We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ratan Vilas

Save Saved
You added Ratan Vilas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loco Shed Road, Near Bhaskar Circle | Ratanada, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2,950 (INR)
Ranked #2 of 87 hotels in Jodhpur
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in India. It really is a little peaceful oasis and such a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing in Jodhpur. The gardens and courtyards are immaculate. We had a suite on the upper level and the room was huge and beautiful, very clean and lovely furniture. The service was very friendly too.

It isn't within walking distance to the old city but there were always auto-rickshaws outside to take you there in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    176
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
141
335
39
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This hotel is lovely. The rooms are spotless and the service is wonderful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed at the Ratan Vilas, Jodhpur, purely on the basis of TripAdvisor ratings, and I must admit, the experience was very good, right from the start. The courteous owner corresponded directly over email and did not charge us any booking amount, unlike other hotels on our itinerary. The owners live on the same property and interact freely with the guests. We checked-in at 6pm and the process was smooth and efficient. The hotel has rooms around its haveli style courtyards and our rooms were around the main courtyard.

The rooms were pleasant and very clean. The furniture was colonial style with four poster beds and the bathroom was very clean too. Our room had a planter's chair which is very hard to find these days. We ordered some snacks and tea in the evening which arrived on time and tasted good. Breakfast, however, was a tad dissappointing. There wasn't much variety on offer, although the attentive staff offered to make fresh parathas, etc. for us.

I have two suggestions for improvement:
1) The lady supervisor should be advised to keep her voice down, especially in the morning when I was woken up by her shouting instructions to the staff in the courtyard (my room was right next to the main courtyard).
2) The hotel should procure some more double blankets - we had asked for double rooms but we got a room with twin beds joined together, with 2 single blankets.

Otherwise and overall, a fantastic experience. Would love to come back!

  • Liked — Fantastic value for money, cleanliness, old world charm..
  • Disliked — Nothing really..
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

A cosy hotel with clean rooms and a green lawn.
Most of the rooms open into the courtyard and its a nice place to stay.

The hotel is centrally located. It took us 10 mins to reach the hotel from the railway station.
Thums up for this place!

  • Liked — cosy and friendly environment
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We had 2 rooms for my wife and myself and our 3 young children. Service and arrangements were excellent. No complaints. This is a great find. The price is very good. Not very fancy but very adequate and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed two nights in a super deluxe. The room was large, clean and extremely tastefully decorated. We paid an extra 500Rs p night for an extra folding bed which was reasonable. Bathroom was big with running hot water (not via a geyser). We had lovely furniture and our room opened onto the quiter 2nd enclosed courtyard (the first one is where people eat). The atmosphere is relaxed and the building is a very British Raj. Cannot fault it and it deserves its rating and the web site is accurate. I would advise not eating all meals here as like many hotels the food is a bit expensive compared to restaurants. However, if you are tired and want to eat in its good (especially in the courtyard). Service was polite, helpful, and the manager with the moustache was always very attentive (but in a subtle way). Our children (11 and 9) were very comfortable and ate well. It is a 15 minute autorickshaw ride from the fort but close to the train station. The fort here is the best we saw, audio quide excellent, lots to see, setting majestic. No hesitation in recommending but from the other reviews you guessed that.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Excellent location, beautiful building and gardens.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Address: Loco Shed Road, Near Bhaskar Circle | Ratanada, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, MakeMyTrip and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ratan Vilas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.