We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
10 Five Springs Rd, Angel Fire, NM 87710
575-377-6681
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Angel Fire
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican
Restaurant details
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stopped for lunch and drinks here after ziplining. Our zip guide recommended the place, but he must have never eaten here! Five of us and each was dissatisfied with our food, which was subpar and served lukewarm. Two ordered a specialty drink that was supposed to taste like a dreamsicle for zipliners, but it was not palatable. To top it off, service was slow. The only plus is location. Maybe it's better in ski season with more staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ate here over the Labor Day weekend with family. Variety of food made it easy for everyone to order something that they liked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don't be misled by the sign outside that says "fine food", it's bar food. Fried stuff and burgers mostly. I ordered the black bean burger - it was fried, in the deep fryer and tasted more like fried fish than black beans. My dining companion ordered a caesar salad with chicken, she was served salmon. The best part is how sick it made both of us.

The service wasn't bad, but wasn't great. I'm surprised people wait in line to eat here. I won't go back and I don't recommend that anyone eat here. I realize there aren't may options in Angel Fire, but just down the street you will find something much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A must in Angel Fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super burgers, trout, cod, pasta-something for everyone & very affordable! IF its not raining, you have a chance to see a sunset. At base of ski lift! Service was outstanding!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped in here for lunch while at the bike park. The burger was excellent as we're the chips and salsa. The service was very good and I was served my food quickly. Price was normal for the resort.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

 
Angel Fire, NM
Angel Fire, NM
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.