We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary and truly beautiful little oasis.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristows Haveli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jodhpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bristows Haveli
Save
You added Bristows Haveli to your Saves list
132 Sutharkhana Ki Gali | Manak Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 158 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An extraordinary and truly beautiful little oasis.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I thoroughly recommend Bristows. It is a very good place to stay. Pros: it is very beautiful indeed. The garden is lush and magical. You are right in the middle of the old town and yet you feel as if you are a million miles from the usual, wonderful, noisy chaos that is an Indian city. The house is full of antiques, beautiful textiles, and endless little nooks crannies and balconies where you can sit in or out of the sun. Also, you only have to ask and you will be brought a pot of tea (in a proper china pot!) or coffee. The staff cannot do enough for you. The breakfasts are very good, tea, coffee, toast, fruit and something cooked. Phil is a very quiet chap but he is always around and will do anything to help make your stay comfortable and interesting. He even got up at 4.30 am to walk us to the Chowk to meet the tuk tuk he had arranged to take us to the station, Cons,There are a couple. The bathrooms need a few tweaks; proper showers, bigger basins and somewhere to put ones bathroom paraphernalia would make for a more comfortable stay. There is, however, lashings of really hot water! Also, the beds have Indian mattresses which, whilst good for the back, can be rather hard on middle aged bones! European mattresses and pillows would make the stay more comfortable and therefore feel like better value. Lastly, there is a disparity in room to price value between the upstairs and downstairs rooms. It is hard to categorise Bristows, it is not really a homestay (a plus for me! I have stayed in many homestays and whilst they are a great experience it can be tiring living with a strange family!), it is definitely not a hotel (it is Phil's home), and it is frankly far too beautiful and exquisitely furnished ever to be a guest house. With the few tweaks mentioned it could be something quite unique - a kind of private hotel. Personally, I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgebristow, Owner at Bristows Haveli, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, it's allways positive to get such a open and honest comments, the points you raised that could be improved are going to be addressed at the end of march, when we close for the summer. Thanks once again,and very best regard George B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

While I rate our stay as average. We do so with certain qualifications.We stayed for three nights.We paid 3500 rupees per night for a very small double room with a bathroom across the hallway.We met Phil on arrival, a pleasant man,and introduced ourselves, but i have to say that over our stay we felt he needed to interact more with his guests, as there was a distance, unlike the other home stays we stayed in where interaction was the norm..Now while the staff , the breakfasts, the garden,and the rooftop were perfect,the small bedroom had no storage, the bed was hard, as were the pillows making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. In the bathroom there was nothing more than a drip of water out of our sink , and as for the shower, what was provided was totally inadequate. This consisted of a small hose pipe with two nozzles which you attached to two taps . Totally unacceptable, and not a proper functioning shower. I understand the same system was also in at least one of the suites at 4500 rupees per night . We believe if you charge this amount of money , then you must provide the appropriate facilities in every sense of the word. Wake up Phil.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgebristow, Owner at Bristows Haveli, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank-you for your comments. I was very unhappy to read your feedback, and can only say sorry for not giving you an enjoyable stay.A few of the points that you did bringing-up I will try to address, The mattress, when we restored the havali we tried to keep the place as original as possible, we decided to use cotton filled mattress being slightly more eco,this has been difficult for some guests and next year we will chance to a more modern style.
The same for the bathrooms this Is the traditional indian style, but again we are changing this next season. Your other problems was down to us not doing our job properly, for this I am very sorry. Phil is leaving us soon and moving on to pastures new.If you come again to Jodhpur please have a complementary stay with us.
regards George B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I cannot recommend this haveli highly enough. It is the most beautifully restored and furnished house with a lovely garden and roof terrace with fabulous views over Jodphur. A real oasis of beauty and peace in the heart of a bustling city. Phil the manager and the staff could not be more helpful and pleasant. Do try to eat here, the food is very good. All in all the nicest place I have stayed at in India.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I'm not sure where to start with this homestay style, restored haveli in the old town of Jodhpur. It was simply amazing.

I guess it is important to start with what it is not - it is not a hotel and it is not a restaurant. But it is an ongoing restoration project staffed by three very dedicated individuals who go out of their way to present a very clean and beautifully detailed accommodation experience with excellent food and a wonderful atmosphere.

First, the location is magnificent. It is tucked away in the laneways of the old city, with awesome views to Mehrangarh Fort and across the residential districts of the old city. Less than five minutes walk and you are in the thick of Manak Chowk and the Ghantaghar Bazaar. And this is a living city, so you get to experience all the great street life as well as all the bustle and madness that is a big Rajasthani city as you walk about.

