We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where old world meets new seamlessly !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sardargarh Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sardargarh Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Sardargarh Heritage Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rajsamand 313330, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rajsamand
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Where old world meets new seamlessly !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Right from the traditional welcome, to the beautiful and spacious suites, the sunny outdoor deck for breakfast, the well manicured gardens, the tranquil swimming pool & dinner on the rooftop ... it was one enchanting experience !! Managed with great personal care by very gracious hosts who make it a point to see to it that all needs are looked after. You must request Mahipal to take you to the river for sunset ... we were lucky to see an unforgettable sunset !! My one regret ... we stayed only 1 night ... 2 would have been better. If you are looking for a off the beaten track heritage destination ... try this one for sure

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    15
    2
    0
    7
See reviews for
20
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed 25th February 2013. Arrived somewhat later than anticipated due to a long day visiting temples at Ranakpur and Kumbhalgar Fort. Journey from here longer than anticipated so hot dusty and tired when we arrived around 6.00 p.m. Greeted by traditionally dressed young ladies throwing rose petals and a "Trumpeter" Felt like royalty. Escorted immediately to our room and told we could complete formalities later. We had Room 7, beautiful, large with dressing area, lovely window seat looking out over town, excellent bathroom, superb patio with chairs, table, swing lounger. Tea and biscuits brought immediately to refresh us, and served on patio area.
Dinner in a beautiful semi open area with musicians playing, Waiter served starters and lovely varied buffet mains, waiter served desserts and coffee, Reasonably priced Indian wine. A delicious and relaxing meal. Breakfast next morning, good choice, served in an open area up on the ramparts. Walking around we saw a lovely swimming pool, which we did not get a chance to use, many intriguing rooms etc. . Only being here for one night, we did not get a chance to really sample all the delights of this lovely hotel. It is rather in the middle of nowhere but I think it would be pleasant to have a two night stay just to relax. It is managed by the wife of the current owner, a charming lady who does all she can to make your stay a delight.
There is a very good very small shop at the entrance to theFort, selling beautiful hand painted pictures etc and other things at a reasonable cost .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were recommended this by our Tour Company, Trinetra Tours. We couldn't find it on a map before our departure, yet it was one of the most spectacular stays in India. The part of the Fort that has been restored lovingly by the owners (10 generations of the same family) is an oasis. Beautifully appointed suites around a garden courtyard, swimming pool, pavilions and landscaped gardens gives you an idea of how the Warriors of hundreds of years ago lived. We were the only guests (4 of us) and felt very royal. The owners are wonderfully warm, educated people and it was a delight to be in their home.

Room Tip: I think every room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here during our recent one-month holiday in India. For the most part we stayed at Oberoi and Taj hotels and the Sardargarh Heritage Hotel was an exception. Although it is not, strictly speaking "5-star," we found it to be "first class" in every way and thoroughly enjoyed out stay. The Maharani was particularly charming and helpful and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The food was excellent particularly the somosas and beryanis we had for lunch. The aruyvedic massage was the best of the whole trip and a third the price charged by luxury hotels We will definitely return on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manali, Himachal Pradesh, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was on a bike tour to Rajasthan and in Udaiour i could read about this incredible property in a magazine. I wanted to see it for sure and i am happy i could visit this awesome place. I don't think so there is any other place like this in the entire state of rajasthan. The service, food, ambience, hospitality, view, everything was excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad , India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to this Heritage resort on Jan 2013 , we were 16 people and had 8 rooms ,
The property is beautiful But the service was Horrible , one of the worst vacation we had in India , No words to describe about its Service , activity , Food price , activity price , and owners or managers interest in Guest comfort or their enjoyment , our 3 day vacation was wost then a visit to a Hospital , even now a days hospital offer better food then this , The rooms are very good, property is beautiful but what is the use when the management is not concern about the service , Rates for Food is really exorbitant, Not able to understand how can the management charge Rs 150/- for a lime , Timing for hot water and food service was really like a Prison , and when you order a Tea it would take 2 hrs before you will get it , we had ordered some sandwiches and it took 2 hrs to get and when it arrived it had cucumber was bitter and very old mustard was used and it smell like rotten Egg, i had ordered two diet coke and they rub off the exp date and gave me when i complained they changed it to new once ,,

No transparency of costs. No bill to sign until check out. we had asked for bills many times as we were 16 and they did not provided us with bills , we were suppose to check out at 10am , and we started asking for bills from 9am and they took more then 2 hrs to give us our copy , we were so much in hurry for "darshan" we even did not checked and just paid and left as soon as possible

No concierge services , when we asked for activity they gave us a paper which as list of some activity , THE COST of each was so high that no one would take any , but the management was not interested for us to do any activity other then offered by the hotel , There is such a nice Lake , they could put some boats and offer boating or picnic near the lake but the answer is "NO" , for activity you will here "No" more often the "Yes" , The restrictions are unthinkable ,

((if you want your kids to learn discipline send them to this hotel !!!!))

The stay was a COMPLETE LET DOWN for all of us , Would never recommend this hotel to anyone not even my "enemies" , its better to go on school trip or in stay in Hostel or admit in Hospital then going on this Resort.

Room Tip: Don't ever go to this place , everything about it is Bed , if you have to take a Lake Facing Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This marvellous Fort Hotel belongs to a prominent noble family: The Thakur of Sardargarh and is run by his son and charming wife,
It is a paradise of animal lovers, specially bird watchers. AT night they organize jeep safaris to see wild life such as panthers and wolves. Also jeep safairs to local villages to see unspoilt rural India and camel safaris can be organized.
The food is homelly and delicious and Sardargarh Fort is an oasis of tranquility. Absolutely a must when you visit Udaipur as it is only 2 1/2 hours away by car.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same standard and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sardargarh Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sardargarh Heritage Hotel

Address: Rajsamand 313330, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rajsamand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sardargarh Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sardargarh Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sardargarh Heritage Hotel Rajsamand, India - Rajasthan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardargarh Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.