We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW- A True Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur to your Saves list
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Circuit House,, Jodhpur 342006, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Royal Retreat Offer
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“WOW- A True Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Definitely lives up to the photos. The rooms are fabulous, the amenities are first rate, and property is beautiful. Food in the Tavern and Pillar restaurants was both okay. The spa and swimming pools are fabulous. Not cheap, but worth the expense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    43
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
105
240
20
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay, paid a little extra for the royal suite. Amazing room, It's just like a real palace. The rooftop restaurant is a great place to relax and have a drink or have breakfast. Easy to get taxi or auto rickshaw at reasonable prices. To do a full day city tour in an auto rickshaw 500 rupees. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband was very keen on staying here and I am glad we did. We were treated beyond well and it has left us wanting more. From the time we checked in to the time we were dropped off to the airport, everything was perfect. We were immediately checked in at the gate. There is no "lobby" or a check in counter. We were showered with rose petals, given refreshing towels, a garland and fresh welcome drinks upon arrival. We were actually upgraded to a suite, which was amazing! The rooms are spectacular and have wonderful views. The architecture is amazing too. Rooms were clean, neat, spacious and aromatic.
We had lunch at the Pillars and a staff member overheard that it was my birthday. The rest is history. After a days tour of sight-seeing, we arrived back at our room and to our surprise, there was a birthday cake, champagne and flowers from the Palace! It was sweet indeed. We dined at the Sunset Pavillion, and again, amazing views with a very palatable dinner. I still can't believe the food was so good. To end the dinner, we were given a birthday dessert and the staff sang to me. Again, the attention showered was unbelievable.
Our room had a turndown service, they replaced all vanity offerings. There was even a hot water bottle in our bed. I know that is not a big deal, but to just have the little things thought of already...it was a nice touch.
Breakfast, again, it was great. Fresh juices. We even had the peacocks as neighbors. Walking the garden, the pool area, just beautiful.
We swam in the indoor pool, we were the only ones. Staff is very attentive. Even the ones I did not come across during my stay, asked if my birthday went well.
I know our stay was fantastic and would plan on coming back again. To us, we really were treated like royalty, the attention bestowed upon us was remarkable and unforgettable!!!

Room Tip: Corner Suites have more balconies and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that the experience at the Palace met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have also shared your kind appreciation with the team, as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It is hard to find enough superlatives to describe this true palace. Previously, the best hotel I had ever stayed at was the Oberoi Udaivillas, but I have to put the Umain Bhavan on the top of my list now. The terrace, where breakfast is served overlooking a breathtaking garden, with peacocks eating from you hand, is splendid. Also, the breakfast included the best oatmeal I have ever had. That's right, oatmeal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stunning and magnificent in every way, from the regal dome and yellow stone walls encasing Art Deco interiors to the outstanding service Taj provides. As from the first minute you will fell like no-where else in the world! We should not forget the wonderful garden and outside pool!
The only part which can upset is when you have to tolerate a group of extremely loud guests during day and night...on that side the management should do better and make sure that these kind of guests get put into place as from the beginning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a magnificent hotel with incredibly grand public areas, and large (very large) and tastefully decorated rooms (art deco style). The service was flawless throughout our stay - warm, personal and very efficient. The food was good (though not outstanding) but the setting and accommodative service (they made special food which wasn't on the menu for our 3 year old) made the dining experience memorable nonetheless.

Would highly recommend the Sunset Pavillion for dinner - the view is sublime, and the food is the best in the hotel too!

The Taj has done a wonderful job of transforming this palace into one of the best hotels in the world. It is hard to think of a better hotel experience. Of course it's expensive. But in my opinion, well worth it.

We also visited Raas Haveli which is the other luxury hotel in Jodhpur, ate a meal there, and saw the rooms. That is also a splendid hotel with warm (though not especially efficient) service, an unexpectedly contemprary vibe and an unrivalled view of the Meherangarh Fort. However, if price were not a constraint, I would choose to stay in the Umaid Bhawan for the sheer grandeur of the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

An absolutely outstanding building coupled with the Taj premium hospitality, staying in this hotel is a magical experience. The proportions are remarkable and it is very tastefully done. The suites are marvellous and the service impeccable. Tea on the verandah, or even an al-fresco meal (breakfast or dinner) while the weather permits is simply divine with a view of the well manicured lawns and the Mehrangarh Fort in the background. The two beautiful swimming pools, tennis courts, badminton court, croquet, snooker/billiards ... there is enough to do just in the hotel ... and in fact at times you are tempted to just walk around the place enjoying every bit of it. The staff are very courteous and professional and in the restaurants, quite unlike the usual restaurant staff who are always hovering but whose attention you can never attract when you need them, the staff are unobstrusively there and its almost uncanny how they seem to materialize by your side just when you are about to call them. An absolute must do hotel well worth the experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a verandah overlooking the back lawns and the Mehrangarh Fort on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish Kumar R, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you luxury hospitality.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Umaid Bhawan Palace again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House,, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.