We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in Jodhpur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surya Kunj

Save Saved
You added Surya Kunj to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surya Kunj
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   C-22, Panchwati Colony | Ratanada, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 139 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
1 review
“best in Jodhpur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010 via mobile

it was one of the best place i have visited and having a family that takes care of u just adds a great feeling. if u ever wont to know the true history of india and experience how it has changed over the year, who better to talk to then the family who has prity much witnessed it. especially the war hero retired air vice marshal oh dose he have some stories to tell.
On the hole one of the most authentic place to stay.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely homestay twice throughout our month long visit to India. From the moment we arrived we knew we would be happy with our decision to stay here. The rooms are beautiful, bathrooms large and modern and the sitting room full of character. Sajjan and his wife Mumal made us feel very welcome and my two teenagers traveling with us loved their dog Sabre. We enjoyed stimulating and insightful conversations with Sajjan about the history of India, their culture, the city, very thought provoking. Sajjan was able to make recommendations for us for eating and sightseeing, next time we'll use his recommendations for lodgings in other cities as well. We left feeling like we had made new friends in the interesting city of Jodhpur. Kudos to the household for making their home one of our favorite spots in Rajasthan!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

The experience was very high-style Parisian; I watched in fascination as servers moved throughout the room in perfect synchronization bearing polished silver trays. Everything about the meal was ceremony. One server rolled a large silver serving cart filled with a dozen types of artisan breads (you choose which ones you want to sample, like a Gruyere brioche, and they heat it up for you.) Another silver cart had one bell jar, under which was a sculpted tower of something - sherbet? I watched as the server carefully carved small portions for a bowl, then placed it in front of me. Ah, butter! The cheese selection was a similar ceremony, with so many cheeses from every region of France, I gave up trying to remember the descriptions and just asked for recommendations.

I ordered off the prix fixe menu, where you can choose from a 2, 3, or 4 course menu. Each begins with l'amuse-bouche as a small "surprise": caviar with fennel cream and crabmeat served in a caviar tin. I opted for the salmon tartar, which was as delicious as its presentation was memorable; it arrived topped with more caviar and gold leaf, on a glass plate from under which dry ice emitted a dramatic mist.

I can't think of a better choice in Las Vegas for a special occasion. I would go so far as to say this restaurant is a don't miss event, and certainly one you must experience in this lifetime

  • Liked — presentation
  • Disliked — services
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

This was our third stay at the Surya Kunj and it is still the only place we would stay at in Jodhpur. Beautiful, spacious rooms, with blissfully comfortable beds and big, modern bathrooms. Sajjan Singh and his wife Mumal are the perfect hosts. The Surya Kunj is more like a home away from home and is a quiet and peaceful place to stay. The homecooked food is just delicious! Thankyou to all at Surya Kunj for your wonderful hospitality. We will see you again soon!

Kim and Elsie

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Kim,
A BIG THANK YOU for you comments on TripAdvisor! Yes, finally we have learnt to use the wonderful tools the site provides and so our reply of thanks...though coming a wee bit late (just three years)! Our regards to Roy and love to Elsie and Jack,
Sajjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcion
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I stayed in this guest house altogether 4 days. I like this guest house, room ismall but clean so it is great .

Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

What a find! Our stay could not have been made more successful and enjoyable by the very friendly owners of Surya Kunj! The rooms and bathroom were exceptionally clean and spacious, the home cooked food was absolutely divine and must rate as one of the best we had in India! We also valued the informative printouts of Jodhpur's history and travel information supplied by the owners - nothing ever seemed too much to ask to make us feel welcome and at home.... Altogether this place is exceptional value - we'll be back to stay at Surya Kunj for sure when in Jodhpur next!

  • Liked — Home feel atmosphere, room to move and gorgeous food!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

At this gem of a guesthouse "Suryakunj" (www.suryakunj.com), we experienced award-winning hospitality. Beautiful house decor, a spacious & comfortable room were a treat. But the bathroom took the cake- it was almost as big as our room & very clean. The spread at breakfast & dinner, prepared under the supervision of Ms. Mumal, were too lavish for a homestay. Mr. Singh shared various stories & his vast knowledge on the history of Rajasthan, civilisation, etc. & played the perfect host. My husband & I were so well looked after by everyone at Suryakunj that we felt right "at-home". If you want to experience true blue, 7-star hospitality, you know where to head to. Urvashi & Jai, Bombay.

  • Liked — clean accomodation, excellent service & hospitality
  • Disliked — It was all so good
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surya Kunj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Kunj

Address: C-22, Panchwati Colony | Ratanada, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surya Kunj 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surya Kunj" means " Garden of the Sun". The ambianceis that of a urban home (Haveli) of a Rajput Zamindar (Land Lord). Our seven rooms exclusivly designed to blend yesterday's elegance with today's comforts. Catg. Homestay and Bed and breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surya Kunj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surya Kunj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.