We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedding Palace!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Save Saved
You added Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Circuit House,, Jodhpur 342006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 86 hotels in Jodhpur
Dehradun, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Wedding Palace!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Umaid Bhawan seems to be 'the' place for weddings. We were lucky to be guests for one such wedding and I must admit the setting of the hotel is brilliant. The arrangements were excellent though most of the credit should go to the wedding planners and the hosts. The palace forms a beautiful setting for any occasion, which is why it has become so popular for weddings. We did not stay at the palace, but at Ajit Bhawan. I have written a separate review on that Ajit Bhawan.
If you are planning a special wedding, this could be the place to be!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    40
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
86
215
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel, still the home of the current maharaja, was a high standard as would be expected from a hotel of is standard. The building overall is impressive and it is worthwhile just wandering around exploring the rooms and outside grounds, including the vintage care collection and museum.

The 'Pillars' restaurant, where we dined on both nights of our stay, was very good - Mediterranean fare one night, indian the next. Both excellent. Pre-dinner cocktails on the roof is worth doing to see the view of the city dominated by the fort, and for keen photographers to capture the sunset.

The only negative comment I would make is charging for Internet use, which is increasingly against the trend. There's little excuse these days for charging for what is now a day-to-day essential service.

Above all else, the service was first class, the best experienced in our travels across the globe. There is little doubt that India has superlative service off to a tee, which is partly down to the attitude of the people - positive, willing to help, and infinitely pleasant.

Was this the best hotel we stayed on our 'mini-grand tour' of India? We think it probably was and in terms of dining both this and the Taj Palace in Delhi are probably equal first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your overall experience during your recent stay met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We have noted your suggestion regarding free internet services. We are in the process of exploring this option and would implement the same based on feasibility.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigadoon, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were booked in a Historical Suite here (whilst on a private Abercrombie & Kent tour) but were upgraded to a Royal Suite, which had several large, Art Deco-style rooms and a generously-sized balcony with views of the stunning gardens. Especially the topiary bougainvilleas, and the peacocks (who shamelessly beg for bread at breakfast on the terrace.) This was one of several Taj properties where we stayed in India, and we were always impressed by the excellent staff. Many are older staff members and their experience shows. (Unfortunately less impressed by the expensive alcohol and annoying internet charges.) Staying here is somewhat like staying in a Museum – the public areas are vast, and it is decidedly not cosy. Nevertheless the friendliness of the staff generates much warmth, and they seem genuinely to care about this historic property and the comfort of their guests. We ate most meals at Pillars on the terrace, which was lovely at any time of day. A good variety of choice is available; enjoyed the food more at breakfast and lunch than at dinner time. We also had pre-dinner drinks in the Trophy Bar, although the heads of dead animals on the walls is not to my taste. One evening we tried the Sunset Pavilion, which is on the rooftop, and this is worth doing for the views alone – but make reservations as space seems to be limited and the restaurant is open to non-guests. The food is barbecued, either with an Indian or European emphasis, and we thought it was very tasty. (The ”wire mesh” fish was delicious.) There is a lift almost to the top, but there are still some steep steps to climb to the rooftop, so be aware of this. We definitely arrived gasping for breath. Before you leave this hotel (when you will be offered the traditional blessing of yoghurt and sugar, by the way) do not forget to visit the atmospheric underground pool, even if you do not wish to swim there. It would especially impress Art Deco enthusiasts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This palace with its dome is amazing. We all stayed in royal suites which have a great view and are very well decorated.

Most of the service is on the level it should be, but especially in the restaurants and in the bar there a (old) men working, who are not contribute to the high-level standard. Some of them are impolite, they even took our room key to check, if we charged the beverages to the right room. Maybe we were too young for them to stay in royal suites…

Food was in all restaurants okay but not as good as in other hotels on this level. Breakfast menu in the restaurant was on the small side and serving times were too long.

The offered palace tour was nice, but without a real level of information. Additionally, the lady accompanying the tour guide was able to give more and proper information in English than the guide.

Nevertheless, it is a great place which could get even more outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of products and service in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance in future.

Yours sincerely,

Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Definitely lives up to the photos. The rooms are fabulous, the amenities are first rate, and property is beautiful. Food in the Tavern and Pillar restaurants was both okay. The spa and swimming pools are fabulous. Not cheap, but worth the expense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay, paid a little extra for the royal suite. Amazing room, It's just like a real palace. The rooftop restaurant is a great place to relax and have a drink or have breakfast. Easy to get taxi or auto rickshaw at reasonable prices. To do a full day city tour in an auto rickshaw 500 rupees. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband was very keen on staying here and I am glad we did. We were treated beyond well and it has left us wanting more. From the time we checked in to the time we were dropped off to the airport, everything was perfect. We were immediately checked in at the gate. There is no "lobby" or a check in counter. We were showered with rose petals, given refreshing towels, a garland and fresh welcome drinks upon arrival. We were actually upgraded to a suite, which was amazing! The rooms are spectacular and have wonderful views. The architecture is amazing too. Rooms were clean, neat, spacious and aromatic.
We had lunch at the Pillars and a staff member overheard that it was my birthday. The rest is history. After a days tour of sight-seeing, we arrived back at our room and to our surprise, there was a birthday cake, champagne and flowers from the Palace! It was sweet indeed. We dined at the Sunset Pavillion, and again, amazing views with a very palatable dinner. I still can't believe the food was so good. To end the dinner, we were given a birthday dessert and the staff sang to me. Again, the attention showered was unbelievable.
Our room had a turndown service, they replaced all vanity offerings. There was even a hot water bottle in our bed. I know that is not a big deal, but to just have the little things thought of already...it was a nice touch.
Breakfast, again, it was great. Fresh juices. We even had the peacocks as neighbors. Walking the garden, the pool area, just beautiful.
We swam in the indoor pool, we were the only ones. Staff is very attentive. Even the ones I did not come across during my stay, asked if my birthday went well.
I know our stay was fantastic and would plan on coming back again. To us, we really were treated like royalty, the attention bestowed upon us was remarkable and unforgettable!!!

Room Tip: Corner Suites have more balconies and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that the experience at the Palace met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have also shared your kind appreciation with the team, as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House,, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.