We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ajit Bhawan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ajit Bhawan to your Saves list
Ajit Bhawan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ajit Bhawan Palace Circuit House Road, Jodhpur 342006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Jodhpur
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Samar India: I had read many great reviews of this place that I thought it was going to be a highlight of my trip through Rajasthan. When we first arrived, the staff was very nice and I was indeed impressed with the beautiful garden and pool. The hotel is very calm, quiet, and very beautiful property. The rooms were quiet, clean, and warm and cozy... All services were very upto mark and satisfactory.. Food was awesome... staff was courteous...
Ajit Bahwan is absolutely among the best heritage hotel that you can get in Jodhpur.. I was so much in love with this place and I will definitely recommend this to others …

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    161
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
104
212
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somewhere
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

You either splurge or be frugal in Jodhpur but i decided to stay here as it was fully booked on my last trip. My room was a suite that faced the swimming pool during dinner time, you could hear the folk songs and music being played. It did not bother me but those who need quiet time, request a room away from the pool and lawn area for dinner.

It was pure luxe and the ambience was superb as compared to Ranbanka Palace which we stayed in our last visit. The bed, bathroom and funishing are impeccable and felt like your own home.

I did not like the service by the only souvenir store in this palace, sneaky and dishonest. The salesman indeed packed 2 jodphuri trousers which were 2 size bigger and the colour which apparently they pushed you to buy. I was disappointed when making the hasty purchase. I should not have trusted them to pack the colour and size which they knew and recommended me. I should have check again. It was a set of different trousers when I checked at the airport. The hotel should reconsider of letting them rent the space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was my second stay at this property, however, I was also hosting my close family and friends here this time for my birthday weekend.

The place is spread over a large landscaped area allowing a sense of tranquil space, the owners seemed to have paid a lot of attention to design details and you are pleasantly surprised by the lush green outdoors in a state known for its deserts.

The garden and pool areas as well as the walkways are carefully crafted and maintained, the entrance to cottages is quite inconspicuous and serves well for the purpose of privacy. I cannot comment on each category, but the rooms allocated to us were large and spacious. There was a walk-in wardrobe and the toilet area had two separate wash-basins and an exclusive shower area. The toilet supplies were not as generous as you expect a property of this standard - for eg. there was just one soap and no dental & shaving kits. The second wash-basin was devoid of any tumbler and supplies. Very minor yet avoidable observations.

As for restaurants, we only used their breakfast service - all other meals were scheduled at various other upscale locations in the city. The service was prompt and efficient, the stewards were trained and adapt to attend to our specific requests. You might need to be a little patient for refills at the buffet, they could be slow or lazy at times.

Overall, a good experience and would love to keep coming back here in future!

Room Tip: Cottages provide the privacy & spacious layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was a large 'palace ' building but 2 brothers have split it and there are 2 hotels,each run by a separate brother. Room are in the main building and in sepate 'huts' in the grounds. We arrived after normal lunch hurs but the restaurant served us an excellent snack. First night we ate at a restaurant adjacent to the hotel called 'On the rocks' Predominately Indian fayre and very good indeed. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our second night. We ate in the open with real fires in grates to warm us. Our room was large and comfortable. Staff at the reception were very obliging. They have a lovely pool but a quick entry in the water is recommended. Good breakfast selection. Next door to the hotel is a large mall where I was able to buy an anniversary card for my wife - it cost 45 rupees !. Very enjoyable stay in an exciting city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This heritage property was an incredible oasis amidst bustling Jodhpur. From the antique cars outside the plush lobby to the beautifully manicured grounds, this hotel was first rate. We stayed in an Executive Room, which I found to be a terrific value. While I didn't inspect the tents and cottages myself, they looked quite inviting from the outside as well.

Our room was large and extremely comfortable. The dining experience at the restaurant was like being in a movie. We ate alfresco in the gardens underneath the stars while Indian musicians seronaded us.

This hotel does a wonderful job of providing a heritage feel while maintaining all of the creature comforts of a western style hotel. I know some reviewers have mentioned that the hotel is far from the old city -- ten minutes by car. We had a driver (as I assume most people do) and were not inconvenienced in the least. The hotel is also extremely close to the Umaid Bhawan palace.

Room Tip: Check out the private bar hidden above the pool. I felt like we were drinking in the majaraja's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife, sister-in-law and I had planned to go out for an early dinner in Jodhpur, only to find out when we arrived at the restaurant at 6:15 pm that it didn't open until 7:30. This also proved to be the case for all of the other restaurants we wanted to go to in that area, but we found Ajit Bhawan Palace quite by chance and were told that their restaurant was open for dinner, so in we walked along their driveway and into a beautiful peaceful space. The hotel is large but we had no difficulty finding our way to the restaurant, where we were told that we could have drinks and snacks by the swimming pool, as the evening buffet would not be ready for another 20 minutes. So we enjoyed the ambience of the pool and then walked down to have dinner. We all chose European items from the a la carte menu as a change from our three-week long diet of Indian food, and then had delicious desserts. We were entertained throughout our meal with a very polished performance of Rajasthani music played by a group of five musicians. Our meal came to less than CAN$20 per person.

We enjoyed our dinner so much that we came back the next morning for the buffet breakfast. This was not quite as good as dinner, but still quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

it is one of the best hotel to stay , if you visit jodhpur for a day or two.
the location is very good ,little away from the downtown.. but near to the airport.
for the price you pay, you get all the amenities which you expect.. and the food ,both indian veg, and non veg.
is very good.
i would definately recommend this over umaid bhavan palace.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ajit Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajit Bhawan

Address: Ajit Bhawan Palace Circuit House Road, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#8 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ajit Bhawan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajit Bhawan Palace is the residence, for the family of the younger brother of the Late Maharaja of Jodhpur, Umed Singh Sahib. Built in 1923 for Maharaj Ajit Singh, it exudes the true essence of an oasis with magical powers capable of making the worries of the world simply melt away. The Palace Resort, has the foundation of a legacy that is part of the history behind the city of Jodhpur, it is about achieving a balance between history while enriching your experience through comfort & unique original style. Must have a Joy Ride on Vintage Car when you are in Jodhpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ajit Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajit Bhawan Hotel Jodhpur
Ajit Bhawan Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ajit Bhawan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.