We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far and away better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Miller Lane, Angel Fire, NM 87710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Angel Fire
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“far and away better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

we stayed at the lodge as a part of a zip line package--after reading some of the reviews, I have to say that I wasn't expecting too much--wrong! check in was fast and friendly--room was fine, other than lighting (particularly in the bathroom)--bed and pillows were wonderful--there is no air conditioning, but at that altitude, the room was comfortable--there was a fan provided for our use, but we didn't need it--
we had dinner in one of the eateries on the 2nd floor--large selection of beers on draft--dinner servings were more than we could eat--our waitress, darla, was super--clued us in on a dessert that wasn't on the menu--key lime pie, one of our favorites, made there at the lodge--very good!!
this was a surprise for my wife, who had wanted to do a zip line--she had no idea where we were going, or what we were going to do--I hit a home run on this one!! (will do a review of the zip line, also) the package was a great value--we will do it again!

Room Tip: I made reservations a few weeks in advance, and scored a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the on-line community!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the lodge and the Zip Line.

Congratulations on the success of the surprise and I am happy to hear that you plan to return.

Happy and Safe Travels,
Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    42
    24
    27
See reviews for
64
41
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a nice mountain lodge located conveniently at the base of the slopes of Angel Fire resort. I stayed there in the summer and had close, easy access to the lift for the mountain bike park. In the winter it's just as easy to access the slopes for skiing - just walk out the door and you're there. They even let me keep my bike in my room, which was extremely convenient. The room itself is comfortable and friendly - I was in room 214. Not particularly modern, but also not in desperate need of updating. And there was a gas fireplace in the room, which could be nice. But since it was summer, I found the balcony to be a nice place to sit, and the screened sliding door allowed me to let in fresh mountain air, which was great. The room was also quite large, with lots of storage space. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the coffee shop in the lobby was convenient and served some really good breakfast options like breakfast burritos, BLTs, etc. And if you're there to mountain bike, the bike park is excellent and a lot of fun - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the on-line community. I look forward to sharing this feedback with the other venues you mentioned.

Happy and Safe Travels!
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexioc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Old and tired is the best ways to described the Angel Fire Resort Lodge. Room 436 faces an indoor pool with hardly any natural light . The lighting in the room is awful. Cabinets, decor and furniture in room is tacky . The term "resort" is a an oxymoron ...feels like a motel from the 60s. Will give kudos for the mattress. Also, nice service staff in bar. Common areas and hall ways are in need of refreshing. This resort need to improve to even measure up to solid chain like Hampton Inn. I was attend a meeting so I had no choice but staff . Would not come back Angle Fire Resort Lodge for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall not a bad place to stay as long as you are not expecting a 5 star experience. Staff was friendly and helpful especially with regards to switching rooms. Our original room was very dark and had a very nice view of some duct work overlooking some beams and the interior of the swimming pool area. I requested a different room with at least an outdoor view, which they accommodated with an additional upgrade charge. At at the small store/cafe in the lobby area, not bad but a bit pricey for what you get. My stay was part of the stay and ride package.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs and get a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the on-line community.

Guest feedback is important and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the venues you have mentioned. Hopefully you will visit us again in the near future.

Happy and Safe Travels!

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Always love staying here and the surrounding area is so beautiful. Make sure, especially if you are disabled that the front desk steers you to the correct elevator or you will end up walking the entire property to get to your room.

Room Tip: The "Grill" has great sandwiches you can pick up and take to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing information about your visit with the on-line community!

We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate constructive feedback, which helps us reach higher goals.

I do hope that you come back and visit us again, soon!

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I will admit I was a little skeptical after reading some reviews, but was pleasantly surprised at our entire experience.
PROS:
Rooms. We did request an upgraded room and it was great. Our room faced the west and we had a picture-perfect view every morning of the mountains, including Wheeler Peak. We did not have a balcony, and from what we can tell, our balcony was replaced with extra space in our room, which was so nice to have. Our room had a mini fridge and we purchased our own small microwave to bring along. I highly recommend doing that if your room does not come with one. It saved us a lot of time and $! I was nervous about the paper-thin walls that several mentioned, but we did not experience this at all. We could hear the people above us walking (infrequently) but never heard any talking.
Location. You can exit the resort on the 2nd floor and be at the base of the mountain in less than 5 minutes (I advise wearing other shoes and changing into ski boots once you conquer the MANY stairs). All services (lift tickets, rentals, etc are very compact and in close proximity to each other and the base of the mountain)
Staff. We had the best experience with the staff from front desk clerks to the housekeeping staff. They were so accommodating to us and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed.
Skiing. It was March, so all things considered, it was perfect. We had sunny skies and high temps in the 40s. Icy conditions gave way to slushy ones in the afternoons but overall the conditions were good. Ski school for the littler ones was all day. All children have a GPS system and you can see where they are and where they have been. We had a lot of fun tubing one evening as well. Remember lots of quarters if you wish to utilize the lockers/ski storage at the base.
CONS:
Rooms could use more lighting. Also, one day our room wasn't serviced until almost 5:00, and by that time the lifts were closed and we were ready to relax, so we just exchanged trash and towels and that was it. Pricey food...but it is a resort, so you have to keep that in mind! We did not eat at any of the hotel restaurants (see my other reviews on where we did eat) except for the one at the top of the Chile Express. (Hamburger was $9, Double was $14 and they tasted average; sodas $2, water $2.50). Pool and hot tub were too small for the size of the resort. But those are all minor things in my opinion.
OVERALL:
It was a great experience and we will definitely go back again. Everyone was sad to leave, and that was a sign of an excellent time. This is not a luxury resort, but who needs extensive resort luxuries when you are there to ski? It was cozy and comfortable and well worth the price.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a renovated room and get one facing west!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sorry for my delay in responding to you!

I appreciate your positive and constructive feedback, as well as, you sharing hints with the on-line community.

Here's to hoping you return again during the ski season or try the summer/fall season for a different experience!

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for Spring Break and it was a super location. The room was huge (we had paid extra for the newly refurbished ones) We had two queen beds a small table with one chair (?), a fireplace and balcony which they had not refurbished at all it was disgusting and when you opened the door it smelled of hotdogs (it was an internal balcony???). We also heard a noise like generator kick in in the early hours of the morning which was loud and annoying. I would suggest the hotel get better lighting as the room being so big was super dark. There was no microwave yet we did have a fridge (would have liked both and there was certainly the space for it!!) We ate both at the Pizza restaurant (expensive and the pizza was OK) and Chiantis which did a great meal with super service. The wifi was terrible and we could not get on the internet most nights as there was 'too many users' which was highly annoying.

Room Tip: One that has been refurbished and if you are at the back of the hotel not near the generator or air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate constructive feedback, which helps us achieve our goals.

I do hope that you come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort

Address: 10 Miller Lane, Angel Fire, NM 87710
Location: United States > New Mexico > Angel Fire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Angel Fire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers your choice of spacious rooms and suites, just steps from the Chile Express chairlift at the hub of Angel Fire, New Mexico. Each room features two queen beds-perfect for your family (or friends). Take a plunge in the indoor pool, enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub, sweat it out in the fitness center or just enjoy our free WiFi Internet access after a fun day of skiing and snowboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Fire Hotel Angel Fire
Angel Fire Ski Resort
Angel Fire Resort Hotel
The Lodge At Angel Fire Resort New Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.