We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect from the moment you land !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Save Saved
You added Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Circuit House,, Jodhpur 342006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 87 hotels in Jodhpur
Karachi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect from the moment you land !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The moment we landed at Jodhpur Airport there was someone from the hotel to greet us and help us with our bags. The hotel cars were ready as soon as we got out and we were whisked away on the short journey to the hotel. On arrival the Heritage property itself will leave you breathless with its old world charm and manicured gardens and grounds. The staff very efficiently and painlessly checks you in as you get to the reception and you are in your room before you know it. They ask if you want a quick tour of the hotel to which I said yes so they took me on a quick round and showed me the spa, the breakfast room, the pool area etc. The concierge also gave me a list of all the sites and places which would be of interest to visit. Everything from the Spa to the indoor pool and out door pool was perfect and stunning!!! The forts and temples visited were really worth the visits and the people at the sites were also friendly and helpful. One of the other boutique hotels the Raas Haveli is also worth a visit for dinner at night as it has a stunning view of the fort and is a beautiful property with great food. All in all a place one has to visit for sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    40
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
85
212
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaeo, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and I visited India in March and stayed at five Taj hotels, but this was our clear favourite. None of the other Taj hotels (including The Rambagh Palace in Jaipur and Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur) matched Umaid Bhawan Palace in terms of grandeur or dramatic impact. Our suite at Umaid Bhawan was also more spacious than those at the other hotels; two balconies and a vast marble bathroom with two sinks! We were also impressed by the staff who were gracious, attentive and caring of our needs. One concierge went to great lengths to try to get Air India to refund a fare for a flight it had cancelled without informing us. We are still waiting for the airline to refund this money, but are grateful to this hotel worker for her efforts on our behalf. Would we stay at Umaid Bhawan Palace again? Yes, but this is the only Taj Hotel we would return to. We are normally budget travellers, but decided to upscale our accommodation as a one-off splurge for this holiday. We would return to Umaid Bhawan Palace because the two nights we spent there weren't long enough to explore and soak up the ambience of this magnificent building. We did not eat at any of the restaurants but we did use the in-room dining service, which we couldn't fault. I also swam in the indoor swimming pool which was a sublime experience. Thank you Umaid Bhawan Palace for making our visit to Jodhpur an unforgettable experience. Keep up the excellent work. One day we will return!

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the building had a balcony with a view of the formal bougainvillea garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for three nights over the Holi Festival and cannot fault this stunningly beautiful Palace.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royalty and all the staff went out of their way to make you feel special! Dinner in Risala was superb, we ate there twice! The views from the Sunset Pavillion are spectacular and the food delicious too! Would definitely recommend staying here if you can afford it - you will love it!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the gardens and Pavilion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Arrival at The Umaid Bhawan Palace was a very special experience. Roseleaves drops from above, while four men are holding a red baldachin. Our arrival was only a short drive from Hari Mahal hotel where we had stayed for 5 nights. The Umaid Bhawan Palace was the highlight on our Rajasthan vacation this year. Our passport detail was kindly transferred from the Hari Mahal hotel management for convenient check in.

We had booked a Palace Room for three nights, from 5th -8th March; surprisingly we were upgraded to a suite on arrival. Suite 302 is in the tower with view to pool and terrace. This suite was very comfortable and quiet with a large bedroom, office desk, sitting area, luggage room and a luxury bathroom. We were not able to hear anything from next room.

A guided tour in Palace a few hours after arrival was included. Tour started with refreshments, sparkling wine or juice.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent, with very high quality. Having dinner on the roof restaurant at sunset was an experience we never will forget with the sights of Blue City and Mehrangarh Fort at distance. This time of the year it was very comfortable to sit outside.

Preparations for the Jodhpur One World Music festival were going on and last day of our stay breakfast area outside was closed. But breakfast inside had same high quality. It is nearly always weddings or other large arrangements going on in upscale hotels in India. Check with hotel before booking. Hotel was booked via the Taj website.

