We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel...with a great pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ajit Bhawan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ajit Bhawan to your Saves list
Ajit Bhawan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ajit Bhawan Palace Circuit House Road, Jodhpur 342006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
climping
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel...with a great pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A fantastic heritage hotel. 5 minute tuk tuk ride from the centre shop and restaurants.
Rooms of a high standard.
Staff really friendly
Food quality laos excellent.
The pool is large and has a fountain in it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajitbhawan, General Manager at Ajit Bhawan, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. This will definitely enable us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you comforts & world class service.
We look forward to welcoming you at Ajit Bhawan again.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    176
    62
    15
    9
See reviews for
111
238
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I arrived here after a long six hour drive from Jaipur through the lower reaches of the Aravali Hills, a wonderful drive and terrific scenery. We are on a private tour in an air conditioned cruiser with the same driver careful throughout so that the arduous road journeys we are making (this is the fourth leg of our trip) are comfortable without the rigours of driving oneself and thus we are able to take in and appreciate our surroundings. Nonetheless the long journeys are tiring and we also limit our intake of food whilst on the road because there is a paucity of eating places for the discerning tourist. So our welcome at this hotel is in keeping with the welcome we have received at all our hotels, friendly, courteous and efficient. I like that we are taken to a quiet spot away from the reception area where the formalities are carried out and we are brought a cool drink to refresh us. Our local tour rep for this stage is on hand to assist with the paperwork and we are soon shown to our room by a delightful lady who gives us a tour of our room and the facilities! The room is comfortable: the obligatory huge bed which we find at each hotel, armchairs and an excellent bathroom with very up to the minute fittings, bright, clean and spacious with a good sized walk in shower which we take advantage of immediately to wash away the rigours of our long journey. We set off for a stroll around the hotel and its grounds. The gardens are nicely set out with rustic cottages with thatched roofs and some tented accommodation nestling in between the trees and bushes. Evening falls and we have dinner under the stars at the open air restaurant with its army of serving staff to fuss over you. We select a table by the fountain and within close sight of the traditional Indian musicians playing to us from the adjacent lawn. The food is laid out in buffet style with a good choice of Indian and European cuisine and very good it is too as well as being excellent value. The curries we have are delicious. After being collected very early by our guide and driver for a morning tour of the Mehrangarh Fort, we return to the hotel to take advantage of a dip in the pool and to relax poolside with a drink. The afternoon is spoiled somewhat by workmen around the pool who are dismantling a wooden platform which had been erected over part of the pool (presumably for a photo shoot) for the wedding of a Bollywood actor the previous day. What is also disconcerting is the sight of the numerous pigeons around the place who swoop poolside to drink from and to bathe in the pool. This must be a health risk. We liked staying in this hotel. It used to be the Palace of the Maharaja of Jodhpur's younger brother and is described as one of the first concept heritage hotels. Apart from an impertinent bellboy who frowned at the gratuity for bringing our cases to the room, the service was what we had come to expect in India thus far, very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palermo
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

jodhpur...it s time and after 5 hr train we arrived In the evenig at the station...lots street children ..so sade , a car came to recive us i have no idea about the place because i am going to met same friends...but a great surprice!
An amaizing garden in the dark and a beatiful swiming pool..impossible to see the park but the feeling was a big park...

Then my room was the golden room facing a terrace on the pool, my freinds in the pink one..evereywhere picture of the Family ..Rajput warrior or Mahàraja...a great athmosphere...every thinghs was so perfect..fabulouse...i think a very enlight person saved this Palace and preserved the memory of the past!


Is nt a 3 stars"!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Ajit Bhawan was a great surprise on our trip to Jodhpur. The hotel is designed so nicely it feels like you are in an oasis far from the city even though it's right next to the main city. We had booked 3 cottages and once again the cottages where beyond expectations. They looked like tents laid out, but the interiors and amenities were all great within.

Dinner buffet was good. But doing that for 2-3 days could get boring. We walked down to a restaurant nearby on the second day. I recommend that they introduce other options for food to make it a true oasis!

Overall truly great experience!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A very good hotel with semi-detached rooms. The rooms are really very large and the bed is super king size. The rooms are very comfortable and can easily accommodate an extra bed without making the room cluttered. A family of four (kids below 12 years) can comfortable stay in one room. The service is very heart warming and a genuine eagerness by the staff to give the guests a good time is always visible. The food is really very good. Its location is very peaceful and the inside of the hotel is completely cut-off from the hustle and noise. The ambience of the outdoor dinner with fires burning ( we visited in winter) was very charming and cosy.Very good place to stay in Jodhpur without spending a fortune.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor of any semi-detached unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I found Ajit Bhavan a nice place and we endorse most of the good things said about this Hotel in other Tripadvisor reviews. But this is not a Palace hotel in the strict sense but just a large haveli-type residence. We were there in the month of January for a week under the RCI. The welcome was cordial and nice, and the room given to us was good and clean. However the room service was rather slow, and on one occasion, the tray of plates we left behind outside the room late evening was unattended till well into the next afternoon. Also, the number of tea bags and milk sachets were limited and when we asked for more, we were told that this service is not for RCI members. We were appalled by this, but we finally got what we wanted only after we escalated the matter with some senior manager at their front desk.

The grounds are good, and one can stroll and relax within the hotel complex . We were there in peak season, and except on one occasion when there were some tourist groups from abroad, there were no entertainment in any of the other evenings.
Ofcourse, the restaurant `On the rocks` just outside was the saving grace both for some crowd and some music.
The washrooms were well-appointed with toiletries . The Hotel has an old world charm about it.

All in all, a nice Hotel to stay when in Jodhpur and to tour around the city.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lawn is better than those in the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed there in my nephew wedding. The hotel is beautiful surrounded by nature. Rooms are nice very clean & staff are very helpful. I stayed there for 2 nights for a wedding function & we had a pool party that was organise as a part of wedding venue. It was such a wonderful view i have never felt before being into many hotels. I love there ambience which is unique in there cheracter. I wish could have arrange my son wedding there & deffinatly with a marvelous pool party with hukka.. I love there staff they are very helpful. There breakfast is huge & quality of food is very good. Rooms are beautifully done. The best part was i have came accross to see "THE MAHARANI" of the palace who looks after hotel. She was walking with a lady & instructing him about horticulture. Front office staff is very helpful. I will come for my anniversory back to hotel definatly.

Room Tip: Ask for a Luxury cottage Room they are beautifully decorated which i suppose no guest have experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ajit Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajit Bhawan

Address: Ajit Bhawan Palace Circuit House Road, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#7 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ajit Bhawan 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajit Bhawan Palace is the residence, for the family of the younger brother of the Late Maharaja of Jodhpur, Umed Singh Sahib. Built in 1923 for Maharaj Ajit Singh, it exudes the true essence of an oasis with magical powers capable of making the worries of the world simply melt away. The Palace Resort, has the foundation of a legacy that is part of the history behind the city of Jodhpur, it is about achieving a balance between history while enriching your experience through comfort & unique original style. Must have a Joy Ride on Vintage Car when you are in Jodhpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Ajit Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajit Bhawan Hotel Jodhpur
Ajit Bhawan Jodhpur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ajit Bhawan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.