We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“a very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel near the start of our trip to India. Our arrival coincided with the expected arrival of a very large wedding party and we were given the same welcome as the wedding guests with music, dancers, camels, elephants and a guard of honour. Quite a start ! The lobby was beautifully decorated for the wedding and was big, clean and airy. We were welcomed and shown to our room - ground floor with a view over the garden. The room was a very good size, clean and fresh. We had our meals at the Latitude restaurant, sitting overlooking the pool. The food was good (Indian and non Indian choices being readily available) and the staff were pleasant and efficient. All the public areas in this hotel are airy and spacious. Although the hotel was busy with wedding guests, we were never disturbed. Indeed, on our second day we had the place largely to ourselves for a greater part of the day. Breakfast was served as a buffet in Latitude - this was entirely vegetarian in deference to the wedding party but there was plenty of choice. We found the staff here particularly good - friendly, helpful, attentive but not intrusive. All in all it resulted in a very pleasant stay and I would gladly return to or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilaas H, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for this insightful review. It has been our endeavor to ensure that all types of travellers for their own pupose are given the experience they look for and I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations.
Jodhpur, apart from a tourist destination is also evolving as a wedding destination and you were frotunate to witness one such. Thank you so much for noticing that most of the Hotel areas including the rooms are spacious and airy.
I am sure you review will be a good guide for other travellers.

With best wishes
Vilaas Humbre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    221
    53
    12
    8
See reviews for
191
216
21
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days on our anniversary last year. It was great experience.
Candle light dinner arranged on the terrace and the food quality was absolutely amazing.
The room was nice comfortable and clean.There was a good selection in the breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilaas H, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for this brief positive review. It is through such reviews that we get encouraged to continuously excell in our services.

I am happy to have been able to satisfy young travellers like you. Look forward for your next visit.

Wish you a great future
Vilaas Humbre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We thought this hotel was great! Even though it was quite recently constructed, it reminded us of a moghul palace, but with all the modern amenities. The lobby and public rooms are monumental, and decorated with interesting paintings and antiques. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The dinner buffet seemed somewhat expensive to us, so we each ordered a (different) set dinner instead. Each dinner contained 4 dishes, so we got pretty much everything that was available on the buffet, but at a much lower price. Our room had a balcony with a view of the pool. The pool looked lovely -- bring your bathing suit.
Our only complaint was that we needed to charge our cameras, and the only electrical outlet was underneath the luggage stand -- very inconvenient to plug things in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilaas H, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for taking out time to write this insightful review about your stay at our hotel. You have rightly pointed out that though this is a fairly newl built hotel but we have kept the old charm to give the most saught after experience of a palace in tact. Today's traveller looks for all the comforts of the Hotel as well as the palatial experience which we are easily able to deliver.

I have also noted that you had difficulty in locating the electrical sockets in the room. We should have guided you that apart from the one you used there are two more at the writing table skirting. I feel sorry for it.

Wishing you a great year ahead
Vilaas Humbre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Hotel was faultless. The room was large overlooking the garden, room 111, very quiet.The staff were excellent, very friendly and they did their best to help wherever it was possible.
We ate breakfast overlooking the pool area which was beautiful. There were also little performances near the pool in the evenings but we didnt manage to get to them.
The food was delicious, the puddings to die for.
Our only complaint would be that the wifi was charged for ( very little) but we felt that in a Hotel of this standard one would expect it to be free.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 111 overlooked the garden and was very quiet, large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilaas H, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for writing this review about your experience at our hotel. Its a sheer pleasure to be rated so highly by an experienced traveller like you. Our biggest strength is our people whom we are proud of. I will be communicating this feedback to them for their encouragement.

I have also noted your views on the wifi charges. Internet connection is one of the most important part of today's traveller's life hence we have ensure the best band and wifi connectivity all around the property. In our sincere endeavor to be able to deliver such service we have outsourced the same to a deserving company and hence it is nominally charged with multiple options.

Best Wishes
Vilaas Humbre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The best thing I can say is this hotel lives up to the Taj standards of service. Otherwise the hotel is simply average at best in most areas and below in others. For a hotel that is only 13 years old the rooms are slightly tired and the wiring is horrid. Of the two outlets that "worked" one had to be jiggled in order to charge anything and the second simply blew our transformer and started smoking. The positive thing was it blew the camera battery and not one of our IPads. The on site restaurant Latitude was a decent hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Taj should be embarrassed to have this hotel bear its name. The service was terrible with poor English language skills (which are to be expected at a hotel of this supposed caliber). We had to repeatedly request items that should have been provided. For example, our triple only had two bath towels and a request for additional towels resulted in four follow up phone calls before the towels arrived and a second ringing of our doorbell after we'd put out the Do Not Disturb sign. The internet was so slow it certainly wasn't worth paying for. The electrical outlets in the room were either non-functional or burned up international transformers. Sometimes the front desk didn't even answer the phone (I do give up after 12 rings). Really quite unbelievable for the price and name.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilaas H, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking out time for the review. It is dissappointing to know that though we command a very high level of satisfaction from our global guests, we could not give you the same experience. I have taken cognizance of your review and have taken corrective actions to curb them.

We would certainly look for future oppurtunities to be of service to you and improve your opinion about us.

With best wishes
Vilaas Humbre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

After the Jai Mahal and Rambagh Palace it was back down to earth at the Taj Hari Mahal. Perfectly alright hotel. Big, spacious and modern it looked to me more recently constructed than it was. Noisier, busier, lower staff to guest ratio - all to be expected and reflected in the price differential. Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast decent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur

Address: 5, Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jodhpur is a popular tourist destination with palaces, forts and temples, set against the landscape of the Thar Desert. Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, offers Rajasthan's legendary hospitality along with comfortable opulence. Located just 5 kilometres from the Jodhpur airport, the resort is also close to the city's vibrant bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Hotel Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.