We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardy meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire

Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire
3469 Highway 434, Angel Fire, NM
575-377-7011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Angel Fire
Restaurant details
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hardy meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want a hardy meal with plenty to eat try Hatcha's. The food is good, we ate lunch here two times during our visit. My husband said the green chili burger was his favorite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GEORGETOWN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were staying in Red River and drove over to Angel Fire and ate lunch at Hatcha's Grill on a rainy day. We had the green chili stew (chicken or beef or pork) and it was excellent! So were the fresh flour tortillas and sopapillas. We have had this same cuisine in five southwest states, and this was by far the best ever! I don't know how they prepare "burgers and fries" because we were there for Mexican food, not Americana food. We can tell you that the Green Chili Stew is a winner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Pretty underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Drove from Taos to this place for lunch. Not worth the effort.

Husband 's fajitas were just normal and onion rings less than average. Plus they had to re- do them as they sat on counter for 15 minutes waiting for my lunch.

Note: you order t counter. They give you a number, you take your chips/salsa and sit down. They bring you the food....eventually. We were they about 130 and it was not 1/2 full. So I don't know what the problem was.

I has a carne "stuffie". Meat was good. Chile sauce kinda flavorless.

Not sure why this place was recco'd to us. Pretty mediocre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“ours was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I see very mixed reviews. We arrived right at noon. There was a good mix of locals and tourists. We wanted simple so we ordered hamburgers ,one with home fries one with onion rings. Rings could have been better, fries were outstanding, fresh interesting buns,handmade patties,frsh lettuce onions tomato, pickle served hot hot, staff was pleasant and very busy. Sopapillas with honey as a lagniappe.
Don,t know how it could have been better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service and heartburn too”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Called on Sat to find out what time they open on Sunday and was told 8am. We arrive around 930 but the restaurant actually opens at 10 am so we had to kill time. We go over a little after 10 and people are already there ordering breakfast but there is no menu so we ask for one and lose our place in line. When we finally order, the cashier who,takes the order can not find out how to enter the order, asks someone and then answers the phone in the middle of taking our order. We have now been there 20 minutes. 30 minutes later after we place our order, our order comes and it is wrong - we order papitas not hash browns but did not want to wait for that order to be corrected. We ask for syrup with the pancakes three times and then a good 15 minutes later the waitress brings us the syrup but now the pancakes are cold. But still no tortillas so we ask about those and when she finally brings those, no butter and by that time out meal is almost done.
The chicken fried steak is battered like a rellano and it was fair at best. The green chile sauce while tasty, I was also tasting it three hours later too.
They also did not have cream for the coffee but did offer milk and the waitress did not offer us refills, we had to do that ourselves despite her walking around with the coffee pitcher at times for other tables. Will not try go back. We had heard such good things and that is why we went there there in the first place. Poorly managed and totally mis-organized.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire also viewed

 

Been to Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.