indian agent turned out to be a wise choice as rates were almost half & I could change the schedule as per my wishes acutely and precisely as I wanted
The location of Sardargarh is stunning and coupled with its lofty interiors and gardens it revived the artistic heritage aspect of the resort. A swimming pool welcomed us at the entrance which was flanked by the reception area on the sidelines. The pool had nice loungers by the side of it and the crew was serving juices and mocktails for the people lazing on them. That turned out to be one of the nice spots to spend our time over the next couple of days.
Our room was huge in area and had a large sitting area at the entrance of the door. A cove window adjoined the large Belgian mirror by the bed and the view over the steeple by the window was excellent too. Another interesting feature was that of a window bench, kept by the windows which was accommodating enough for the two of us and lying on them we gazed at the varieties of chirping birds in the afternoon and collections of stars in the night!! The big bathroom at the opposite end of the drawing room was also neatly built and well maintained which added to the overall aesthetic beauty of the room.

The food and variety of dishes on offer was top notch and thus the Sardargarh Heritage Hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    11
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
18
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a big travelling day we arrived at this wonderful restored fort. We were welcomed into the fort with a lovely welcome and flower petals. We were taken to our room which was beautifully appointed and huge. You are a captive audience in this hotel as the local village is very poor but the locals are so friendly. The food and beers were expensive but we didn't mind as everything was so lovely. It was incredibly hot and the pool was lovely. The owner and his wife were friendly and lovely to chat with. On our last night after a jeep trip around the local villages a lovely dinner we were invited by the owner to go into the village for a pre wedding party. We were welcomed as long lost friends by the local people and the memory will live with us for ever.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC is working properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Sardargarh is a genuinely beautiful fort that's been lovingly restored by Mahipal and his lovely wife, Savitri.

From the moment we walked in, we felt we were in a special place. The small courtyard as you enter is filled with flowers and gives on to a lovely deck on one side that overlooks the lake below and where a delicious breakfast is served. You walk through another gate and enter a second, larger, courtyard around which the suites are arranged. There's a pillared "baradari" or pavilion in the centre of the courtyard where we were served chilled beers and a fabulous biryani for lunch.

We were in suite # 15 which has a great lake view. Our friends were in suite # 8 which has three rooms with views on three sides. There are 21 suites set around a beautiful green courtyard and since the fort is situated at a height each of the suites has a lovely view of the countryside. The swimming pool's set in another courtyard and looks very nice, but the water was too cold for us to take a dip even at the end of March.

Mahipal drove us to the "paal" or the wall by the lake where we saw a gorgeous sunset as two fishermen's boats hauled a net across the lake.

Dinner was on the terrace overlooking the central courtyard, and it was delicious! It's the attention to detail that sets Sardargarh apart. Pre-warmed plates for dinner, a pressurised water supply for a great shower and sensitive hosts who anticipate your very need.

The only thing to watch out for are the many levels within the courtyard. Even though there are signs saying "Mind your step" wherever you have a different level, you're so enchanted by the place that you tend to walk around with your head in the air! My wife did just that and took a nasty tumble. Midway into our trip, I was worried we might have to cut it short.

But Mahipal seems to have a solution for everything. Jalam, the gentle giant was summoned from the village and he tenderly massaged my wife's wrists and and ankle and got her back on her feet again - rustic Rajasthani physiotherapy works!

Sardargarh was truly one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Each of the suites is unique and each one has its own charm. You can't get a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Right from the traditional welcome, to the beautiful and spacious suites, the sunny outdoor deck for breakfast, the well manicured gardens, the tranquil swimming pool & dinner on the rooftop ... it was one enchanting experience !! Managed with great personal care by very gracious hosts who make it a point to see to it that all needs are looked after. You must request Mahipal to take you to the river for sunset ... we were lucky to see an unforgettable sunset !! My one regret ... we stayed only 1 night ... 2 would have been better. If you are looking for a off the beaten track heritage destination ... try this one for sure

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed 25th February 2013. Arrived somewhat later than anticipated due to a long day visiting temples at Ranakpur and Kumbhalgar Fort. Journey from here longer than anticipated so hot dusty and tired when we arrived around 6.00 p.m. Greeted by traditionally dressed young ladies throwing rose petals and a "Trumpeter" Felt like royalty. Escorted immediately to our room and told we could complete formalities later. We had Room 7, beautiful, large with dressing area, lovely window seat looking out over town, excellent bathroom, superb patio with chairs, table, swing lounger. Tea and biscuits brought immediately to refresh us, and served on patio area.
Dinner in a beautiful semi open area with musicians playing, Waiter served starters and lovely varied buffet mains, waiter served desserts and coffee, Reasonably priced Indian wine. A delicious and relaxing meal. Breakfast next morning, good choice, served in an open area up on the ramparts. Walking around we saw a lovely swimming pool, which we did not get a chance to use, many intriguing rooms etc. . Only being here for one night, we did not get a chance to really sample all the delights of this lovely hotel. It is rather in the middle of nowhere but I think it would be pleasant to have a two night stay just to relax. It is managed by the wife of the current owner, a charming lady who does all she can to make your stay a delight.
There is a very good very small shop at the entrance to theFort, selling beautiful hand painted pictures etc and other things at a reasonable cost .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were recommended this by our Tour Company, Trinetra Tours. We couldn't find it on a map before our departure, yet it was one of the most spectacular stays in India. The part of the Fort that has been restored lovingly by the owners (10 generations of the same family) is an oasis. Beautifully appointed suites around a garden courtyard, swimming pool, pavilions and landscaped gardens gives you an idea of how the Warriors of hundreds of years ago lived. We were the only guests (4 of us) and felt very royal. The owners are wonderfully warm, educated people and it was a delight to be in their home.

Room Tip: I think every room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here during our recent one-month holiday in India. For the most part we stayed at Oberoi and Taj hotels and the Sardargarh Heritage Hotel was an exception. Although it is not, strictly speaking "5-star," we found it to be "first class" in every way and thoroughly enjoyed out stay. The Maharani was particularly charming and helpful and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The food was excellent particularly the somosas and beryanis we had for lunch. The aruyvedic massage was the best of the whole trip and a third the price charged by luxury hotels We will definitely return on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sardargarh Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sardargarh Heritage Hotel

Address: | Sardargarh, Rajsamand 313330, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rajsamand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sardargarh Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sardargarh Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sardargarh Heritage Hotel Rajsamand, India - Rajasthan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardargarh Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.