But secondly, when you get back to the haveli, you are in your own, private room where things are quiet, service is subtle but attentive and things are decidedly low tempo.

The manager Phil took some extra time to show my partner and I around the local area, including some specific shops we were after but also some very interesting excursions to local Hindu temples. My partner also accompanied Phil on a trip to the food market to purchase ingredients for everyone's dinner, which she found to be a very special experience.

Dinner is additional to the tariff, and you need to give advance notice so they can cater properly. And if you do accept their hospitality (you should), the food is delicious and simply as wonderful as you might hope from a home cooked Indian meal.

Access is a bit of an adventure as our driver was not comfortable navigating the narrow access lanes in his Innova - we walked some of the way with our luggage. But Phil met us where he said he would and assisted with our baggage.

In summary - stay here, it was one of the highlights of our Indian trip. Just make sure that you understand what experience is on offer and enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

A beautifully restored haveli tucked right into the middle of old Jodhpur. It has a real homely sense and is packed full of character, with statues and artifacts everywhere. Our rooms had everything they needed (including hot water bottles to combat the cold) and tea/ coffee was available all day and included in the price. The little garden and rooftop courtyards provided lots of areas for enjoying the sun and the views of the fort are breathtaking. Phil, the owner, was an invaluable source of advice in terms of what to see and do and helped arranged excursions and drivers, which was a weight off our minds. The food was excellent. After living in India for almost 2 years it is one of the best places we have found to stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

You may well wonder where you're going if you arrive nearby by tuk tuk and follow Phil the rest of the way down tiny lanes and alleyways, but you turn into an old haveli with thick stone walls which turns out to be a small oasis. It's set at the foot of the hill on which the fort is built so there are wonderful views of the fort from the roof. It has a maze of small rooms with a garden at the heart of it and it must be lovely in the summer as there is plenty of shade with plants growing, both in the garden and in pots everywhere. At the beginning of January it was very cold, and although hot water bottles are provided for the beds (a wonderful thought!), it was too cold to sit outside or inside for most of the day without a coat or jacket. The suites are decorated with old and new artefacts and are simply but attractively done, without much storage space, if that matters to you. I struggled with the low water pressure through the shower in our wet room but the water is extremely hot and if you don't mind a bucket bath rather than a proper shower, that's fine (just a bit cold in the room!) My back, hips and knees found the bed rather hard. The food was very good - well-cooked and beautifully presented (especially breakfasts, which were the best we've had) and served at a table overlooking the garden (you can take your hot water bottle to the table!). Phil was very hospitable and helpful, could recommend local shops, arrange excursions, make phone calls for taxi prices and looked wonderful in his Rajasthani garb! We would definitely recommend the Haveli, but if you are going in winter, take along plenty of warm clothing. A small kettle and cups for making tea in each suite would be appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A former Bramin's house, Bristow's is nestled in Jodhpur's old town and is just a short walk from the Fort, of which is enjoys magnificent rooftop views. The house has been beautifully restored, original features and room sizes preserved and is filled with antiques and Indian items of interest. My suite was gorgeous and I slept in a lovely antique bed. In winter it's chilly (the nature of the haveli makes it pretty breezy) so wrap up warm. Hot water bottles, provided, help. Water is beautifully hot but to help preserve resources, the bathrooms have just a hand held shower attachment. The bathroom floors are very slippery so they might benefit from some kind of anti slip mat. Phil, the host, is great. Considerate, knowledgeable and always on hand to ensure a comfortable stay. He's also good at arranging reasonably priced taxis. The breakfasts were delicious and he has a great husband and wife team doing dinners too. The garden must be gorgeous in summer- a treat getting this in the crowded old town. All in all a very happy (if nippy) stay in this beautiful town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristows Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristows Haveli

Address: 132 Sutharkhana Ki Gali | Manak Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristow's is a sensitively restored Haveli of modest size,in the heart of the old Blue City of Jodhpur. It provides a calm and peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city. The house offers four suites, each with their own wet room, sitting room and a double and a single bedroom. There are many quiet corners to sit or read, and of course there is the beautiful secluded garden. All rates include breakfast, drinking water and tea and coffee throughout the day. Lunch and dinner are available at a modest extra cost,and we only offer the finest cuisine. Other services such as safaris, both village and desert, as well as camel /horse riding are available by arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristows Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.