We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality.. meh. Price, great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort to your Saves list
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Miller Lane, Angel Fire, NM 87710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angel Fire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality.. meh. Price, great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were floored when we heard our 4 day ski in ski out vacay was only going to cost $350 for the two of us and included our lift tickets! You really can't beat the price. It is definitely what I would consider a budget ski trip though. The rooms have everything you need, but the comforts of some of the larger Colorado ski resorts are lacking.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with another couple. Our room had a hideaway bed (you pull the bed out down off a wall). It wasn't the most comfortable sleeping arrangement on the planet, but it served it's purpose. The room had a miniature oven and range that smoked up the whole hallway when we tried to cook in it. The room has a "faux fireplace" that you can't use for whatever reason. They have dressers chained in front of them. Carpets are old and lighting was so dim I couldn't do my morning readings.
On a positive note, it is ski in ski out, so you are literally staying ON the mountain. The rental place, plus a couple restaurants are right there on sight, so convenience is there. The restaurants aren't anything to write home about and pretty pricey considering the quality.

All in all I probably won't go back to Angel Fire. I have been spoiled though with Winter Park, Breckenridge and other large Colorado resorts. As far as the skiing, I was disappointed that they advertise night skiing, but it's only on Friday and Saturdays. We went during the week so we only got half days. There are really only 2 lifts and I can count all the green runs on one hand. The blue runs were more like blacks with all the rocks and moguls. Again, there were positives.. No lift lines and friendly staff.

TO SUM IT UP:
If you're looking for a BUDGET trip, go for it. Or if you've never been skiing, you won't know the difference. My husband had a blast and can't wait to go back, but he had never been. If you've been to any of the large Colorado resorts, set expectations low. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate constructive feedback, which helps us achieve our goals.

I do hope that you come back and visit us again, soon!

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    45
    26
    27
See reviews for
70
45
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I took my family (me, wife, and two boys ages 5 and 6 1/2) over New Years from December 31st through January 4th. The room was a double queen in the non-renovated section. It was large, comfortable, with a good view of the slopes. The water was always hot and room service was prompt (considering how busy they were). The noise level was something I didn't expect, especially on New Years Eve, the doors are very loud and you can hear almost everything going on in the other room. Overall I thought the staff was very friendly, especially the front desk (Ellie with designer glasses). The dining options in the resort are not good (during our stay); with the exception of the breakfast cafe - which serves delicious coffee and cinnamon rolls the size of hubcaps. My suggestion, skip lunch and head into town for dinner (Angel Fired Pizza and Zebs). One other comment - if you have small children and plan to put them in ski school MAKE RESERVATIONS IN ADVANCE. We were told there was availablity, then denied when we got there. A suggestion would be to remind guests of this when they book their room reservation and maybe send a mailer (or two). I know its on the website, but in small print and easy to overlook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the departments you have mentioned. We are always looking at ways to improve the process and communication and you have offered a possibly solution to assist with the communication. Thank you!

I hope that you will make another trip to Angel Fire and stay with us here in the Lodge.

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The resort I thought was great itself, but there are some negatives. Lets start with the positives. First, I would have to start by saying your sleeping right next to the lifts, and ski shop. This in itself does wonders for me since you don't have to carry your rental equipment very far or travel to get to the lift. I thought the rooms were top notch, great beds, and showers both were hot and had excellent pressure. We had two rooms, which were conjoined pretty cool where we could see each other easily. So now for the negative, which is really only one thing, the food. There really was not any good places to eat around the entire city or in the actual resort itself (Legends). None of the food really was good at all, which was unfortunate for the price your paying to stay there. Great place to sleep, just expect mediocrity for food. No free breakfast here, FYI.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share you feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate constructive feedback, which helps us achieve our goals. I will make sure and share your feedback with our Food and Beverage Manager

I do hope that you come back and visit us again, soon!

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castroville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Awesome resort didnt have to wait in long lines for any of the lifts and the room was awesome. Clean and always nice and warm and the price was good. Only downside was the price of the food at the resort. Also didnt like how i couldnt get a refund for the lift ticket since they had to close them down for the day cause of wind but i guess other places might do the same. Overall an amazing trip and i will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback! It is great to read that you had an Amazing Trip and that you will be returning.

Happy and Safe Travels,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my first time to come here and man it was so much better than I expected. We got lucky with a big snow storm bringing about 6-7 fresh inches te day before we got there. So they only had about 20 runs open. But the trails were some of the best I have been on. The lifts had super short lines and the employees were all very welcoming. There just isn't much to do outside of skiing/snowboarding. Limited places to eat and hang out. Little grocery store is very nice and close. Prices were exceptional if the full mountain had been open. Should have been a discount since less than half the mountain was open.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback! It sounds like you had an enjoyable visit, which I hope translates into you returning in the future.

Happy Travels!
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We took 5 kids ranging from 11 months to 13 years and 5 adults to Angel Fire. We stayed in one of the condos closer to the bottom of the mountain. The condo was quiet and fully furnished with all the necessities. The only complaint is it got very cold in the living room
At night (but to be expected with a wall of windows and the temp dropping to -30 at night). The ski school was full and we had to pay for private one hour lessons for everyone who skiied. This did NOT include lift tickets for the day like regular ski school would...and of course regular ski school was less expensive. Private lesson=waste of money. The kids were not even shown how to use ski lift. The snow on the mountain was great...little to no ice. Food at the Village Haus was crazy expensive ($5 for a piece of pizza), but you will happily pay for the convenience. Mountain and ski shops laid out well...not a far walk anywhere. There are even shuttles if need be. If you stay in a condo, be sure to stock up before getting there as the one small grocer is proud of their stuff. Tubing was fun ($25 for hour and a half but they limit groups, so call early).
Kids had a ball, and that is what matters in the end

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the different venues. While I am not familiar with the specifics of the lesson you and your family took, I am going to share you feedback with our Director of Ski School. We do have many lodging opportunities here in the Angel Fire Resort area and I am happy that you enjoyed the unit booked for you. The couple of days that we had the -30 degree temperatures made it difficult to keep anything warm. Looks like we are in for another couple nights of -15. brrrr.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I do hope that you return to Angel Fire Resort again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Took my daughter snowboarding here and the staff was very nice, prices better than Colorado, and not overpacked. To little parking though. They have a shuttle but there is really only two shuttle stops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sorry for my delay in responding to you.
Thank you for making time to share you thoughts about Angel Fire Resort. I look forward to sharing your feedback with our mountain operations team.

Happy and Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort

Address: 10 Miller Lane, Angel Fire, NM 87710
Location: United States > New Mexico > Angel Fire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angel Fire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers your choice of spacious rooms and suites, just steps from the Chile Express chairlift at the hub of Angel Fire, New Mexico. Each room features two queen beds-perfect for your family (or friends). Take a plunge in the indoor pool, enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub, sweat it out in the fitness center or just enjoy our free WiFi Internet access after a fun day of skiing and snowboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Fire Hotel Angel Fire
Angel Fire Ski Resort
Angel Fire Resort Hotel
The Lodge At Angel Fire Resort New Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.