We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accomodation spoiled by indifferent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pal Haveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pal Haveli to your Saves list
Pal Haveli
Near Clock Tower,, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Bath, UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“great accomodation spoiled by indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was slightly wary of this place from the outset, as their correspondence to my booking was very poor, and we had to use an intermediary to secure the booking in the end. My caution was well-placed as it turned out, and from the outset! Unlike our previous hotels in Jodpur and Jaisalmer, here there was no welcome and a reluctance to even take our luggage for us. We were obliged to drag half of it ourselves up the ramp and into the lobby - not impressive for a relatively 'smart' hotel. At reception, the Manager appeared disinterested and his staff were of a similar disposition. Only after we showed our disapproval of their attitude did things improve slightly.

Our room (121) was delightful - spacious, recently renovated and painted by the Artist who has a 'Minitures' shop in the courtyard, (who incidentally is delightful, and warrants a visit, regardless of whether you are staying in the hotel - he has some wonderful minitures painted by his grandfather that are reasonably priced). The room was clean and the bed large and comfortable. The decorations were beautiful, and the room had many period features.

Our experience of the rooftop restaurant was also less than favourable. We lunched there on arrival and also ate there that evening. We were told, (quite curtly by the waiters) that we could not add the tip to the bill payment, as they would not get it - put more respectfully we would have been sympathetic, but again there was a surlyness that rankled. In the evening one got the sense that they thought they were doing you a favour by having you there, which given the rather indifferent cooking and patchy service was a bit rich! We took breakfast on the terrace also, and I waited far too long for my simple order and finally replied to the young and cheeky waiter's enquiry thet "No, eveything was not all right, as my friends were almost finished and my fruit and yoghurt had yet to appear after 20 minutes!". This was obviously the wrong response to his retorical question, as he was very cheeky in response, more or less telling me to "calm down Dear", which pretty much went with the attitude of the staff in general. (Incidentally, the Panorama Restaurant on the roofftop of the neighbouring PalHaveli INN is infinitely better - wider and more authentic menu, pleasant service, less obstructed view of the floodlit Fortress, and much cheaper!

We wouldn't stay at Pal Haveli again despite the lovely room, as the attitude of the staff makes or breaks a place, and we didn't feel welcome.

Room Tip: 121 was flawless
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    143
    48
    13
    15
See reviews for
48
168
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a day on 3rd February 2011 when we had been touring Rajasthan on a package tour organized by Indian Holidays, New Delhi. The location of this hotel is very bad, through congested streets and busy markets. Car parking is also insufficient. Although the rooms on ground floor are good and well furnished, giving them an ethnic look but without any windows/balcony. You dare not prefer rooms on higher floors if you are old or have some problem in climbing steep upstairs. The only saving point is a good view from the roof top restaurant but it would be taxing on your knees and you would rather prefer to remain hungry or go outside. Water bottles and cookies, biscuits etc are kept in the room but beware- these are complimentary. We just took a bottle of water and was shocked to find while checking out it was charged at Rs. 50/- , particularly when the same bottle is available just outside the hotel at 12/-. The room service is also very poor. I would not recommend this hotel as it is not worth its value except for the breakfast (which offers several choices, being buffet) on the roof top restaurant.

Room Tip: Unable to give any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great location in the thick of things. Room 7 that we stayed in had an unbelievable view of the fort. The rooftop restaurant was also great. Friendly staff as well.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel sits smack in the middle of the hectic bustle that is Jodhpur's old city, but once you enter the hotel gates, you'll have no idea. Even the "value" rooms at Pal Haveli are large, stylish, and comfortable to the point of decadence. Service is unobtrusive but ever-present. The rooftop restaurant boasts an unbeatable view, but prepare to pay accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main section of the hotel are better, but more expensive. Ground-floor rooms near the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here as a family of three for one night only (we switched because of no availability). The room was gorgeous, set in a little courtyard and you really feel like you travelled back in time of Maharajas! The service is impeccable and the roof top restaurant very nice as well. The location is fantastic as well as you find yourself just a few steps away from the clock tower. Tip: bargain from our rickshaw a little bit further away from the hotel as it's impossible to get a good price when they see you walking out of this hotel!

the only downside I would say is that the hotel doesn't offer train station pick up, which is a real shame. the auto rickshaw doesn't cost that much, and it would be a nice touch if they provided it, given the price of the hotel.

final note: fully recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth. West Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here as the kickoff point for a cycling trip thru Rajahstan,the room was very comfortable and stylish and huge.I asked for a electric kettle as I carry my own coffee and plunger,no problem,breakfast were great and the roof top restaurant was a pleasure to sit in/on and gaze at the fort and markets and the whole city really.I dont think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had a massive room on the ground floor (107 I think). Traditionally decorated with a vast bed. A welcome tonic from the busy-ness of Jodhpur. Despite being on the ground floor the room was still peaceful as it was set around a courtyard with one room opposite. Also in the courtyard is a nice seating area with a swing bed! The rest of the hotel is interesting (in a good way) with lots of staircases and walkways leading to courtyards or up to the roof top. There's a great rooftop restaurant with views up to the fort and a bar with some great saddle stools. Breakfast is decent and starts the day well. The view up to the fort made breakfast taste even better!

Overall, we had a great time at the hotel. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pal Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pal Haveli

Address: Near Clock Tower,, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pal Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pal Haveli Jodhpur
Pal Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pal Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.