We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for overnight before flight next day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newtons Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Newtons Manor to your Saves list
Newtons Manor
1.5 of 5 Guest house   |   86, Jawahar Colony | Central School Road, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 158 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best for overnight before flight next day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a great place with the comfort of home but with a little twist of adventure, though on the main road in a residential area, this independent bungalow was converted by a tasteful owner and has many many little things to explore - be it the collection of the antique gasoline lamps or the large stuffed life size Tiger in the living room

For someone who knows the game, it has a nice snooker table which you can enjoy too. The staff is most humble and very hospitable and the super deluxe room was the ideal to rent out as it is not at all expensive and has a pretty bathroom to with the large size room

Room Tip: Rent the Super Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved this place. Let me start with the down sides, which aren’t so down and could well be up sides. It’s far from the city center – but you’ll know this in advance. Our room was an interior room. This meant that we had no window and the room got kind of stuffy. But we were a family of four stuffed into one room (by choice), so this can be expected. But being in an interior room is not necessarily so bad. Rajasthan at the time of year we were visiting, December, was cold. But our room was nice and toasty warm, and as a result this was the only hotel in Northern India that we stayed at that we were able to comfortably walk around in our underwear in the room.

Now for the up sides. The décor of the common areas of the hotel is Olde English. Quaint yet comfortable. Yes, there is a stuffed tiger. Maybe not the best place for kids, as there is potential for them to break stuff.

The food was well above average for the restaurants and hotels that we ate at in Rajasthan. This was one of the few places that offered mutton as one of their choices. The menu is not extensive, and you are boxed into buying complete meals, but everything that came was quite tasty. We ordered just two meals for our family of four, as we had word that it would be enough for all of us, and it was. However, you do need to order well in advance if you want to have dinner here. A nice German couple that shared our table was stuck having just soup and toast because they had not ordered in advance. If you want a beer, there is a liquor store down the street right turn out the front door. Nobody at the restaurant seemed to get too wigged out about me cracking a beer at the dinner table.

Our room had an excellent shower. The whole family took long warm showers, using up probably a whole lake’s worth of water. But the hot water just came and came and came, and never ended. Poured down in luxurious buckets on our previous stinky bodies.

We would definitely come back to this hotel if we happened to be in Jodhpur again.

======================

Background of our trip through India: my wife and I traveled with our two kids, ages 6 & 7, through India for five weeks in Dec 2013/Jan 2014. On two legs of our trip we hired a car and driver, and took trains and taxis for the other parts of the trip. We are Americans, but live outside of the US in a third world country. When looking for a hotel, cleanliness is a prime consideration for us, followed by location and price. I always appreciate a place that appears to have friendly and responsive management. We consider ourselves to be ‘budget travelers’, but now that we have kids and are more fastidious about cleanliness, we have upped the budget a bit and no longer go for the absolute cheapest option that Lonely Planet and/or Trip Advisor have to offer.

On our trip through Rajasthan, we were rather cold during the evenings and found rooftop/outdoor restaurants to be often to chilly to eat in. Not that it is so incredibly cold in Rajasthan, but we live in a hot climate, so we have become unaccustomed to it being so cold.

When we were with a car and driver, we stayed at hotels for 1-2 night in each city, and the hotel was chosen for us by the tour agency, so we were not aware of the price of the room. However, the quality of the rooms was comparable to what we would have chosen anyways. To give you an idea of our budgetary considerations, in Delhi, Goa, and Mumbai, we were paying about 2000-2900 rupees per night for our family of four, often in a room with one large bed, or a medium size bed with a mattress on the floor, or sometimes three twin-sized beds. Outside of these cities, this type of room seemed to be priced at 1500-2000.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I and my friend visited this place with little hesitance about the services & reading the reviews over all. but we were granted with THE BEST of service here, hotel owner is so helping nature specially i have to mention that Mr. Shailendra ji is most most helping to us and his support to all my needs. We stayed at the Pink room which was specious and having all the modern amenities like AC, Mini fridge, LCD TV & lovely furniture :-) the most I loved about this room was it's bathroom :P It is elegantly designed with beautiful bath tub. Seriously i believe that the people make the place good or bad it making us feel home !! Lovely stay i can't forget the place in Jodhpur it's a very special stay for me !!:)

Room Tip: Would love to visit again :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I and my friend visited this place with a little hesitance about the services & reading the reviews over all. but to my surprise we were granted with the BEST of services here. I believe that the people make the place good or bad and the same I observed at the Newtons Manor. We stayed at the Pink room which was spacious and having all the modern amenities like AC, Mini fridge, LCD TV & lovely furniture :-) the most I loved about this room was it's bathroom :P It is elegantly designed with beautiful bath tub. Special thanks to the staff who allowed me to cook there and supported me with tit bits required ;-) They also provide driver's accommodation but since our driver was having his own, we did not opt for it. Cheers to the team & Special thanks to Shailendra ji for the support & making us feel home!! Would love to visit again :-)

Room Tip: Choose the Pink room. It is on the upper floor, having a bath tub & is quiet. Free pool table is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Comfortable accommodation. An English-styled eccentricity complete with stuffed tiger (or an equivalent of) in the lounge. Evening meal basic, yet tasty. Beware of being charged for the (complimentary) tea on arrival. Pink room at the rear is quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Mr Shailender made the experience memorable in a totally professional manner. Great room and outstanding food. The whole place has collection of great memorabilia and trophies from the past. A great value for money as well.

The only issue is limited parking space.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Its to far away from the town.

It feels dead. No life. Its old and out dated. The place needs a good lick of paint.

Saying that the room & toilet are clean.

Ok for one night but thats enough for us.

Staff also seem friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newtons Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtons Manor

Address: 86, Jawahar Colony | Central School Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Newtons Manor 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House offer their guests a great staying experience making you feel as if you are in your own home from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Newtons Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newtons Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.