We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sunset Grille
10 Five Springs Rd, Angel Fire, NM 87710
575-377-6681
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 restaurants in Angel Fire
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican
Restaurant details
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stopped for lunch and drinks here after ziplining. Our zip guide recommended the place, but he must have never eaten here! Five of us and each was dissatisfied with our food, which was subpar and served lukewarm. Two ordered a specialty drink that was supposed to taste like a dreamsicle for zipliners, but it was not palatable. To top it off, service was slow. The only plus is location. Maybe it's better in ski season with more staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    13
    20
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ate here over the Labor Day weekend with family. Variety of food made it easy for everyone to order something that they liked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don't be misled by the sign outside that says "fine food", it's bar food. Fried stuff and burgers mostly. I ordered the black bean burger - it was fried, in the deep fryer and tasted more like fried fish than black beans. My dining companion ordered a caesar salad with chicken, she was served salmon. The best part is how sick it made both of us.

The service wasn't bad, but wasn't great. I'm surprised people wait in line to eat here. I won't go back and I don't recommend that anyone eat here. I realize there aren't may options in Angel Fire, but just down the street you will find something much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A must in Angel Fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super burgers, trout, cod, pasta-something for everyone & very affordable! IF its not raining, you have a chance to see a sunset. At base of ski lift! Service was outstanding!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped in here for lunch while at the bike park. The burger was excellent as we're the chips and salsa. The service was very good and I was served my food quickly. Price was normal for the resort.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.