We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but well located for the must see fort!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aodhi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aodhi Hotel to your Saves list
Aodhi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumbhalgarh | Dist. Rajsamand, Kumbhalgarh 313325, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kumbhalgarh
Chester UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Expensive but well located for the must see fort!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Kumbalagarh fort is an essential visit in Rajasthan. This hotel is well located to access this amazing site on foot. It is a big hit on the credit card ( £100per night) but the service and quality could not be faulted. We had a suite, which was superb with the most amazing
bathroom. Seems very popular with tour groups.

  • Liked — Convenient location for Kumbalagarh fort
  • Disliked — price and couldn't take credit card payment on checkout!!!!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    88
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We reached Aodhi Hotel on cold evening of January 2, 2008. We were welcomed by the staff and were well received and we checked in to room number 18 and 19. We were explained about timings of the Kumbhalgarh fort and the free wireless internet (wi-fi) in the hotel

It was bitter cold and much colder by Rajasthan standards and hotel had provided with a small room heater, which was little insufficient to heat the large room.

Also, there were insufficient number of blankets (no quilts provided). Because of which I kept waking up through the night because of extreme cold conditions.

The housekeeping and room service was very good. The food average.

The restaurant, where they serve the breakfast is open and was extremely cold and no heating was provided there.

The television provided in the room was so archaic (probably belonging to pre 1990s). None of the channels were clear on TV.

After we checked out, one of the housekeeping guys came and told us about one missing hand towel. Later manager came and wanted me to check the bags, if someone has kept one of hand towels! Which was very cheeky! Already feeling embarrassed, instead I offered to pay for any missing objects. I was told a price of Rs. 50. I paid double of this i.e. Rs.100 and walked out. Feeling completely let down and embarrassed.

A customer, which pays Rs.10,000 for the stay for a night is asked for Rs.50 (whereas I paid a tip of Rs.200 to the staff) for a missing object which we did not steal!!

On our return to Delhi on Jan 7, we thoroughly checked our bags. No hand towel was found.

I wanted to mention this experience in the visitor's book. I was told by the manager and the front office manager that hotel did not have a visitor's book!! Which surprised me.

My whole aodhi experience was ruined because of this.

I would not recommend this place to anyone in the world!

  • Liked — Its proximity to Kumbhalgarh fort
  • Disliked — Manager's behavior
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

Agree with the previous poster about rooms #25 to 27 (hotel doesn't have room #13, thus 26 rooms in total). Some members of my group occupied single rooms #25, 26 & 27. All 3 single rooms do not have heater, which makes sleeping in a cold December night very uncomfortable. The bedspread is quite dirty, so I don't feel comfortable using it. The bulk of each room is taken up by the 2 single beds pushed together. There is hardly enough space to open a suitcase. Other members of my group stayed in rooms #2 to 4, which are much bigger with separate sitting area, have heaters and a beautiful verandah.

As mentioned by a previous poster hot water is inadequate; there was no hot water 5 minutes into my shower. Other rooms report similar experience.

The only positive thing is the breakfast: eggs are nicely cooked to order and warm milk is provided for the coffee/tea. The hotel is probably a lovely place to stay in the warmer months, as the landscape is quite pretty and each room has individual air conditioner. But in the winter time it's too miserable to stay for more than one night.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — no heat
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay in rooms #25-27
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

Stayed here during Christmas week of 2006. Make sure you avoid Room Numbers 24 and upwards - these are cramped rooms with no views, and without basic stuff like a tea / coffee kettle (that is standard in all other rooms) and right next to the kitchen. Please confirm in advance that you will under no condition be allotted these rooms. Food is excellent (the Safed Maas is out of this world), but the range and choice is restricted. Internet speeds in the room are good (by Indian standards) if you have a laptop. Some tips: Use the STD PCO phone booth right opposite the hotel for making calls - much cheaper. Best rooms - #s 2, 3, 4 and 5 - great views. Do visit the fort in the early evening and do see the illumination between 6.30 and 7 pm. First see the citadel from inside the fort, and then hurry out of the fort, and up a gradient to a viewing point where you can see the outer ramparts and walls all lit up. A fairly easy 5-6 km walk from the Aodhi.

  • Liked — View from specific rooms
  • Disliked — View from specific rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Choice of room is important - act pricey and you'll get great service
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

The hotel is set in beautiful stone walled gardens with established trees. The very comfortable rooms all have verandahs with a peaceful outlook. There is a pool.
The food is excellent with great service. I asked the waiter about selection of a certain dish and at the end of our meal he presented me with the handwritten recipe!
The very impressive Kumbhalgarh fort can be reached by jeep from the hotel. This hotel would be a great place to catch the breath after visiting Udaipur....very peaceful spot.

  • Liked — Friendly service, peaceful location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

Stayed here in a suite for 2 nights in Dec 2006. Upon our arrival to the hotel we were greeted very well. reception staff was nice and had our booking in correct order. Room was clean and had fresh fruits, water etc. Swimming pool and restaurant is nice.
Our problems started with shower, No hot water in shower after couple of minute, ended up taking shower with freezing water in winter !!!, After complaining at reception, they sent few guys to fix the water heater and were told that problem was fixed, but same thing again very next day, finally we tried to contact hotel manager but were told they he is out of town and can not be reached. No apology given for our problem, again ended up taking shower with freezing water, we asked them if we can change the room but were told that they don't have any other suite available. After talking to other guests during dinner time we found out that many guest were experiencing similar problems with the shower. it turns out that hotel does not have good size water heaters. Also Room had just one portable room heater (no heating or cooling system just like water) which was not sufficient to keep room warm. Phone line was down most of the time during our stay (due to remote area cell phones will also not work), but phones were working 10 minutes down the road at the STD/PCO booth located at Kumbhalgarh fort. The whole trip was horrible and I ended up catching bad cold.
After coming back from the trip we contacted VP of sales for HRH hotels but instead of apology or refund and we got excuses. Will never stay at any HRH hotel again.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aodhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aodhi Hotel

Address: Kumbhalgarh | Dist. Rajsamand, Kumbhalgarh 313325, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Kumbhalgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kumbhalgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aodhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden by trees, besides the hills crowned by the ruggedly majestic Kumbhalgarh Fort, nestles The Aodhi, a sanctuary-resort where the legacy of valorous kings of Mewar and their braves still lives.The deluxe suites and rooms here recreate delightful themes of jungle lore. Discover countless secrets of the centuries past while you explore nature trails, forts and temples. Or simply relax in the privacy of your balcony, gazing into the amazingly blue skies. Let Kumbhalgarh overwhelm you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aodhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aodhi Hotel Kumbhalgarh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aodhi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.