We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devi Bhawan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Devi Bhawan to your Saves list
Devi Bhawan
Ratanada Circle,Defance laboratory Road, | Ratanada Area, Jodhpur 342006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

We were really impressed with the beautifully decorated rooms that make up this hotel, and of the peaceful gardens which were excellent for relaxing in. Although we had arrived really early in the morning on the sleeper train from Jaisalmer, we were encouraged to relax by the pool and only had to wait a couple of hours for our room to be ready. We had booked a couple of extra days in Jodhpur, and we enjoyed lounging around the hotel grounds and were grateful for the extra time.

The only criticism was the restaurant - we had no problems with the limited menu, but the food arrived either burnt or undercooked - rectified whenever we complained, but we were a little disappointed over this. The manager did apologise over this as well. But don't let this put you off, as the rest of our stay more than made up for this.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    187
    53
    16
    6
See reviews for
130
231
49
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

Terrific hotel. A quiet location a few kilometers outside of the city centre. The hotel is well kept, and the decor, room size and attention to detail are a real value in this price range. The manager is very kind and attentive, and took excellent care of us and all of our needs. He booked a village safari for us and a driver and car to Udaipur when we left and the rates he got were terrific. If you want to be really taken care of, then this is the place to go. The gardens and the pool are nice as well. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The buildings, the gardens, the management.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The family run hotel with beautiful antiques and a charming old world atmosphere. The staff is eager to please and ever so helpful with travel arrangements.
A home away from home!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Pontet France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Excellent stay in this hotel, in the hart of a wonderful garden, with an agreable swimmingpool. The rooms are clean, the meals are good, and the manager is very efficient for booking hotels in other cities (with discount !) or train tickets.
It is our best hotel in 3 weeks in Northern India, for less than 20 € for a double !

  • Liked — the garden, the swimming pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We first came here 9 years ago and continue to return. The hotel keeps adding improvements and we keep returning. The hotel has a beautiful setting. The courtyard garden is lovely, the rooms are spacious ,and well appointed. The place has great charm and is quiet. The staff is courteous and responsive. We highly recommend Devi Bhawan!!!!

  • Liked — manager,staff and pool
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Devi Bhawan is a real gem. It has lots of space, a lush garden and a swimming pool. Our suite was one of the nicest places we stayed in India and certainly the most luxurious.

It's on the outskirts of Jodhpur so you'll need to get a taxi or autorickshaw to see the sights. It's well worth it, however, for the calm ambience and comfortable accommodation. After Delhi, the room price seemed like incredibly good value for money at around 1200 rupees/night.

  • Liked — Luxury, calm
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

If they invited me to sweep the paths for the rest of my life I think I'd agree ---two visits have confirmed my joy at knowing of such a delightful base in Jodhpur, at such a reasonable cost. Spacious rooms, attentive staff, good food, wonderful garden setting.
When I floated in their pool and saw the peacock walk along the edge I knew I was in traveller's heaven.
See Lonely Planet.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devi Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Bhawan

Address: Ratanada Circle,Defance laboratory Road, | Ratanada Area, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#7 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devibhawan is family run heritage property with 24 well appointed a/c rooms with all modern amenities in each room,in house restaurant serves fresh home cooked food to guests staying here,also have swimming pool,all major cards accepted and travel desk for all your travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Devi Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devi Bhawan Jodhpur
Devi Bhawan Hotel Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devi Bhawan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.