Pool area was very quiet and clean with view to the city and Mehrangarh Fort. All areas we visited inside Palace and gardens where very well maintained with fresh flowers in the hall and inside suite.

On departure to train station breakfast restaurant staff made a lunch pack for our 6 hour long train journey to Jaipur.

Service in the Umaid Bhawan Palace was very correct and discrete; staff always had a solution to our questions, they respond within minutes. Check in and check out was very efficient.

We have also visited the Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur in 2011, these two establishments is a must if you are visiting Rajasthan!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,


Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had of course seen photos of the Umaid Bhawan but I don't think anything prepared us for the long drive up and then the first glimpse of the Palace - it is Huge!
This is another outstanding Taj Hotel and they do it perfectly. From the rose petal welcome to the walk into the foyer and then view up into that huge dome we knew we were in for a wonderful stay. We only wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. That is the trouble when you stay in a place of such grandeur - you wonder how you will have the time to enjoy it all and also see the sights of Jodphur!
We booked a Palace Room which was very large with a small separate sitting area that opened onto a balcony with views over the grounds. From the bedroom we walked through a separate dressing room into a very large marble bathroom with 2 vanities, seating and a bath. The toilet and shower were each separately enclosed. Our king size bed was very comfortable and the room itself was very quiet.
We had breakfast on the verandah of the Pillars restaurant that looks out across the lawn to where Liz Hurley got married. We also had a superb dinner in the same spot. The night was quite chilly but gas heating is on offer if you are lucky enough to score one of those tables - we were not.
We managed to spend a couple of hours by the outdoor pool that is towards the back of the gardens and found the staff there extremely attentive with juices, water and fruit sticks. One pool boy even rushed across with my towel when I got out of the water - I like to think it wasn't just to cover my fat body up from public view. We also planned to have night swim in the beautiful indoor pool but ran out of time as one can tend to do when drinking on a private balcony.
The Umaid Bhawan is one of those unique hotels in the world that should be put on every lucky traveller's lists of places to stay at least once. I hope I am lucky enough to go back for another visit. Now that I have seen Jodphur I won't feel the need to leave the front door - which can be hard to find in such a huge circular foyer.

Room Tip: The Palace Room was great but if you have more money to splurge then go even better. But how much ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services. We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Umaid Bhawan seems to be 'the' place for weddings. We were lucky to be guests for one such wedding and I must admit the setting of the hotel is brilliant. The arrangements were excellent though most of the credit should go to the wedding planners and the hosts. The palace forms a beautiful setting for any occasion, which is why it has become so popular for weddings. We did not stay at the palace, but at Ajit Bhawan. I have written a separate review on that Ajit Bhawan.
If you are planning a special wedding, this could be the place to be!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel, still the home of the current maharaja, was a high standard as would be expected from a hotel of is standard. The building overall is impressive and it is worthwhile just wandering around exploring the rooms and outside grounds, including the vintage care collection and museum.

The 'Pillars' restaurant, where we dined on both nights of our stay, was very good - Mediterranean fare one night, indian the next. Both excellent. Pre-dinner cocktails on the roof is worth doing to see the view of the city dominated by the fort, and for keen photographers to capture the sunset.

The only negative comment I would make is charging for Internet use, which is increasingly against the trend. There's little excuse these days for charging for what is now a day-to-day essential service.

Above all else, the service was first class, the best experienced in our travels across the globe. There is little doubt that India has superlative service off to a tee, which is partly down to the attitude of the people - positive, willing to help, and infinitely pleasant.

Was this the best hotel we stayed on our 'mini-grand tour' of India? We think it probably was and in terms of dining both this and the Taj Palace in Delhi are probably equal first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your overall experience during your recent stay met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We have noted your suggestion regarding free internet services. We are in the process of exploring this option and would implement the same based on feasibility.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House,, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.