We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Oasis in Jodphur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
MIAMI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Perfect Oasis in Jodphur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel during our visit to Jodphur. First the architecture is awesome... The rooms are very spacious and quiet. The associates always willing to go the extra mile. The facilities are superb including the restaurants and the spa.
When you get to the room you need to ask for an iron and ironing board, bath robes and slippers, and additional bottled water. All of them were provided...but should be there for this kind of hotel.
Overall, a great oasis in Jodphur.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

It was a pleasure to have you with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, Jodhpur.

We do appreciate you taking time out to share the experience of your visit, and are glad that you were pleased with the hotel’s facilities and services and had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for heartwarming appreciation of our colleagues, we have been delighted to share it with them.

We are privileged to enjoy the goodwill of our guests, and have always benefited from their advice and suggestions. We will definitely consider all the invaluable inputs provided, and it is a constant effort on our part to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our discerning guests.

We look forward to be of service again.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    201
    51
    11
    7
See reviews for
170
198
20
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My second stay at this lovely hotel. It is located pretty close to the airport and that is a plus point. It is a well maintained property and one gets a nice reception. Our check in experience was really nice and we were allotted our rooms quickly. The hotel has nice lobbies and the rooms were very well furnished and comfortable. Adequate lighting and all modern amenities like LED TV with sufficient channels, Tea maker, Newspaper, magazines, fruits and cookies were available. The bathroom too had all that was required

I was rather happy with the housekeeping as they responded to all my requests promptly. I did not have the opportunity to order room service except a cup of tea. We had lunch at the Latitude restaurant. Good service and good food. In the evening we had dinner by the pool side and had a good time with a puppet show, magic show and a local dance performance. Chinese cuisine was real good and tasty. We felt that the quantity was definitely less. Buffet at breakfast was good with a wide variety.

The hotel has a swimming pool and a gymnasium and spa. Both are well maintained and well equipped. I did enjoy two sessions at the gymnasium and the spa. Overall an excellent stay except that my room did not cool sufficiently. As I always say that a good hotel is recognised by the quality of service and sincerity of the staff and on this count the hotel scores extremely well. I would recommend a stay here to one and all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, and also for the wonderful feedback. It was great to have you visit again.

We are delighted to have your approvals with our hotel’s facilities, services and proximity to the airport as well as the city, and it is our earnest endeavour to provide personalized and warm services to our discerning guests, which I was glad to learn has been your experience over your stays.

Food is an important and intrinsic part of any hotel experience, and we were delighted that you liked the food served in our restaurants. We will definitely consider the invaluable inputs provided with regard to food portion, and also regret that we did not realize and attend to the discomfort you felt with the air conditioning in you room during your stay.

We look forward to future opportunities to be of service, and to delivering our best hospitality and service always.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel made to look like a Palace: very good common areas and top decor, extremely wide corridors everywhere (a huge waste of space...). Standard garden rooms are large, but the furniture is a bit shabby and rundown. Dirty windows! I had a room on the street side, quite noisy.
The main restaurant was nice, with impeccable service: food was as in all Vivanta by Taj, good but not extraordinary. Evening entertainment by the pool was a pleasant affair.
The 2 hotel shops had very nice objects (especially the jewellery) but were on the over-expensive side.

Room Tip: There are garden rooms on the street side (very noisy) or on the opposite side. Best are the pool lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal.

We are privileged to enjoy the goodwill of our guests, and have always benefited from their advice and suggestions. We will definitely consider all the invaluable inputs provided, particularly regarding room furniture and cleanliness, and it is a constant effort on our part to improve our services and facilities, and to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our discerning guests.

We are delighted to learn that you liked the food that we served in our restaurants and the evening entertainments, and our chefs and the F&B team are greatly encouraged to further improve upon our offerings to provide memorable culinary experiences for our guests.

We look forward to be of service again, and please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Leave your worries behind once once you enter the gates. Excellent property although its not a old palace converted into a hotel since the name is a misnomer (Hari Mahal). The staff are attentive and makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, during your visit to Jodhpur.

Our property has been built upon a palatial theme, it’s not an actual palace, and the name Hari Mahal is given upon property’s owner late Maharaja Hari Singh ji. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and it is our sincere effort to provide our guest with feeling of ‘being at home’. Thank you also for your kind appreciation of our colleagues.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a old yet well maintained property in the heart of the city. The property has a large pool and multiple food options. Its close to the airport and shopping areas as well. The staff was very helpful as you would expect in any good Taj property. Buffet spread for both dinner and breakfast was good.

We stayed during the Holi weekend and it was pleasing to note that hotel had arranged for traditional events on both the days. Check out the hotel shop for some very good souvenirs.

Room Tip: View is fine from most locations so no need to pay premium for pool/ garden facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us during your visit to Jodhpur.

We are delighted to learn that you were pleased with the hotel’s facilities and services and had an enjoyable stay. We are also glad to receive your appreciation for our effort to make Holi festival colorful, for our guests also. It is our sincerest endeavor to extend the best of services and facilities to our guests, to make their stay memorable with us.

Thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to the future opportunities to welcome you back along with you family.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was my worst experience in a hotel . Very poor management . I had to leave the restaurant without ordering food . Chinese restaurant was vancant with just one table occupied out of 15-20 tables and two or three tables were reserved .. I asked them I wanted to a table with occupancy 4-5 ..they said please take a table of occupancy 2 or 3 !! There are chances that more guests can come !! I think a better service is given at a dhaba

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mr Arisht,

I was sorry to learn of your disappointing experience at our Chinese restaurant on your recent visit to Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, Jodhpur.

We are extremely regretful that you left the Hotel without having your meal and I apologize for the misunderstanding on account of which this occurred. It is unfortunate that we did not realize your disappointment at that point in time to suitably address the matter to your satisfaction.

We do hope you will provide us with another opportunity to be of service and I would like to reassure you of our commitment to our guests. Please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of personally in this matter and we look forward to hearing from you.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay
Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
T 91 291 243 9700 F 91 291 261 4452
D 91 291 510 2002 M 91 99833 37300
vijay.shrikent@tajhotels.com

Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal,
5 Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001. Rajasthan. India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The Taj is a lovely property from every angle. The lobby, the public spaces, the grounds, the room are all reeking of old world charm. The facility has modern amenities which add to the comfort of the stay. The service is considerate and courtiers, and the check in/out is effortless.
The food is very good, and breakfast is rich and tasty.
But alas the swimming pool is not heated and in January it's freezing cold.
You wonder how a beautiful and rich facility as the Taj, have overlooked a simple detail like that.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal during your visit to Jodhpur.

We are glad to learn that you liked our hotel, its facilities and services, and the food we served in our restaurants. I regret if any inconvience caused to you on account of swimming pool water temperature. We are privileged to enjoy the goodwill of our guests, and have always benefited from their advice and suggestions, and we will certainly consider the invaluable inputs provided, for comfort and convenience of our guests.

Please do let us know of any assistance that we may be of in future.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur

Address: 5, Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jodhpur is a popular tourist destination with palaces, forts and temples, set against the landscape of the Thar Desert. Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, offers Rajasthan's legendary hospitality along with comfortable opulence. Located just 5 kilometres from the Jodhpur airport, the resort is also close to the city's vibrant bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Hotel Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.