We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More

Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More
3400 Mountain View Blvd., suite F, Angel Fire, NM
+1 575-377-9938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Angel Fire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Got a chopped beef sandwich to go. It was loaded with meat, and smoked just the way I like it. It was a friendly place - I visited with other customers while waiting for my order. I would definitely recommend to friends.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We (John and Wendy Hail) would like to thank you for taking the time to give Holy Smoked a review, we know in our busy lives it is hard to find time.
We strive to make everyone feel welcome when you come into our restaurant, and we are excited that after a year in business, we are still achieving that great customer service that is so important to us.
We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    9
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
258 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Angel Fire's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Really, really great. I loved the Bubba Burrito, and my wife very much enjoyed her stuffed baked potato. Grilled cheese for the kids.

Expected to wait awhile for the food, but it was out in a flash! And great!

The people here are super-friendly. Prices were good. Raspberry cobbler was yummy. Have a nice little room to spread out in, and a good drink machine.

We'll make it a point to eat here every time we come to Angel Fire for sure. So glad they've moved in!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the review!
We are so glad that you had a good experience with us. We pride ourselves on being the fastest food in Angel Fire, as well as good quality food at reasonable prices.
We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We were back in town for a quick weekend trip, and I knew we had to get back here for a meal. Well, the food did not disappoint and lived up to my memory! The customer service is always wonderful. The owners are so friendly, and even remembered us from our previous trip. I highly recommend Hail's without hesitation! The food is all good, though I'm fond of the Bubba burrito with brisket & green chilies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
So glad that you decided to give us another visit! We usually remember faces, or try our best, we want everyone to feel welcomed back, like an old friend!
Glad our food and service is still living up to expectations, that is always nice to hear!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tastes like Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in Angel Fire for several days, and this was the first BBQ place we visited, outside of our native Texas BBQ places. The brisket was very moist, tender and had a nice crust and great smoked flavor. They smoke their meats on site. The side of potato salad did not have much flavor, but the beans sure did. A little pricey for what you get, but some of the best darn BBQ outside of the Great State of Texas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
John works hard on the smoking of the meats, and Wendy tries to work her own magic on the salads, and desserts, and some times comes up short. Next time you are in, give the potato salad another try, she is always tweaking her recipes.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We expected a lot from the number one ranked restaurant in Angel Fire. The brisket was really good. The sausage was sort of a standard kielbasa with no snap to the casing and very little smoke. I don’t know what the turkey was, seemed like a loaf that you get sliced for lunch meat at the grocery store that was put in a smoker just long enough to turn the outer edge gray, not to appealing. I had the baked potato with it and even that lacked the nice skin that a smoker can give if done right. Sauce was good and helped make the meal. May have just been an off day or just that we came close to closing time. Owners and staff were great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravlerNM, Owner at Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give Holy Smoked a review, we really do appreciate it. We ask anyone who reviews to give their honest opinion, and we thank you for that.
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on the day that you visited. Had you mentioned it to us at the time, we would have done everything in our power to make it right, we pride ourselves on our customer service and quality of food.
On your next visit to Angel Fire, we would like to invite you back to give us a 2nd chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More also viewed

 

Been to Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hail's Holy Smoked BBQ & More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.