We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer in business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Dorado Steakhouse
12 Crestview Dr. Ste#1N, Angel Fire, NM 87710
(575) 377-1414
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 434
Description: We have the best Mesquite Grilled Steaks in Angel Fire! You'll feel at home while savoring a great meal in our casual and relaxed dining room. In the summer you can enjoy the gorgeous sunsets on our patio! Come experience our Mesquite Grilled flavors, attentive service and our friendly, rustic atmosphere!
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No longer in business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bad location...food shortages on menu, irregular hours. Was good once upon a time, but closed now and no longer in business.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Disappointed for 120.00 dollars”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went with friends(2) that go often, know the owner and spoke well of it . The place was not to busy, it was around 8:15 pm. Since I forgot the reading glasses I ordered 1/2 order of nachos w/steak. My husband ordered the NY strip with potatoe. After 45 minutes to an hour my meal arrived, a little wait and my husbands, then our frirends. My nachos appeared to have had the cheese melted and then sat aside, then the steak added, I could not remove a chip it was glued togethed. My husband ordered his steak medium rare. The steak was close to done(no wonder, it was very thin), most places use this for sandwiches. He sent it back and again we waited, everyone was finished when his was brought back. We decided on a carryout. I removed the steak from mine with my hands to add to the box, my fingers were covered in grease. This place recieves fairly good reviews, maybe because there is not much choice. We did warm-up my husbands steak for lunch the next day, so all was not lost. Even if this was more reasonably priced we will not return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Come here every time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We come to Angel Fire at least twice a year and always have at least one meal here. They have never disappointed us. Excellent menu items and their specials have been delightful. The Chicken Fried Steak was the best I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A nice option for a steat dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A real nice place in a off the road shopping mall. Family owned and ran, the service was very good and food excellent. My steak was cooked perfectly rare! Prices run on par with a high end steak place which this place shoots for but slightly misses. They were out of a few items which was a little frustrating but overall a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“This place would be pretty good if it weren't so pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Pros: decent atmosphere. Very southwestern and pretty fun. You can throw peanut shells on the floor which was great for my kids.

The iced tea was fantastic, which is a must at a Texas-style steakhouse.

Our server was friendly.

I had a party of 8 and it was easy to get into.

CONS: The biggest one is that my steak was WAY overcooked. I ordered it medium and it was basically well done. Way too tough. Others at my table also ordered medium and a couple were correct. One ended up coming out medium rare. Very inconsistent grilling. The flavor was good, but it was overshadowed by the poor doneness. The server never asked us to cut into them to look or anything. I would have expected this at a place as expensive as this. But that did not happen.

As I said, the server was friendly, but she wasn't attentive enough. The meal was unnecessarily slow considering we were the only ones in the restaurant for most of the time.

If they bring their prices down, they might have a decent place. But as it is, I probably won't go back anytime soon.

Stick with the Roasted Clove. For a comparable price, it's in a completely different category as the El Dorado.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.