We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kumbhalgarh Fort

Kumbhalgarh Fort
Rajsamand, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Rajsamand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went during the day time to Kumbhalgarh fort, and did not enjoy it at all. First of all, the upkeep is terrible. There is litter around, the weather was nasty-scorching heat and the fort has steep climb so anyone having problems to climb should give it a miss. I understand they run an evening sound and light show which is very popular amongst tourist. I couldnt see it due to lack of time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    332
    82
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Indian Great Wall... Just on your own!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Kumbhalgarth Fort is one of the most impressive site I have visited in Rajasthan: impressively set on a hilltop, this large fortress offers beautiful views of the surroundings, and of the 36 km walls that starts from here.

But more spectacular is the wall, that reminds a lot of the Chinese Great Wall, but for the fact that you have it just for yourself: we met an Indian family and 2 other couples during our visit of this place.

Definitely worth the trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Khumbalgarh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A must see place, most places are dwarfed by the beauty of this place and the temples. Every traveller going to udaipur must go to admire the scenic beauty and marvel at the man made splendour that is on display.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

this is quite a long road trip from Udaipur, but a very impressive fort. There was renovation work going on when i visited, so the wooden scaffolding, and camels carrying rocks made as much of an impression as the fort its self. There is a lovely hotel nearby where we went for lunch and dip in the pool to cool off as it can be very hot and arid.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajkot
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Kumbhalgarh fort the wall of india”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

it has very big wall of 34 km.it look like the small china wall. must visit this place it is neare to nathdwara(aprox. 25 km) and from udaipur(90 km). good view of the big wall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kumbhalgarh Fort also viewed

 
Udaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Kumbhalgarh Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumbhalgarh Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.