We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is just what Angel Fire needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire

Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire
3469 Highway 434, Angel Fire, NM
575-377-7011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Angel Fire
Restaurant details
Keller, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is just what Angel Fire needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We ski in Angel Fire almost every year, and although we cook in our condo most nights, we like to go out once; therefore when we heard there was a new Mexican restaurant we were excited to give it a try. We were not disappointed!! The food was excellent, many choices on the menu board and everything our party of 5 ordered was great. The tamales were the best I have ever had, anywhere! The blue corn enchiladas were wonderful and fajitas, quesadillas, and the chile rellano also got high marks from those in our party. It is a casual restaurant, order at the counter, find a place to sit and they bring your meal out. Not fancy. But who needs that after a hard day of skiing? The service was good and friendly, and this was at the end of a long, very crowded Spring Break week. I would highly recommend Hatcha's in Angel Fire and look forward to visiting again this summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Cozy Comfort food after a cold day. We ate here a couple days during our stay with our 3 small children who also loved it. It's nothing fancy at all, walk up order and sit and eat. Everything we had was good and decent priced.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Authentice Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Loved Hatcha's! I had the blue corn and shrimp tacos, which were wonderful. Hubby had beef fajitas, others tried super nachos, tacos, salads, everything was fantastic. Huge portions with family style options. Endless chips and salsa helped curve our starving kid's appetites and finishing the meal off with soft sopapillas was so nice!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“No complaints here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed at Eagle Nest for our Angel Fire ski weekend, but friends insisted it was worth the drive back to Angel Fire (after cleaning up following a day of skiing) to eat at Hatcha's. I agree. One of our group had the grilled avocado appetizer served on a bed of tortilla strips with pulled pork, she shared a bite and it was so yummy - as were the chile rellenos her husband ordered. We ordered the "safe and boring" fajitas, but they were some of the better tasting fajitas I have had in a long time. Tender, spicy beef and chicken, loads of grilled peppers - good flour tortillas, and guacamole.....mmmmm. My family we met up with were locals and all three ordered the "calabacitas" as their side to their entree. The grilled squash and corn medley made my mouth water just looking at it! Our meal ended with piping, hot, crispy outside, tender inside sopapillas - perfect!

Was truly surprised at the caliber of the food considering the order at the counter setup, and enjoyed seeing each meal come out looking better than the last. Noticed the cook tossing just "a little extra cheese" on a dish that already looked cheesy delicious. Had eaten here before when it was bar-b-q so was not really bothered by the ordering system at all. Will definitely return and try the the Hatcha's Philly (with peppers, onions, mushrooms and green chile) AND those calabacitas, AND the guacamole appetizer (a mound of guacamole on a pile of cheesy tortilla chips) - hopefully soon!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food poisoning. Enough said”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Food poisoning. Waitress was nice. The order taker was nice. Atmosphere ok

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire also viewed

 

Been to Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatcha's Grill of Angel Fire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.