We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pukka place in India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristows Haveli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jodhpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bristows Haveli
Save
You added Bristows Haveli to your Saves list
132 Sutharkhana Ki Gali | Manak Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 151 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pukka place in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

What a wonderful place. A true slice of India with built in Phil guidance. We stayed for a week and had a really wonderful time. The rooms are tastefull. The garden is beautiful and peaceful. Breakfast is delicous and all in the middle of the bustle of the old city.
Phil helps you with trips and taxis and where to go for dinner etc.
You climb up to the top roof and sit watching the sun go down and what all your neighbours are up to with the imposing Meranghar Fort above.
A delight!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

What a beautiful home. It is a true oasis.

The rooms are tastefully decorated.

And Phil. Not only he can point you to the right places to shop, eat and hook you up with a great day trip to the country side, but also he makes you feel very much like you are a personal guest to his house.

Even for few nights, I was ecstatic to call Bristows Haveli, my home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Bristows Haveli in the heart of the old town, tucked under the walls of the fort was my favorite place on our trip.It was wonderful to come back in the evening after a hot and busy day and sit on the roof terrace watching the sun set over the town and the fort,the sky full of swifts,listening to the calls from the mosque.The house is sympathetically restored with every comfort and the beautiful blue walled garden full of plants and birdsong is the perfect place to eat the delicious breakfasts and suppers cooked and served by Puja and Ramu who took care of us so well.
Bristows is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

Set in the heart of the old blue city,this is a hidden gem,a must for any traveller to Johdpur.The attention to detail is second to none ,a rare treat to sit in the shade of the wonderful garden with a cold beer as the sun sinks changing the colours of the ancient forts stone work is remarkable.Do yourself a favour and stay a night or two you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

In the heart of the real life in Jodhpur, a beautiful Haveli with a fresh garden and Phil who is a perfect owner helping you for all you need. We get a dinner wich was the best we eat in town with candles lighting everywhere in the garden, very romantic. An authentic place, hope for you you'll be there one day or another...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Have just spent two weeks at Bristow's Havelli in Jodhpur Rajasthan.Jodhpur also known as 'the Blue City' on account of the whole city stonework being washed in a lovely blue. It is, of course' dominated by the impressive and famous Red Fort which contributes to a stunning skyline. However, what impressed me most about my stay in India was the accommodation at Bristow's Havelli. This mini palace in the heart of this dynamic and bustling city has to be seen and experienced to believe. The whole place has been fully and sympathetically restored using traditional and established Indian stone masons and carpenters. all the furniture an d fittings are authentic colonial Indian. It has a paradise of a garden full of unique birds and butterflies. Bananas and mangos were plucked from the trees in the shaded courtyard to complete my breakfast. There is a shaded roof terrace too where I enjoyed reading during some of the day and where I watched the sights of the city in the evening times. The location is perfect as it is in the city but because of it's secluded design appears as a tranquil haven and yet to step out of it's impressive entrance is to step into the hum and life that is India. I defy anyone to find a better location with equivalent accommodation and such helpful staff at such an affordable price! I can unreservedly recommend this establishment to anybody who wants authentic India with superb accommodation in the heart of this magic city. Pete MacDonald, Devon, England.

Room Tip: I saw every room and can honestly say that each room has it's own individual charm and is furnis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Have just returned from a 2 week trip to Rajasthan. The five nights that I spent in Bristows Haveli in Jodphur were fantastic. Its a beautiful, peaceful haven tucked away in a central location in the old city, a welcoming oasis with a pretty garden hidden from the manic hustle of the city. The ambience of the old Haveli is amazing, the interior decor perfect. The standard of cooking is great ,it's like being in your own home but with five star service. Also very good for advice on local sights and tours and for planing the rest of your trip, would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristows Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristows Haveli

Address: 132 Sutharkhana Ki Gali | Manak Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristow's is a sensitively restored Haveli of modest size,in the heart of the old Blue City of Jodhpur. It provides a calm and peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city. The house offers four suites, each with their own wet room, sitting room and a double and a single bedroom. There are many quiet corners to sit or read, and of course there is the beautiful secluded garden. All rates include breakfast, drinking water and tea and coffee throughout the day. Lunch and dinner are available at a modest extra cost,and we only offer the finest cuisine. Other services such as safaris, both village and desert, as well as camel /horse riding are available by arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristows Haveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.