We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a truly unique experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay to your Saves list
Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Ada Bazar, Daga Street | Ada Bazar, Daga Street, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a truly unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in this boutique hotel. Come and stay here for a different experience of great architecture and good food on the rooftop. The bed is comfortable and toilets are clean. I had the best sleep here throughout my stay in India. Location is in the bazaar so you'll need a tuktuk to get in here but wouldn't cost much, you can walk here as well

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
thank you very much for come and stayed with us.
regards joshi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    39
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
64
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Lord Ganesha room which is on the top floor of the building. The room was great, it had a balcony, newly renovated en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, extra blankets, and charming haveli decor. The bed was a bit hard for us Westerners. Although it's a walk up 3-4 flights, I highly recommend this room because we never had a mosquito problem, the rooftop restaurant was right there, and it was super quiet.

Joshi the owner is a very nice man who will chat with you and is always willing to help out. His employees are pretty helpful too. We had a bit of a debacle with our hired auto-rickshaw (we hired the guy through the hotel for a day of sightseeing but he left us at the fort! So we had to hire our own guy back down) but Joshi was nice enough to strike the charge from the bill. That was really professional.

We also had some laundry done. There's same day service if you give them the clothes before 9 or 10am. There's a computer for guest use too. The roofttop restaurant is a great place to chill out - the views are simply amazing! The food is so-so and will take a long time but you're on vacation, just relax! We ate here for most meals just because it was convenient and quiet.

The location is convenient although there have been some mixed reviews on this. It's in the old city so those unfamiliar with navigating such streets will have a hard time. We didn't have a problem and had a great time exploring; it's about 15 minutes away from the clocktower and Sardar market by foot. The hotel is in an offshoot alley, and a minute away from the "main" alley where you can always catch an auto-rickshaw.

To avoid getting lost while trying to find the hotel for the first time, just have the hotel pick you up from the train station. Overall very good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much For your Review. You said that it was a Charming Stay and you Give us Four star Ranking and its Our Pleasure. In my opinion Charming and 4 star does not work in RIGHT way But if you were not happy with our service please give us the right feedback because i didnt understand your review. BUT Our Family Always gives you Best wishes for your bright future and we are always with you.
Greetings and regards
from juna mahal

Next time when you come and stay with us we will do our better service for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay is located in one of the side streets of the hustling and bustling sections of the city. The hotel looks great from the inside and the outside, with its blue painted walls and carved wood decor. The hosts are friendly and welcoming, offering spiced chai upon your arrival.

The layout of the building shows its age as there seems no rhyme, nor reason to it when compared to the modern hotels but that only adds to its uniqueness. The website allows you to select your room, depending on budget, size and availability. I stayed at the Juna Mahal on two occasions and each time had no complaints. I stayed in the Lord Krishna room (small, street front views, private bathroom just outside the room) and Lord Shiva Room (large, private bathroom in the room), both of which were very comfortable and clean.

Some people have complained about the location but I never found this an issue as there are numerous Auto rickshaw passing by to be flagged down. Some people may prefer to be located closer to the clock tower and Pal Haveli area, where there are lots of restaurants and bars, but the downside to that location is the constant noise.

Try the rooftop restaurant. The views are spectacular in the early am and late pm. The food and drinks are nice and the prices are very reasonable.

For those concerned about WiFi access, they could be frustrated by the signal which is intermittent and weak. The signal is concentrated around the reception area and thus the smaller Krishna room provides better coverage. The alternative is to sit in the foyer area and/or use the hotel PC.

My final top tip/word of caution is the mosquitos. The can drive you insane and they are everywhere in the evening time, and the temperature drops. The constant cold blast of the A/C may help but I would suggest that anybody heading to India in the Winter months should take along a mosquito net to keep them at by. There are lots of light, portable options out there and will stop you swearing at little bugs in evening hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canacona, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located in the old city This 17th century sand stone haveli has been lovingly restored and tastefully decorated, with each room having its own unique features. Beautiful architecture and fine antique furniture help to make a magical Rajastani homestay with Mr Joshi and his wonderful family. Staff are really helpul and the service excellent.

Room Tip: for best light and views head top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent clean hotel. Friendly owner. Sent rickshaws to the train station early in the morning to pick us up. Location, a bit dodgy and a difficult to find when you are returning back to the hotel.
The bathroom for my room was not en-suite but was outside (though it was private and a padlock was to be used to secure it).
My parents room was bigger and better furnished.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location but a bit difficult to find, as it is in the midst of the Jodhpur bazar. You need to go by walk or by auto rickshaw (no cars allowed) and even then a lot of people don’t know where it is. The accommodation itself is lovely, it’s a homestay and the family lives downstairs. Our room, Lord Rama, was nicely decorated, quiet and clean. The bathroom, although small, was also very clean, shower with great water pressure and unlimited hot water. It does have small openings in the wall instead of windows, through which daylight - but also a lot of mosquitoes! - can come in. When we told this to the owner, she provided us with “All Out”, which luckily kept the mosquitoes out indeed. Breakfast itself was nothing special, but was served on the lovely roof terrace, with great views of the city and the fort. You can also have lunch and dinner there (didn’t try it, so don't know if the food's good or not). Great to spend some time here during the day or night and watch life in the city go by. If in Jodhpur I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very happy with our superior double bed private ensuite: the room was very nice and 100% clean and the bathroom was one of the nicest looking ones during our whole trip. The view from the roof top terrace is great and the food was very good as well. People were friendly and we can also recommend the Bishnoi village tour: our driver provided us with so much useful information and was a perfect guide. We can highly recommend the hotel, which is located in walking distance (maybe 15 minutes) from the clock tower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay

Address: Ada Bazar, Daga Street | Ada Bazar, Daga Street, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is 472 year old home (haveli) formally used by a brahmin family who served as a priest for the royal family temples. The homesay feature five boutique suites with indisval a/c and balcony converted from the home stay. All the suites decortaed with ancient sand stone carved and 6 to 11 windows OFFERING natural light brahmin family rooftop restaurant serving vegetarian food with relaxed atmosphere. Sand stone jaroka with beautiful carving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.